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AGRICULTURE/SEAFOOD INDUSTRY

Testimony was heard this week on SB 514/HB 772 that require everyone 16 years of age and older
to have a recreational crabbing license to catch crabs in the Chesapeake Bay or its tidal tributaries.
Sponsors say that records from the $5.00 license fee will help establish better estimates of annual
crab catches.

COURTS AND CIVIL PROCEEDINGS

Four bills to implement DNA testing in capital and other crimes were heard by a committee last
week. SB 15 and SB 84 authorize a convicted felon to petition for post-conviction DNA testing of
evidence in the State's possession that is related to the conviction. The bills also specify the related
court findings under which the court must order DNA testing. SB 694 allows a defendant convicted
in circuit court of a crime punishable by more than a year in jail to file a motion for a new trial or
resentencing if the motion is based on DNA or other "scientific identification testing” and the results
of the testing could show that the defendant was wrongfully convicted or sentenced. SB 699
authorizes a person sentenced to death to file a petition for post-conviction DNA testing of evidence
in the State's possession that is related to the conviction and specifies under what conditions the
court must order the DNA testing.

Utilities

Next Week

CRIMINAL MATTERS AND CORRECTIONS

An amended HB 294 passed the House to establish time frames for the processing of transfe
hearings in which juveniles charged with criminal offenses in District Court or a circuit court may
be transferred to a juvenile court. The companion bill (SB 353) will be heard on the Senate side next
week.

Other juvenile justice reform bills heard by a committee this week include HB 7, to establish an
independent State Juvenile Justice Disciplinary and Grievance Advisory Commission to inform and
advise the Department of Juvenile Justice (DJJ), and HB 474, to require DJJ to adopt a code of
conduct and specified regulations related to its facilities, services, and standards. Also heard was
HB 322, to limit the time a child may be held in a detention facility after having been adjudicated
delinquent. Current law does not provide a time limit. A hearing is scheduled next week for the
companion, SB 537, on the independent Advisory Commission.

EDUCATION

Passing the Senate was SB 124, the John Joseph Price Gun Safety Program, establishing a gun safety
program as part of health education in grades K-12. Similar legislation remains in committee (SB
446/HB 130 and HB 390).

The House and Senate have both passed and sent to the opposite chamber legislation (SB 206/HB

299) expanding the Maryland Teacher Scholarship Program to include part-time graduate students



who do not hold a Maryland teacher's certificate. Recipients must maintain a 3.0 average and agree
to work in a public school for one year for each year the $2,500 scholarship is received. Also
receiving preliminary approval in the Senate, SB 213 increases the number of students eligible for a
HOPE Scholarship or a Community College Transfer Scholarship by increasing the maximum total
family income that is allowed for a recipient from $80,000 to $95,000. CompanionHB 329 was
heard last month.

ENVIRONMENTAL MATTERS

Testimony has been heard on HB 726 that would increase from $14 to $20 the maximum fee that
may be established for vehicle inspection and testing under the Vehicle Emissions Inspectior
Program. Testimony also was taken on several bills to limit the placement of material dredged from
the shipping channels of the Chesapeake Bay. Those included were: HB 72, HB 402, HB 527, HB
1254, HB 1317, and HJ 22. A hearing is scheduled for SB 830, on the same subject, on March 14.
HB 104, which would have created a task force to study radium contamination in private wells, has
received an unfavorable report.

FAMILY LAW

Testimony was heard last week on HB 723, to require a health care provider or facility providing in
vitro or assisted reproductive services to require a written advance directive for the disposition of
cryopreserved eggs, sperm, or embryos. The health care provider or facility is not civilly o
criminally liable for a disposition of frozen eggs, sperm, or embryos that is carried out in accordance
with an advance directive that complies with the bill's requirements.

Establishment of a mother's right to breast-feed her child in any public or private location in which
they are authorized to be (SB 434) was debated before a committee last week. Restricting or limiting
that right is prohibited under the measure. The companion bill, HB 641, had a hearing on Thursday.
Bills that failed a committee vote this week include:

« HB 23, to change from a misdemeanor to a felony a subsequent violation of a civil ex parte or
protective order and to increase penalties;

« HB 555, to create a pilot program to attach, under certain circumstances, a boot to cars owned
by child support violators (companion, SB 502, remains in committee after a hearing last
week); and

« HB 556, to suspend or deny a license to boat, fish, or hunt, or recreate in any other way that
requires a license, to a person who is more than 120 days in arrears in child support payments.

FINANCIAL INSTITUTIONS

Recent Senate committee hearings were held on several proposals related to banking services and
check cashing services. Among the bills, SB 601 authorizes deferred presentment services,
commonly referred to as pay day loans, to operate in the State and requires them to be licensed by
the Commissioner of Financial Regulation. Companion HB 536 receives a hearing next week.

