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BILL INTRODUCTION DEADLINE 

The number of bills introduced in the Senate has reached 
967. The House bill count is 1,329. Monday, March 7, as 
the 55th day of the 2011 session, is the final date for the 
introduction of bills without suspension of the Senate or 
House Rules, which requires a two-thirds vote of 
senators or delegates.  

 
COURTS AND CIVIL PROCEEDINGS 

Contributory Negligence 

Maryland’s current common law doctrine of 
contributory negligence standard bars a plaintiff from 
receiving any damages for an injury if the plaintiff’s 
own negligence contributed in any way to the harm. 
Maryland is one of five jurisdictions, along with 
Virginia, Alabama, North Carolina, and the District of 
Columbia, that retains this doctrine. Forty-six states 
follow the doctrine of comparative negligence, under 
which a plaintiff’s recovery can be reduced if the 
plaintiff was partially at fault. The Maryland Judiciary 
recently began a study regarding the process and 
consequences of changing the Maryland standard from 
contributory negligence to comparative negligence 
through judicial action.  

An emergency bill, The Maryland Contributory 
Negligence Act (HB 1129), codifies the contributory 
negligence standard so that it remains an affirmative 
defense that may be raised by a party being sued for 
damages for wrongful death, personal injury, or property 
damage.  

Domestic Violence Protective Orders 

Committees in both chambers held hearings this week on 
legislation that:  

 expands the definition of abuse as it applies to 
petitions for protective orders to include harassment, 
trespassing, and the malicious destruction of 
property, making the acts for which a protective 
order can be issued the same as the underlying acts 
for a peace order (SB 653/HB 416); 

 requires a petition for a protective order to be filed 
within 30 days after the alleged act of abuse on 
which the petition is based, conforming it with the 
time limit for filing a petition to obtain a peace order 
(HB 805); 

 authorizes a judge to order a respondent in a final 
protective order to be monitored through GPS 
tracking or similar technology if the judge finds by 
clear and convincing evidence that the respondent 
presents a risk of abuse to any person eligible for 
relief (HB 872); 

 requires a court to order a person charged with a 
violation of an interim, temporary, or final protective 
order to undergo a mental health evaluation (SB 
587); and 

 expands the relief available in a final protective 
order by authorizing a judge to order any other relief 
the judge determines to be appropriate under the 
circumstances to protect a person eligible for relief 
(SB 674). A similar bill, HB 1018, gives the same 
authority to a judge as well as authority to order the 
respondent to remain a specific distance away from a 
person eligible for relief and to prohibit the 
respondent from being on a public or private road or 
parking lot adjacent to the residence of a person 
eligible for relief without a lawful purpose. 

 
CRIMES, CORRECTIONS, AND  

PUBLIC SAFETY 

Domestic Violence Assault 

A separate crime of domestic violence assault, 
distinguished from other assaults by the victim being in 
a certain domestic or personal relationship with the 
offender, is established by SB 651/HB 820. The offense 
is a misdemeanor with a maximum penalty of 10 years 
in jail and a $2,500 fine. A defendant who has previous 
convictions for specified offenses against the same 
victim is subject to enhanced penalties including 
mandatory minimum jail time that may not be 
suspended. Two or more previous convictions make the 
crime a felony. 
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Serious Physical Injury - Strangulation and Suffocation  

SB 593/HB 819 expand the definition of “serious 
physical injury” to include strangulation and suffocation 
with respect to first degree assault, reckless 
endangerment, abuse or neglect of a vulnerable adult, 
and local domestic violence fatality review teams. 

Child Neglect 

Administration bills SB 178/HB 162, with committee 
hearings this week, establish the felony crime of child 
neglect that carries a maximum penalty of 10 years in 
jail and a $10,000 fine. Neglect of a minor by a parent, 
family member, household member, or other person who 
has permanent or temporary care or custody or 
responsibility for the supervision of a minor is included 
in the crime. Neglect is defined as the intentional failure 
to provide necessary assistance and resources for the 
physical needs of a minor, including food, clothing, 
toileting, essential medical treatment, shelter, or 
supervision.  

