

MARYLAND TRANSIT CAUCUS

marylandtransitcaucus.org • @CaucusTransit • transitcaucus@gmail.com

Co-Chairs

Delegate Brooke Lierman Senator Pam Beidle Delegate David Fraser-Hidalgo Senator Malcolm Augustine Delegate Marc Korman Delegate Erek Barron

Members Delegate Gabriel Acevero Delegate Carl Anderton Delegate Heather Bagnall Delegate Sandy Bartlett Delegate Regina Bovce Delegate Tony Bridges Delegate Alice Cain Delegate Al Carr Delegate Lorig Charkoudian Delegate Paul Corderman Delegate Brian Crosby Delegate Charlotte Crutchfield Delegate Debra Davis Delegate Kathleen Dumais Delegate Eric Ebersole Senator Arthur Ellis Delegate Jessica Feldmark Delegate Wanika Fisher Delegate Catherine Forbes Delegate Jim Gilchrist Delegate Michele Guyton Senator Guy Guzzone Delegate Anne Healey Delegate Shelly Hettleman Delegate Terri Hill Delegate Kevin Hornberger Delegate Carl Jackson Senator Cheryl Kagan Delegate Anne Kaiser Delegate Ariana Kelly Delegate Ken Kerr Delegate Trent Kittleman Delegate Carol Krimm Senator Susan Lee Delegate Mary Lehman Delegate Robbyn Lewis Delegate Jazz Lewis Delegate Karen Lewis Young Delegate Mary Ann Lisanti Delegate Lesley Lopez Delegate Sara Love Delegate Eric Luedtke Senator Cory McCray Delegate Maggie McIntosh Delegate Mike McKay Delegate David Moon Delegate Julie Palakovich Carr Delegate Joseline Pena-Melnyk Delegate Lily Qi Delegate Kiril Reznik Senator Jim Rosapepe Delegate Emily Shetty Delegate Stephanie Smith Delegate Jared Solomon

Delegate Dana Stein

Delegate Jay Walker
Delegate Alonzo Washington
Senator Mary Washington
Delegate Courtney Watson
Delegate Melissa Wells
Delegate Jheanelle Wilkins
Delegate Nicole Willams
Delegate Pat Young
Senator Ronald Young
Senator Craig Zucker

Delegate Vaughn Stewart Delegate Jen Terrasa Delegate Kris Valderrama

Delegate Geraldine Valentino-Smith

Hon. Maggie McIntosh, Chair Hon. Kumar Barve, Chair Appropriations Committee Environment and Transportations Committee House Office Building Annapolis, MD 21401

January 28, 2020

Re: HB 205 – Southern MD Rapid Transit Project – Requirements and Funding

Dear Chair McIntosh and Chair Barve:

The purpose of this letter is to express the support of the Maryland Transit Caucus for HB 205, Southern Maryland Rapid Transit Project. *The Transit Caucus chose to not only endorse this legislation but to select this bill as one of our legislative priorities for the 2020 session.*

Southern Maryland has seen a rapid increase in population and vehicle miles travelled in recent years. The region has also been the subject of five separate state studies over the past three decades, all of which confirmed the need for greater transit access in the MD-5/US-301 corridor. The Southern Maryland Rapid Transit Project would address this unmet transit demand, connecting southern Prince George's County and Charles County with the Washington D.C. Metro system.

We know that urban sprawl makes communities reliant on cars, degrades the environment, and contributes to public health inequities. This transit project would make the region less automobile dependent, unlocking economic opportunity in an environmentally sustainable way. We, recognize this corridor as a major transportation challenge and ask the state to take the next step in moving this project forward by funding the National Environmental Policy Act (NEPA) study. The NEPA study would secure a Record of Decision, finalize the project route and modality, and would unlock the ability to apply for federal funding. Without the NEPA study, this project will remain at a standstill.

The Transit Caucus recognizes that not all areas of the state are equitably served by public transit systems, and that Southern Maryland is long overdue for transit connectivity with the greater Washington region. The Caucus respectfully requests a favorable report for this legislation.

Thank you for your consideration.