To the Members of the General Assembly

Ladies and Gentlemen:

On Friday, April 8, 2016, pursuant to the provisions of Article II, Section 17 of the Maryland Constitution, the Senate of Maryland and the House of Delegates voted to override the gubernatorial vetoes of the following 2016 Regular Session bills:

HB 172 Anne Arundel County Delegation

Chapter 35

ANNE ARUNDEL COUNTY BOARD OF EDUCATION AND SCHOOL BOARD NOMINATING COMMISSION

Altering the membership of the School Board Nominating Commission of Anne Arundel County; requiring each member of the Commission to be a resident of Anne Arundel County; prohibiting, with a specified exception, a member of the Commission from being an employee of a county school board; altering the method of selecting and the term of the chair of the Commission; authorizing the reappointment of a member of the Commission; specifying the terms of specified members of the Commission; etc.

EFFECTIVE JUNE 1, 2016

HB 1013 Chapter 36 Delegate Beidle, et al

MARYLAND OPEN TRANSPORTATION INVESTMENT DECISION ACT OF 2016

Establishing State transportation goals; establishing measures by which the Department of Transportation is required to score the extent to which major capital projects satisfy the goals; requiring the Department to develop a project—based scoring system and promulgate specified regulations; requiring the Department, in accordance with the specified project—based scoring system, to rank major transportation projects for inclusion in the draft and final Consolidated Transportation Program; etc.

EFFECTIVE JULY 1, 2016

Sincerely,

Warren G. Deschenaux Executive Director