Sex Offender Tracking 

SB 208 and HB 594 require a court to require certain sex 
offenders to register for electronic tracking with the 
Department of Public Safety and Correctional Services 
as a condition of probation and wear an electronic 
tracking device at all times after release from custody 
and for a specified period of time. The required period is 
a lifetime for Tier III offenders (those who commit the 
most serious crimes) and certain re-offenders whose 
victims were minors. The court may also specify, as a 
condition of probation, geographic locations to which 
the defendant may not travel. The bills differ slightly in 
the category of offenders to which they apply. 

Life Sentence - Parole 

Currently, a Maryland inmate serving a term of life 
imprisonment may only be paroled with the approval of 
the Governor. SB 172, which remains in a Senate 
committee, repeals this provision. The companion bill, 
HB 302, as amended and given preliminary approval by 
the House, now provides that if the Patuxent Institution 
Board of Review or the Maryland Parole Commission 
decides to grant parole to an eligible prisoner sentenced 
to life imprisonment who has served 25 years without 
application of diminution credits, and the Governor does 
not transmit a written disapproval of the decision within 
90 days, the grant of parole becomes effective. 

Juvenile Services 

The Senate passed SB 62 that, as amended, authorizes 
the Maryland State Department of Education (MSDE) 
and the Department of Juvenile Services (DJS) to share 
education records of juveniles receiving MSDE 

educational services in a DJS facility when necessary to 
ensure the appropriate delivery of services for juvenile 
services educational programs. 

Failed Legislation – Synthetic Marijuana 

SB 171 would have designated several chemical 
compounds known as synthetic cannabinoids as 
Schedule I controlled dangerous substances (the 
companion bill, HB 189, also failed.). 

 
ECONOMIC AND BUSINESS ISSUES 

Public Utilities 

The Maryland Offshore Wind Energy Act bills (SB 
861/HB 1054) are Administration proposals that require 
the Public Service Commission (PSC) to order certain 
electric companies to enter into long-term power 
purchasing agreements (PPAs) with at least one 
“qualified offshore wind generator,” defined as a wind 
energy generation facility that is located in the Atlantic 
Ocean; is at least 10 nautical miles from the shoreline; or 
is within federal waters adjoining another state within 
the Pennsylvania-New Jersey-Maryland Interconnection 
region. Under the measures, the PSC must establish 
surcharges equitable among customers to cover costs of 
establishing the purchase agreements. The PSC may 
implement a special assessment of up to $3 million 
between fiscal 2011 and 2013.  

A 500-MW offshore wind project could, among other 
things, supply enough electricity to power 79% of all the 
homes on the Eastern Shore of Maryland or more than 
half the homes in Baltimore City; provide price stability; 
reduce emissions of carbon dioxide by 945,000 tons 
each year; generate enough clean energy to satisfy 
between 10% and 15% of Maryland’s 2022 renewable 
energy goals; and have a significant economic impact.  

Another alternative energy bill, HB 658, enables the 
PSC to authorize utilities to operate as sustainable 
energy utilities (SEUs) to provide their energy products 
directly to residential property owners via a qualified 
contract. An SEU may contract with individuals or 
groups owning residential property to install sustainable 
energy products, such as solar panels or geothermal 
heating systems. Qualified contracts tie the investments 
to the property to be recorded in land records and are 
regulated by the PSC to ensure that savings to the 
property owner outweigh the cost of the contract.  

SB 271/HB 275 passed in their chambers of origin with 
amendments. These bills add a closed conduit 
hydroelectric generating facility to the list of facilities 
eligible for net energy metering. The bills also change 
the definition of “closed conduit hydroelectric 
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generating facility” to one that generates electricity 
within existing piping or limited adjacent piping of a 
potable water supply system, is owned or operated by a 
municipality or a public water authority, and is designed 
to produce less energy than is consumed to operate the 
water supply system.  

Economic Development 

Bills creating a Green Business Incentive Zone Program 
(SB 646/HB 795) grant property tax credits for real 
property improvements and income tax credits for wages 
paid to qualified employees to certain green businesses, 
those primarily engaged in technologies or services 
related to renewable energy, energy storage, and energy 
efficiency and conservation. The Department of 
Business and Economic Development may designate up 
to six green business incentive zones in a calendar year.  

