THE BOARD OF GARRETT COUNTY COMMISSIONERS

203 South Fourth Street - Courthouse - Room 207 Oakland, Maryland 21550 www.garrettcounty.org countycommissioners@garrettcounty.org 301-334-8970 301-895-3188 FAX 301-334-5000

Board of Commissioners

Paul C. Edwards James C. Hinebaugh, Jr. S. Larry Tichnell **County Administrator** R. Lamont Pagenhardt

County Attorney Gorman E. Getty III

February 26, 2020

The Honorable Guy J. Guzzone Budget & Taxation Committee James Senate Office Building, Room 121 11 Bladen Street Annapolis, MD 21401

RE: SB 865 – PUBLIC SERVICE COMPANY FRANCHISE TAX – CREDIT FOR PURCHASE OF MARYLAND–MINED COAL– EXTENSION

Dear Senator Guzzone:

The Board of Garrett County Commissioners requests your continued support in preserving the tax-credit for Maryland-mined coal by extending the term until December 31, 2030, and authorizing the State Department of Assessments and Taxation to approve up to \$3,000,000 in total credits each year.

As you know, coal has been the cornerstone of the local economies of Allegany & Garrett Counties. The industry continues to provide jobs to many of Western Maryland's residents today. These jobs pay approximately double what other industries within our counties pay. Further, the industry contributes to our local tax bases. Its workforce frequents local establishments and utilizes services offered by other area businesses.

The Maryland-Mined Coal Tax Credit is utilized by Maryland's electricity providers who burn Maryland mined coal. These figures are reported on the electricity provider's franchise tax. These funds are then rebated to the producers through already provided-for contractual obligations. The funds, in turn, are used to retain or add to the producer's workforce, or towards the purchase of new equipment. If the Maryland General Assembly repeals this credit, it will have harsh economic consequences for the farthest reaching counties of the state. The Board urges you to allow the coal tax credit for the purchase of Maryland-mined coal to remain in effect.

Thank you for your consideration.

Paul C. Edwards, Chairman

Janues C. Hinebaugh, Commission

S. Larry Tichnell Commissioner