

Department of Legislative Services

General Assembly of Maryland

Dates of Interest 2024 Interim

June							June	1	Other than emergency bills and as otherwise provided, earliest date for 2024 enacted bills to take effect
						1			
2	3	4	5	6	7	8	July	1	Effective date for budgetary, tax, and revenue bills
9	10	11	12	13	14	15		28-31	Council of State Governments, Eastern Regional Conference
16	17	18	19 H	20	21	22			(Baltimore, Maryland)
23/30	24	25	26	27	28	29	August	5-7	National Conference of State Legislatures (Louisville, Kentucky)
			July	7]		
\vdash	1	2	3	4	5	6	-	30	Deadline for executive agency submission of FY 2026 budgets
				Н				20	
7	8	9	10	11	12	13		30	Deadline for executive agency submission of departmental legislation to Governor
14	15	16	17	18	19	20			
21	22	23	24	25	26	27	October	1	Customary date for 2024 enacted bills to take effect
28	29	30	31					20	Report due from the Capital Debt Affordability
\equiv							1		Committee
		P	lugu	ıst					
	Τ		Τ	1	2	3	November	1	Statutory deadline for members of the General Assembly to
4	5	6	7	8	9	10	-		request drafting of prefiled bills
	12						1	5	General Election
11	12	13	14	15	16	17		j	General Election
18	19	20	21	22	23	24	1	20	Statutory deadline for members of the General Assembly to

	September							
1	2 H	3	4	5	6	7		
8	9	10	11	12	13	15		
15	16	17	18	19	20	21		
22	23	24	25	26	27	28		
29	30							

	October							
		1	2	3	4	5		
6	7	8	9	10	11	12		
13	14 H	15	16	17	18	19		
20	21	22	23	24	25	26		
27	28	29	30	31				

	November							
					1	2		
3	4	5	6	7	8	9		
10	11 H	12	13	14	15	16		
17	18	19	20	21	22	23		
24	25	26	27	28 H	29 H	30		

	December						
1	2	3	4	5	6	7	
8	9	10	11	12	13	14	
15	16	17	18	19	20	21	
22	23	24	25 H	26	27	28	
29	30	31					

December	20	Report due from the Spending Affordability Committee
	30	Compilation of Legislative Committee Reports on Interim Activities to be submitted to the Legislative Policy Committee and the General Assembly
	TBA	Board of Revenue Estimates' forecast of budget revenues for FY 2025 and 2026 (generally mid-December)
January 2025	8	First day of the 2025 session of the General Assembly (Wednesday)
	(Monday, Ap	ril 7, is the last day of the 2025 90-day legislative session)

approve drafted bills for prefile introduction

HOLIDAYS AND OTHER OBSERVANCES

June	19	Juneteenth*	November	5	Election Day*
July	4	Independence Day*		11	Veterans Day*
Septembe	r 2	Labor Day*		28	Thanksgiving Day*
1	12	Defenders Day		29	American Indian Heritage Da
October	2-4	Rosh Hashanah	December	25	First day of Hanukkah
	11-12	Yom Kippur		25	Christmas Day*
	14	Indigenous People's Day*	January	1	New Year's Day*
		(Columbus Day)		2	Last day of Hanukkah

*State Holiday

The Department of Legislative Services does not discriminate on the basis of age, ancestry, color, disability, gender identity, genetic information, marital status, national origin, pregnancy, race, religion, sex, or sexual orientation in the admission or access to its programs, services, or activities. The Department's Information Officer has been designated to coordinate compliance with the nondiscrimination requirements contained in Section 35.107 of the Department of Justice Regulations. Requests for assistance should be directed to the Information Officer at the telephone numbers shown below.

Library and Information Services
Department of Legislative Services, 90 State Circle,
Annapolis, MD 21401-1991
Baltimore Area: 410-946-5400/5410
Washington Area: 301-970-5400/5410
Other Maryland Areas: 1-800-492-7122, ext.
5400/5410
TTY: 410-946/301-970-5401

TTY: 410-946/301-970-5401
TTY users may also use the Maryland Relay Service
E-mail: libr@mlis.state.md.us
Home Page: http://mgaleg.maryland.gov