Labor and Employment 

This week, a Senate committee listened to testimony on 
raising the State minimum wage. SB 716 requires 
employers to set the minimum wage at $8.25 per hour as 
of July 1, 2011, and increases the rate in subsequent 
years to $9.00 (effective July 1, 2012) and $9.75 
(effective July 1, 2013). The rate would increase if the 
federal minimum wage is set at a higher rate. 
Furthermore, the bill expands the Maryland Wage and 
Hour Law to include additional industries and classes of 
workers, changes overtime laws for certain industries, 
and reduces the tip credit to 25%, down from 50%. The 
crossfiled bill is HB 988. 

SB 660 prohibits employers from employing or refusing 
to employ an individual based on membership or 
nonmembership in a union, prohibits employers from 
requiring individuals to refrain from joining a union or 
requiring individuals to join a union, and prohibits 
employers from requiring employees to pay dues or 
other charges to a union. HB 743 is a related measure. 

Alcoholic Beverage Licensing 

Crossfiled bills SB 248/HB 234 repeal the State’s direct 
wine seller’s permit and establish a direct wine shipper’s 
permit, allowing persons licensed as wine shippers to 
ship wine directly to certain consumers. Similar 
legislation has been introduced for the last three 
legislative sessions but has failed. A related measure, 
HB 1175, is also being considered.  

Several bills allowing persons in restaurants and/or clubs 
to consume wine that was not purchased on the licensed 
premises are on the legislative agenda. The bills allow 
these licensed establishments to charge customers a fee, 
commonly known as a corkage fee, for permitting the 
consumption of wine with a meal. Bills affect Baltimore 

City (SB 614/HB 114) and the following counties: 
Baltimore (SB 276), Frederick (SB 166/HB 150), 
Montgomery (HB 544), and Prince George’s (HB 1098).  

 
EDUCATION 

Concussion Awareness in Student Athletes 

HB 1 addresses concussion awareness in student athletes 
by requiring local boards of education and the Maryland 
Public Secondary Schools Athletic Association to 
establish guidelines for the evaluation and management 
of head injuries in youth athletes. A similar bill, HB 858, 
mandates that Maryland State Department of Education 
provide concussion awareness to coaches, school 
personnel, student athletes, and parents in collaboration 
with the Department of Health and Mental Hygiene, 
local boards of education, and others. Both bills expect 
concussion awareness to address the nature and risk of 
head injury, the criteria for removal and return to the 
game of a student who has sustained a head injury, and 
the risks of not reporting a head injury and returning the 
youth to play. 

Task Force to Study the Creation of a Maryland Center 
for School Safety 

With approval by the House, HB 79 now goes to the 
Senate. The bill requires the Task Force to establish a 
clearinghouse for information and materials; develop a 
training program; collaborate with the State Department 
of Education to establish a statewide data collection 
system; develop security criteria to consider in the 
design of new school construction; create model 
interagency agreements to address discipline and safety 
issues; and develop a model safety and security audit 
procedure. The companion bill is SB 772.  

Tuition Charges - Maryland High School Students  

A Senate committee significantly amended and 
favorably reported SB 167 to exempt specified 
individuals who attended and graduated from Maryland 
high schools from paying out-of-state tuition at a 
community college. These persons are also exempt from 
paying out-of-state tuition at a public institution of 
higher education in Maryland if they first attend 
community college in the State and are awarded an 
associate’s degree or obtain 60 credit hours. Additional 
qualifications for the exemption require that the 
individual must: 

 have attended a secondary school in the State for at 
least two years;  

 have graduated from a high school in the State or 
received the equivalent of a high school diploma in 
the State;  
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 register as an entering student at a community 
college within four years of graduating from high 
school; 

 register at a public four-year institution within four 
years of obtaining an associate’s degree or 60 
credits; and 

 provide documentation that the individual or the 
individual’s parent or guardian has had Maryland 
income tax withheld during the year prior to high 
school graduation and annually before, between, and 
during attendance at community college and/or a 
public institution of higher education. 

An individual who qualifies for the exemption and is not 
a permanent resident must also provide an affidavit 
stating that the individual will file an application to 
become a permanent resident within 30 days after 
becoming eligible to do so. Documented immigrants 
who are in the country on student visas do not qualify 
for the exemption, but otherwise the exemption applies 
regardless of residency status. The governing board of 
each public institution of higher education must adopt 
policies to implement the bill. HB 470, the original 
companion measure, is scheduled for House committee 
consideration next week. 