SB 683 requires the Commissioner of Financial Regulation to certify a banking institution as eligible
as a depository for State money, if the institution offers or maintains "basic banking accounts™ at
each branch in the State. Under the bill's provisions, the initial deposit in such an account could not
exceed $25 and the institution may not require a minimum balance or charge more than $3 pe
month to maintain the account. Companion HB 821 will be heard next week. SB 725 amends the
check cashing services law enacted in 2000 to permit a licensed check cashing service to charge a
fee to verify checking account information. These fees could not exceed $4 for checks up to $100 or




$5 for checks more than $100.

FISCAL MATTERS

House hearings on HB 150, the Budget Bill, have concluded, and the House committee is making its
decisions on reductions to the bill. The Senate committee that deals with the State budget will start
making its decisions next week. HB 150 will be brought to the House floor on March 12.

SB 245, the proposed constitutional amendment to give the General Assembly enhanced budgetary:
powers, failed on the Senate floor when the bill did not receive the necessary three-fifths majority:
on third reading.

Two bills related to taxes, HB 696 and HB 1125, are under discussion. HB 696 makes permanent a
1998 change to the way the boat excise tax is determined. Under the 1998 law, the boat excise tax is
calculated on the purchase price of a boat less the value of a trade-in. Before 1998, the tax had been
calculated on the purchase price including the value of a trade-in. The 1998 law is scheduled to
sunset this year. HB 1125 imposes a $ .50 per round tax on ammunition and a $5 per round tax on
antipersonnel ammunition in addition to the sales tax.

A tax amnesty bill, HB 828, requires the Comptroller to declare a tax amnesty period from
September 1, 2001, through October 31, 2001, for delinquent taxpayers. The amnesty waives civil
penalties associated with delinquencies for income, sales and use, admissions and amusement, and
withholding taxes that are paid during the amnesty period. Revenue recovered during the period
would be distributed to local governments, the Comptroller's office, the Transportation Trust Fund, a
special fund to provide aid to volunteer fire departments for capital projects, the counties for
additional school transportation aid, and local subdivisions to improve wastewater treatment
facilities. The bill, which was heard this week, also increases the penalty for tax delinquency. There
was a prior tax amnesty period in 1987.

HEALTH CARE AND INSURANCE

HB 362, requiring the Insurance Commissioner to adopt regulations regarding the privacy of
consumer financial and health information, has passed in the House. The bill would bring Maryland
in line with the federal Financial Services Modernization Act of 1999 (GrammLeach-Bliley), as
well as follow National Association of Insurance Commissioners model regulations. Other
provisions would also require the Insurance Commissioner to establish regulations related tc
engaging or participating in the insurance business by certain individuals who are otherwise
forbidden under federal law to do so because of certain convictions.

Testimony was taken this week on other legislation that its many proponents argue is aimed at
protecting individuals' health rights and safety. HB 686 makes a determination of whether a health
care service is medically necessary or is not a part of the definition of the "practice of medicine,"
which is not currently in the law. This then would make medical directors of HMOs liable in cases
of medical malpractice and subject to discipline action from the Board of Physician Quality
Assurance. SB 34, with identical provisions, has passed the Senate. Similar proposals in the last two
sessions have failed. Other bills that address patient safety will have hearings in two weeksHB
1274 requires the Maryland Health Care Commission to develop a plan to reduce preventable
medical errors in the State. With the same goal, HB 1376 requires the Commission to establish a
Patient Safety Information Collection Program. Part of the program would involve a reporting of all
errors occurring in the State with the goal of improving overall health care. Similarly, HB 1307
would require pharmacies to report any errors in the dispensation of prescription drugs to the
consumer, the health care provider, and the Board of Pharmacy.

Additional health legislation seeing action this week includes:



« SB 96, approved by the Senate, to allow the recipient of an award from the Maryland State
Nursing Scholarship Program to also receive a Senatorial Scholarship, a Delegate Scholarship,
or a Distinguished Scholar Award;

« HB 5, heard by a committee, to expand health insurance coverage for low-income working
parents with children who are participants in the Maryland Children's Health Insurance
Program (CHIP) or the Maryland Medical Assistance Program (similar legislation, SB 743,
will have a hearing next week);

« SB 705/HB 940, heard by committees, to legalize marijuana for medical use;

« HB 1216, heard by a committee, to provide low interest mortgage loans to nurses who work in
a hospital in Maryland if the nurse purchases a home in a priority funding area, is a first-time
home buyer, and continues working at the hospital for at least 3 years;

« SJ 8, reported unfavorably by a committee, entitled the "Health Care for All Marylanders" to
establish a Panel on Comprehensive Health Care to study providing affordable, quality health
care coverage; and

« HB 236, withdrawn by sponsor, to require nursing homes with more than 50% turnover of
direct care nursing staff in any calendar year to establish a program to improve staff retention.