General Asse	embly of Maryland				
SENATE	HOUSE OF I	HOUSE OF DELEGATES			
Leadership	Leade	Leadership			
President of the Senate	_	the House			
Bill Ferguson	Adrienne	A. Jones			
President Pro Tem Malcolm Augustine	Speaker Pro Tem Dana Stein	Sheila Ruth Karen Toles Courtney Watson			
Majority Leader Nancy J. King	Deputy Speaker Pro Tem Jared Solomon	Minority Leader Jason C. Buckel			
Deputy Majority Leader Arthur Ellis	Majority Leader David Moon	Minority Whip Jesse Pippy			
Majority Whip Joanne C. Benson	Deputy Majority Leader Kriselda Valderrama	Assistant Minority Leader April Rose			
Deputy Majority Whips Katie Fry Hester Benjamin F. Kramer	Majority Whip Jazz Lewis	Assistant Minority Whip Brian Chisholm			
Cory V. McCray Charles E. Sydnor, III	Chief Deputy Majority Whips Vaughn Stewart Melissa Wells	Chief Deputy Minority Whip Wayne Hartman			
Minority Leader Stephen S. Hershey, Jr.	Deputy Majority Whips Marlon Amprey	Deputy Minority Whips Kevin B. Hornberger			
Minority Whip Justin Ready	Charlotte Crutchfield Andrea Fletcher Harrison Julian Ivey Steve Johnson Lesley Lopez Julie Palakovich—Carr	Seth Howard Susan McComas Charles J. Otto Teresa Reilly William Valentine			
STANDING COMMITTEES	STANDING C	OMMITTEES			
Budget and Taxation Chair – Guy Guzzone Vice Chair – Jim Rosapepe		riations en Barnes Mark S. Chang			
Education, Energy, and the Environment Chair – Brian Feldman Vice Chair – Cheryl C. Kagan	Chair – C.	Economic Matters Chair – C.T. Wilson Vice Chair – Brian M. Crosby Environment and Transportation Chair – Marc Korman Vice Chair – Regina T. Boyce			
Finance Chair – Pamela Beidle Vice Chair – Katherine Klausmeier	Chair –Ma				
Judicial Proceedings Chair – William C. Smith, Jr. Vice Chair – Jeff Waldstreicher	Chair – Joselin	Health and Government Operations Chair – Joseline Peña-Melnyk Vice Chair – Bonnie Cullison			
Executive Nominations Chair – Antonio L. Hayes Vice Chair – Clarence K. Lam	Chair – Luk	Judiciary Chair – Luke Clippinger Vice Chair – J. Sandy Bartlett Ways and Means Chair – Vanessa E. Atterbeary Vice Chair – Jheanelle K. Wilkins			
Rules Chair – Shelly Hettleman Vice Chair – C. Anthony Muse	Chair –Vaness				
		Rules and Executive Nominations Chair – Anne Healey			

STATUTORY COMMITTEES

Legislative Policy Committee

Senate Chair – Bill Ferguson House Chair - Adrienne A. Jones

Administrative, Executive, and Legislative Review

Senate Chair – Mary L. Washington House Chair – Samuel I. Rosenberg

Audit and Evaluation

Senate Chair – Clarence K. Lam House Chair – Jared Solomon

Chesapeake / Atlantic Coastal Bays Critical Area

Senate Chair – Sarah K. Elfreth House Chair – Dana M. Stein

Children, Youth, and Families

Senate Chair – Mary-Dulany James House Chair – Jen Terrasa

Cybersecurity, Information Technology, and

Biotechnology Senate Chair – Katie Fry Hester House Chair – Anne Kaiser

Ending Homelessness

Senate Chair - Jill P. Carter House Chair -Vacancy

Fair Practices and State Personnel Oversight

Senate Chair – Clarence K. Lam House Chair – Dalya Attar

Federal Relations

Senate Chair – Jill P. Carter House Chair – Lily Qi

Gaming Oversight
Senate Chair – Cory V. McCray
House Chair – Vacancy

Legislative Ethics

Senate Chair – Charles E. Sydnor, III House Chair – J. Sandy Bartlett

Legislative Information Technology and Open Government

Chair - Anne Healey Vice Chair - Marvin E. Holmes, Jr.

> Senate Chair - Vacancy House Chair - Luke Clippinger

Management of Public Funds Senate Chair - Arthur Ellis

House Chair - Courtney Watson

Spending Affordability Senate Chair – Jim Rosapepe House Chair – Mark S. Chang

Unemployment Insurance Oversight

Senate Chair – Benjamin F. Kramer House Chair – Lorig Charkoudian

Workers' Compensation Benefit and Insurance

Oversight
Senate Chair – Katherine Klausmeier
House Chair – Sheree Sample-Hughes

03-12-2024