 

ENVIRONMENT, NATURAL RESOURCES, 

AND AGRICULTURE 

Oysters and Fishing 

HB 273 has moved to the Senate. The bill revokes a 
license to catch oysters for anyone caught taking oysters 
unlawfully and creates a citation, hearing, license 
revocation, and appeals process. The companion 
measure, SB 159, is in the House.  

Bills heard by a committee this week include: 

 SB 538 that prohibits the Department of Natural 
Resources (DNR) from designating more than 25% 
of the available oyster habitat in the waters of the 
State as oyster sanctuaries;  

 SB 635 that provides for the revocation of a license 
for the unlawful taking of striped bass or crabs and 
requires adoption of regulations that establish 
grounds for the revocation and an appeals process. 
The crossfiled bill is HB 1154; 

 SB 655 that establishes enhanced penalties for a 
person who commits a commercial fisheries 
violation while the person's commercial fishing 
license or authorization is suspended or revoked or 
who engages in commercial fishing activities 

without an appropriate license or authorization. The 
crossfiled bill is HB 1225; and 

 HB 966 that requires the Department of the 
Environment (MDE) to use the most reliable 
available test to detect Escherichia coli (E. coli) in 
determining whether to restrict, or lift any 
restrictions on, an area for the catching or storing of 
shellfish.  

Marcellus Shale Formation 

Testimony has been given on bills that address the 
impact of the hydraulic fracturing process proposed for 
natural gas exploration and production in the Marcellus 
Shale formation that underlies parts of Western 
Maryland. SB 422/HB 411 require MDE to submit 
regulations related to the environmental impact of 
natural gas exploration and production by December 31, 
2011. SB 634/HB 852 more specifically identify 
permitting, monitoring, and coordination requirements. 

Phosphorus  

Several bills reduce the amount of phosphorus in 
commercial dishwashing detergent. HB 53, which as 
amended extends the date after which detergent used in 
commercial dishwashers may not contain more than 
0.5% phosphorus from July 1, 2010, to until January 1, 
2013, is in the Senate. SB 320 and SB 751, which as 
amended create a similar extension and a fine for a 
second violation, respectively, have received the 
Senate’s preliminary approval. 

Septic and Sewage 

SB 372 has received preliminary approval by the Senate. 
As amended, the bill requires MDE to evaluate and rank 
nitrogen removal technologies for septic systems and 
advise local governments and citizens regarding nitrogen 
reduction technologies for septic systems that are 
approved as eligible for Bay Restoration Fund 
assistance. The crossfiled bill is HB 347. 

 
FISCAL MATTERS 

Budget Reconciliation and Financing Act of 2011  

Early this week, the Budget Reconciliation and 
Financing Act (BRFA), HB 72, was the subject of a 
packed and lengthy committee hearing. The BRFA 
makes changes to existing law to reduce required 
expenditures and transfers funds to the General Fund to 
balance the State’s operating budget (HB 70). The 
BRFA hearing was also coupled with the presentation of 
the fiscal plan to balance the budget by the minority 
members of the General Assembly. Their proposals 
reduce the fiscal 2012 budget by an additional $621 
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million. The reductions eliminate the legislative 
scholarship program for a savings of $11.7 million in 
fiscal 2012, eliminate the Geographic Cost of Education 
Index for a savings of $120.3 million, reduce Medicaid 
error rates and eliminate non-emergency outpatient 
hospital visits for a savings of $50 million, eliminate the 
proposed one-time $750 State employee bonus for a 
savings of $39.4 million, and mandate a 2% across the 
board reduction in State agency expenses. Additionally, 
the proposals include a repeal of the sales and corporate 
income tax increases of 2007, but there are no transfers 
of money from the Bay Restoration Fund and the 
Transportation Trust Fund.  

Motor Vehicle Fuel Taxes 

HB 1059 increases the State motor fuel tax rate for all 
fuels, except aviation gasoline and turbine fuel, by 20 
cents per gallon. After an initial increase of 10 cents per 
gallon, the remaining rate increase is phased in semi-
annually by 2 cents per gallon over two years. In fiscal 
2012 and 2013, the bill requires a transfer of motor fuel 
tax revenues to the general fund in an amount equal to 
the revenue generated from the 10 cents per gallon tax 
increase. The bill takes effect July 1, 2011.  