SPORTS AND GAMING

Heard in House committee this week was HB 865 providing for the regulation of athletic trainers by
the State Board of Physical Therapy Examiners in the Department of Health and Mental Hygiene.
The bill establishes an Athletic Trainer Advisory Committee to develop and recommend regulations,
a code of ethics, and licensure requirements and to maintain a list of licensed trainers. The bill
provides exemptions from the examination requirements for some individuals.

TRANSPORTATION

This past week action was taken on several measures related to drunk driving. Federal funds are
available to states that enact legislation that meets federal requirements for a .08 bloodalcoho
content (BAC) threshold, tighter penalties for repeat offenders, and prohibition of open containers in
vehicles. In this respect, the House passed on second reading HB 3, to lower the BAC threshold
from .10 to .08. With regard to other facets of drunk driving issues, the House approved a bill to
allow a court to consider in its deliberations a person's refusal to take a blood alcohol test after
being detained for drunk or drugged driving, HB 338, and another, HB 337, to authorize the Motor
Vehicle Administration (MVA), under certain circumstances, to modify a driver's license suspension
for participants in the Ignition Interlock Program. Additionally, the House has given preliminary
approval to HB 261, that prohibits the expungement of criminal records based upon the entry of a
probation before judgment if the charge was homicide or life threatening injury by motor vehicle or
vessel while intoxicated or under the influence of alcohol, drugs, or a controlled dangerous
substance.

Previously, the Senate had passed SB 55 to require the MVA to impose on each licensee under the
age of 21 an alcohol restriction that prohibits the licensee from driving or attempting to drive while
having alcohol in the licensee's blood.

Reported unfavorably by a House committee this week were other measures that addressed refusal to
take a BAC test, increased sanctions for drivers under 21 years, tighter penalties for repeat offenders,
prohibition of open containers in vehicles, and altered penalties for manslaughter, homicide or life-
threatening injury related to drunk driving (HB 36, HB 47, HB 169, HB 170, HB 737, HB 977, and
HB 1052). However, the Senate has not acted on a number of its bills on these complicated subjects
and quite a few measures remain under consideration in the House, as well (SB 4, SB 30, SB 108,




SB 119, SB 178, SB 179, SB 474, SB 525, SB 703, SB 759, HB 509, HB 669, HB 674, HB 834,
HB 836, and HB 1048).

Drunk and drugged driving bills that would have changed administrative procedures related ta
treatment programs (HB 63) and arrest and detention (HB 69) were killed in committee. Also killed
in committee was SB 141, that would have established a Law Enforcement Drunk and Drugged
Driving Prevention Fund to assist law enforcement agencies in acquiring equipment to aid in the
prevention of drunk and drugged driving.

Motorcycle enthusiasts were in Annapolis in support of SB 197, that would have repealed the
mandatory use of motorcycle helmets for all individuals with the exception of minors. The measure
was narrowly defeated on the Senate floor; therefore, current law prevails which requires anyone
riding or operating a motorcycle to wear a helmet that meets standards established by the MVA.

The definition of a child automobile safety seat would be expanded to include a child booster seat
under SB 359/HB 700 that would also require children 8 years old and younger, weighing 80 pounds
or less, to be secured in a child safety seat when traveling in a motor vehicle. Under current law, a
child must be in a child safety seat if the child is less than 4 years old, regardless of weight, or if the
child weighs 40 pounds or less, regardless of age. The Senate version is on the Senate floor, and the
House bill remains in committee.

A new offense of aggressive driving would be established under SB 113/HB 485. Aggressive
driving would be defined as a person who exceeds the speed limit and also commits two or more
specified offenses at the same time or during a single and continuous period of driving. Violators
would be imprisonment of up to two months. In addition, five points would be assessed on the
violator's driving record.

UTILITIES

SB 505/HB 1078 provides a cost recovery mechanism for carriers providing wireless enhanced 911
service to a county requesting the enhanced service. Currently, every telephone account with g
provider, both land-based and wireless, pays a 10 cent 911 fee and an additional charge of up to 50
cents imposed by the county. The additional charge is distributed back to the county to help defray
the operating costs of the 911 systems. For wireless service, the bills will apply the additional charge
imposed by a county on each telephone number, rather than each account, thus increasing the base.

NEXT WEEK

Monday, March 5, is the 55th day which, under the Maryland Constitution, is the final date for the
introduction of bills without suspension of the rules. A motion to suspend the rules requires the
concurrence of at least two-thirds of the members of a chamber. To date, 2,352 bills and joint
resolutions have been introduced. Of these, 884 are Senate bills and 16 are Senate resolutions. House
bills number 1,427 and House resolutions stand at 25.
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