

LEGISLATIVE OFFICE 45 CALVERT STREET ANNAPOLIS, MD 21401 (410) 260-6076

Senate Bill 117

Date: March 16, 2020

Committee: House Economic Matters

Bill Title: Real Estate Appraisers and Real Estate Appraiser Trainees - Licenses and Certificates -

Experience, Renewal, and Reinstatement Requirements

Re: Letter of Support

Senate Bill 117 (SB117), as amended, makes three (3) changes related to the experience, reinstatement, and renewal requirements for real estate appraisers and trainees.

I. Hours of Experience

SB117 reduces the minimum number of hours of experience needed to become a licensed real estate appraiser in statute. This change aligns Maryland with the federal standards and industry needs. Pursuant to federal law, the Appraiser Qualifications Board (AQB) of the Appraisal Foundation establishes the minimum education, experience, and examination requirements for real property appraisers. Recently, the AQB reduced the number of required experience hours to 1000 for licensed appraisers and 1500 for certified residential appraisers. Current Maryland law requires at least 2000 hours of experience as a trainee for both licensed appraisers and certified residential appraisers, which exceeds the new AQB standards.

II. License Reinstatement

SB117 extends the reinstatement period for trainees, licensed, and certified appraisers from two to three years, which is consistent with other licenses managed by the Department. Moreover, the bill codifies the reinstatement process. Maryland law does not currently cover the reinstatement process for applicants with licenses that are expired beyond the reinstatement period.

III. Trainee Renewals

SB117 removes the renewal restriction for appraiser trainees and removes the \$150 fee for renewal. Currently, appraiser trainees are granted a license for a three year term and are only allowed a one-time renewal for an additional three year term. Limiting trainees to one renewal opportunity forces trainees out of employment and restricts access to the industry. Removing the renewal restriction and renewal fee eliminates barriers to licensure and promotes entry into the appraiser industry.

SB117 aligns Maryland's experience requirements with federal standards, codifies the reinstatement process, and reduces barriers to licensure. For these reasons, the Department respectfully requests a favorable report on SB117.

For questions, please contact Andrew Fulginiti at andrew.fulginiti@maryland.gov or (443) 401-5129.

_

¹ Title XI of the Financial Institutions Reform, Recovery and Enforcement Act of 1989 (FIRREA)