Companion bills, SB 714/HB 1001, beginning July 1, 
2011, increase the State motor fuel tax rate for all fuels, 
except aviation gasoline and turbine fuel, by 10 cents per 
gallon. Under the bills, beginning July 1, 2013, the 
motor fuel tax rate is effective for one year and every 
subsequent year, on July 1, the motor fuel tax rate must 
be increased in accordance with the annual percentage 
growth in the construction cost index, up to one cent per 
gallon annually; or maintained at its current level if there 
is no increase in the annual percentage growth in the 
construction cost index. Beginning July 1, 2011, State 
vehicle registration fees increase by 50% for all classes 
of vehicles.  

Transportation Trust Fund  

In addition to changing the motor vehicle fuel tax rates, 
SB 714/HB 1001 also amend the Maryland Constitution 
to include the Transportation Trust Fund (TTF) and 
establish rules for its operation and funding. The bill 
places constitutional restrictions on transfers from TTF 
and use of TTF monies. It states that constitutional 
requirements for a majority approval of the amendment 
in a local jurisdiction do not apply and calls for the 
amendment to be submitted for a statewide vote at the 
next general election to be held in November 2012. The 
bill takes effect July 1, 2011, except for specified TTF 
provisions that are subject to constitutional amendment. 
Other proposed constitutional amendments to place 
constitutional restrictions on transfers from the TTF but 

do not increase taxes (HB 591 and SB 677) have 
hearings next week. 

Estate Tax - Exclusion of Qualified Agricultural 
Property  

SB 764/HB 721 exempt from the State estate tax up to 
$5 million of qualified agricultural property. To qualify 
for the exemption, the property must pass from a 
decedent to a qualified recipient who enters into an 
agreement to use the property for farming purposes after 
the decedent’s death. In addition, the bills specify that 
the estate tax imposed on qualified agricultural property 
included in an estate cannot exceed 5% of the value of 
the qualified agricultural property that exceeds $5 
million. The bills take effect July 1, 2011, and apply to 
deaths that occur after December 31, 2010. 

Disciplinary Fund of the Attorney Grievance 
Commission  

HB 765 requires any unspent portions of the 
Disciplinary Fund to revert to the general fund and 
requires the Commission to submit its annual budget to 
the Department of Budget and Management.  

 

HEALTH CARE AND HEALTH INSURANCE 

Medical Marijuana 

Companion measures (SB 308/HB 291) heard this week 
authorize the use of marijuana for medical purposes 
under specified circumstances. The bills set up a system 
whereby the Department of Health and Mental Hygiene 
(DHMH) must license growers and dispensaries and 
must select the fewest number of authorized growers 
necessary to provide a supply of marijuana to meet the 
anticipated demand of qualifying patients.  

The legislation makes marijuana a Schedule II, rather 
than a Schedule I, controlled dangerous substance and 
also allows doctors to recommend marijuana to certain 
patients. DHMH must establish a registry of qualifying 
patients and issue a registry identification card with a 
photograph to a qualifying patient who submits any 
required application or renewal fee (which may be based 
on a sliding scale) and other information to DHMH.  

Among other requirements, the information must include 
written certification from a physician with whom the 
patient has a bona fide physician-patient relationship and 
whose treatment of the patient is not limited to 
authorization to use medical marijuana or consultation 
for that purpose. The certification must also include a 
statement by the physician that the potential benefits of 
medical marijuana use likely outweigh the risks to the 
patient and that the patient has a debilitating medical 
condition for which recognized drugs or treatments 

