BRIAN E. FROSH Attorney General

**ELIZABETH F. HARRIS** Chief Deputy Attorney General

**CAROLYN QUATTROCKI** Deputy Attorney General



Writer's Direct Dial No.

410-576-7942

Fax: 410-576-7040

## STATE OF MARYLAND OFFICE OF THE ATTORNEY GENERAL CONSUMER PROTECTION DIVISION

February 5, 2020

- To: The Honorable Dereck E. Davis Chair, Economic Matters Committee
- From: Karen S. Straughn Consumer Protection Division
- Re: House Bill 431 Motor Vehicle and Homeowner's Use of Claim History in Rating Policies (SUPPORT)

The Consumer Protection Division of the Office of the Attorney General submits the following written testimony in support of House Bill 431 submitted by Delegate Courtney Watson, et al. The bill prohibits consideration of a homeowner's loss in the rating of a private passenger auto insurance policy. Similarly, the bill prohibits consideration of an automobile loss in the rating of a homeowner's policy. Driving habits do not factor in any way into whether an individual will sustain a loss to their home and having a loss to their home does not reflect one's driving habits.

There are many factors that may determine whether an individual will sustain a loss to their home. Weather, poor construction, negligence, lack of maintenance, or many other factors can contribute. However, these factors do not necessarily translate to a higher risk of an automobile loss. Just because an individual suffers a loss to their home when lightning strikes, does not necessarily mean that they are not a good driver and any correlation between the two appears to be spurious. Instead, the rates for a private passenger auto policy should be based on the driving history and rating characteristics of the individual and their vehicle and the rates for a homeowner's policy should be based on the claims history and rating characteristics of the home. This is the only way of truly ensuring that the individual is properly rated for the risk they she present.

For these reasons, we ask that the Economic Matters Committee return a favorable report on this bill.

cc: The Honorable Courtney Watson The Honorable Heather Bagnall The Honorable Harry Bhandari The Honorable Talmadge Branch The Honorable Benjamin Brooks

₿

The Honorable Lorig Charkoudian The Honorable Brian Crosby The Honorable Charlotte Crutchfield The Honorable Bonnie Cullison The Honorable Kathleen Dumais The Honorable Diana M. Fennell The Honorable Anne Healey The Honorable Shelly Hettleman The Honorable Carl Jackson The Honorable Brooke E. Lierman The Honorable Maggie McIntosh The Honorable Edith J. Patterson The Honorable Kirill Reznik The Honorable Mike Rogers The Honorable Sid Saab The Honorable Jen Terrasa The Honorable Kriselda Valderrama The Honorable Geraldine Valentino-Smith Members, Economic Matters Committee