http://mgaleg.maryland.gov/webmga/frmMain.aspx?ys=2011rs/billfile/hb1059.htm
http://mgaleg.maryland.gov/webmga/frmMain.aspx?ys=2011rs/billfile/sb0714.htm
http://mgaleg.maryland.gov/webmga/frmMain.aspx?ys=2011rs/billfile/hb1001.htm
http://mgaleg.maryland.gov/webmga/frmMain.aspx?ys=2011rs/billfile/sb0714.htm
http://mgaleg.maryland.gov/webmga/frmMain.aspx?ys=2011rs/billfile/hb1001.htm
http://mgaleg.maryland.gov/webmga/frmMain.aspx?ys=2011rs/billfile/hb0591.htm
http://mgaleg.maryland.gov/webmga/frmMain.aspx?ys=2011rs/billfile/sb0677.htm
http://mgaleg.maryland.gov/webmga/frmMain.aspx?ys=2011rs/billfile/sb0764.htm
http://mgaleg.maryland.gov/webmga/frmMain.aspx?ys=2011rs/billfile/hb0721.htm
http://mgaleg.maryland.gov/webmga/frmMain.aspx?ys=2011rs/billfile/hb0765.htm
http://mgaleg.maryland.gov/webmga/frmMain.aspx?ys=2011rs/billfile/sb0308.htm
http://mgaleg.maryland.gov/webmga/frmMain.aspx?ys=2011rs/billfile/hb0291.htm
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would be ineffective or for which other treatment 
options have more side effects.  

Definition of Abuse and Required Guidelines 

SB 384/HB 346 alter the definition of “abuse” for 
purposes of certain reporting requirements related to 
State facilities and residential centers. “Abuse” does not, 
for those purposes, include the performance of 
appropriate actions taken by an employee of a State 
facility or residential center to protect the employee or 
other individuals in the facility or center that involve the 
least amount of restriction required to provide the 
necessary protection. In consultation with employee 
organizations, DHMH must develop guidelines 
regarding appropriate methods of protection and restraint 
to be used by employees of a facility. 

Telemedicine 

Recently, a Senate committee heard testimony on 
legislative proposals related to telemedicine, which is the 
use of medical information exchanged from one site to 
another via electronic communications to improve a 
patient’s health status. SB 298 requires insurers, 
nonprofit health service plans, and health maintenance 
organizations (carriers) to reimburse licensed health care 
providers for a covered service rendered by telemedicine 
at the same rate established by the carrier for the same or 
a substantially similar service that is rendered in person. 
A similar proposal, SB 744, requires carriers to provide 
coverage for a “telemedicine service” and to reimburse a 
health care provider for a “telemedicine service” under 
specified circumstances.   

Another bill, SB 406, establishes a Task Force to Study 
the Use of Telemedicine in Medically Underserved 
Populations and Areas and requires the Task Force to 
submit a report to the Governor and certain legislative 
committees. Two bills addressing telemedicine were 
reported unfavorably out of committee early this week - 
HB 14 (failed) and HB 16 (failed). 

Biennial Cancer Study 

SB 574 requires the Biennial Cancer Study conducted by 
DHMH to measure possible environmental causes 
(including chemical agents and other toxins found in the 
air, water, and soil) of cancer and requires reporting of 
the results to the Governor and the General Assembly. 

Abortion 

A Senate committee took testimony on SB 505 that 
alters the definition of “ambulatory surgical facility” as 
it pertains to licensing to include any entity that provides 
abortion through the use of surgical services. The bill 
further alters the definition of “surgical services” to 
include the use of two types of instruments: uterine 

curettes and manual vacuum aspirator curettes 
introduced into the uterus for the purpose of abortion. In 
current law, doctors’ offices and freestanding health care 
clinics, where abortions are performed, are not licensed 
by DHMH, although the State does license “freestanding 
ambulatory care facilities,” which include ambulatory 
surgical facilities, freestanding endoscopy facilities, 
freestanding facilities utilizing major medical 
equipment, kidney dialysis centers, and freestanding 
birthing centers. Fifteen states currently require abortion 
providers to either be licensed as ambulatory surgical 
centers or meet similar requirements. A similar bill, HB 
23, is slated for a hearing by a House committee next 
week. 

 
STATE GOVERNMENT 

Electronic Records 

The Maryland Public Information Act grants the public a 
broad right of access without unnecessary cost or delay 
to records that are in the possession of State and local 
government agencies. Custodians have a responsibility 
to provide such access in copies, printouts, or 
photographs unless the requested records fall within one 
of the exceptions in the law.  

SB 740/HB 37 expand access to public records by 
requiring a custodian to provide a copy in a searchable 
and analyzable electronic format under specified 
circumstances. The custodian is authorized to remove 
metadata from an electronic document before providing 
it to an applicant, and a custodian may charge an 
applicant a reasonable fee for the making of an 
electronic copy. With the advent of new screen reading 
software for computers and handheld devices, the bill’s 
provisions give greater access to public records to 
individuals who are blind or with low vision. In 2009, an 
estimated 96,200 State residents were either blind or had 
serious difficulty seeing even when wearing glasses. 

State Pensions and Retirement 

A number of bills address the current system whereby 
the State pays the full share of the cost of teacher 
pensions. Among the measures that have been discussed 
at committee hearings:  

 SB 628 requires local school boards, community 
colleges, and libraries to pay one-half of the total 
retirement costs for their employees. Additional 
State education aid is provided on a wealth equalized 
basis to offset one-half of the cost to be paid by local 
school boards but not other local employers. This 
bill also increases eligibility requirements for retiree 
health care benefits provided to retired State 
employees and restructures pension benefits for 

http://mgaleg.maryland.gov/webmga/frmMain.aspx?ys=2011rs/billfile/sb0384.htm
http://mgaleg.maryland.gov/webmga/frmMain.aspx?ys=2011rs/billfile/hb0346.htm
http://mgaleg.maryland.gov/webmga/frmMain.aspx?ys=2011rs/billfile/sb0298.htm
http://mgaleg.maryland.gov/webmga/frmMain.aspx?ys=2011rs/billfile/sb0744.htm
http://mgaleg.maryland.gov/webmga/frmMain.aspx?ys=2011rs/billfile/sb0406.htm
http://mgaleg.maryland.gov/webmga/frmMain.aspx?ys=2011rs/billfile/hb0014.htm
http://mgaleg.maryland.gov/webmga/frmMain.aspx?ys=2011rs/billfile/hb0016.htm
http://mgaleg.maryland.gov/webmga/frmMain.aspx?ys=2011rs/billfile/sb0574.htm
http://mgaleg.maryland.gov/webmga/frmMain.aspx?ys=2011rs/billfile/sb0505.htm
http://mgaleg.maryland.gov/webmga/frmMain.aspx?ys=2011rs/billfile/hb0023.htm
http://mgaleg.maryland.gov/webmga/frmMain.aspx?ys=2011rs/billfile/hb0023.htm
http://mgaleg.maryland.gov/webmga/frmMain.aspx?ys=2011rs/billfile/sb0740.htm
http://mgaleg.maryland.gov/webmga/frmMain.aspx?ys=2011rs/billfile/hb0037.htm
http://mgaleg.maryland.gov/webmga/frmMain.aspx?ys=2011rs/billfile/sb0628.htm
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current and future members of the State Retirement 
and Pension System;  

 SB 629 requires local school systems, community 
colleges, and libraries to pay a portion of employer 
pension costs for their employees who are members 
of the Teachers’ Retirement System or Teachers’ 
Pension System beginning July 1, 2012. The local 
share of employer pension costs for an employee is 
the portion of total employer costs that is based on 
the amount of an employee’s salary that exceeds the 
median annual salary; and  

 SB 735 closes all of the State’s defined benefit 
pension plans to new State employees and teachers 
hired after June 30, 2011, except for the Governor’s 
and Legislative Pension Plans. State employees and 
teachers hired on or after July 1, 2011, are members 
of the Optional Retirement Program, a defined 
contribution plan, as a condition of their 
employment.  

A number of other measures related to teacher pensions 
are scheduled for hearings next week, including HB 
1061 that proposes an amendment to the Maryland 
Constitution to prohibit the General Assembly from 
requiring any political subdivision of the State to pay the 
employer contributions on behalf of any employee of the 
political subdivision who is a member of the Teachers' 
Retirement System or Teachers' Pension System.  

Among the bills that have moved from the House to the 
Senate related to other aspects of State pensions and 
retirement are: 

 HB 176 that reduces from nine to five the number of 
years that a retiree of the Employees’ Retirement 
System, Employees’ Pension System, Teachers’ 
Retirement System, or Teachers’ Pension System 
must wait in order to be exempt from a 
reemployment earnings limitation if the retiree is 
hired by the individual’s last employer prior to 
retirement;  

 HB 335 that requires that the 10 years of service in 
the State Retirement and Pension System that are 
necessary to claim and be granted military service 
credit for prior military service be earned through 
employment as a member of a State system. The bill 
is not expected to affect retirement benefits for many 
members, but instead is designed to prevent future 
abuse. SB 356 is the companion measure; and  

 HB 338 that authorizes the State Retirement Agency 
to post the names of former members, retirees, or 
beneficiaries of former members or retirees of the 
State Retirement and Pension System and the last 

participating employer of the former members or 
retirees on the State Retirement Agency's Web site if 
the former members, retirees, or beneficiaries are 
entitled to unclaimed money from the State 
Retirement and Pension System. SB 359, the 
companion measure, has received a favorable Senate 
committee vote. 

 
TRANSPORTATION 

Texting While Driving 

HB 196 passed the House with the addition of several 
sponsors. It prohibits a driver from reading any text 
message while in the travel lane of a roadway, whether 
or not the car is in motion. A companion bill, SB 424, 
passed second reading in the Senate without amendment, 
although floor amendments were offered. 

Drunken Driving 

Companion bills SB 483/HB 574 provide that a judge or 
jury may determine that a drunken driver with a blood 
alcohol content of 0.15 or more who causes injury or 
death is acting with malice, and may be liable for 
punitive damages. If the driver has a blood alcohol 
content of .08 or more but is driving under a suspended 
or revoked license, the same penalty may apply. 

Transportation Procurement and Holocaust 
Deportations 

Companion bills SB 479/HB 520 require all bidders on a 
procurement contract for MARC train service to disclose 
whether they have any records on the deportation or the 
belongings of prisoners sent to Nazi death camps 
between January 1, 1942, and December 31, 1944. One 
potential bidder is a subsidiary of the French National 
Railroad SNCF, which deported prisoners in cattle cars 
from France during World War II. Bids are expected be 
sought for MARC train service on the Camden and 
Brunswick Lines, which is currently provided by CSX 
Transportation.  

Chesapeake Bay Bridge  

A hearing was conducted recently on SB 520 to require 
an environmental impact study for a third bridge 
crossing the Chesapeake Bay. Locations would be either 
adjacent to the existing dual bridges between Anne 
Arundel County and Kent Island, or at another location 
chosen by the Department of Transportation. One report 
estimates that by 2025, traffic on the existing dual bridge 
will have increased by 41% over 2001 levels. Similar 
bills introduced in 2010 and 2009 received unfavorable 
committee reports. 

 

http://mgaleg.maryland.gov/webmga/frmMain.aspx?ys=2011rs/billfile/sb0629.htm
http://mgaleg.maryland.gov/webmga/frmMain.aspx?ys=2011rs/billfile/sb0735.htm
http://mgaleg.maryland.gov/webmga/frmMain.aspx?ys=2011rs/billfile/hb1061.htm
http://mgaleg.maryland.gov/webmga/frmMain.aspx?ys=2011rs/billfile/hb1061.htm
http://mgaleg.maryland.gov/webmga/frmMain.aspx?ys=2011rs/billfile/hb0176.htm
http://mgaleg.maryland.gov/webmga/frmMain.aspx?ys=2011rs/billfile/hb0335.htm
http://mgaleg.maryland.gov/webmga/frmMain.aspx?ys=2011rs/billfile/sb0356.htm
http://mgaleg.maryland.gov/webmga/frmMain.aspx?ys=2011rs/billfile/hb0338.htm
http://mgaleg.maryland.gov/webmga/frmMain.aspx?ys=2011rs/billfile/sb0359.htm
http://mgaleg.maryland.gov/webmga/frmMain.aspx?ys=2011rs/billfile/HB0196.htm
http://mgaleg.maryland.gov/webmga/frmMain.aspx?ys=2011rs/billfile/SB0424.htm
http://mgaleg.maryland.gov/webmga/frmMain.aspx?ys=2011rs/billfile/SB0483.htm
http://mgaleg.maryland.gov/webmga/frmMain.aspx?ys=2011rs/billfile/HB0574.htm
http://mgaleg.maryland.gov/webmga/frmMain.aspx?ys=2011rs/billfile/SB0479.htm
http://mgaleg.maryland.gov/webmga/frmMain.aspx?ys=2011rs/billfile/HB0520.htm
http://mgaleg.maryland.gov/webmga/frmMain.aspx?ys=2011rs/billfile/SB0520.htm
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