

## OFFICE OF THE COUNTY EXECUTIVE

Marc Elrich
County Executive

February 26, 2020

TO: The Honorable Kumar P. Barve

Chair, Environment and Transportation Committee

The Honorable Dereck E. Davis Chair, Economic Matters Committee

FROM: Marc Elrich

County Executive

RE: House Bill 824 – Beverage Container Deposit Program – Establishment and

Advisory Commission – Support With Amendment

\_\_\_\_\_

House Bill 824 requires the Maryland Department of the Environment (MDE) to establish a beverage container deposit program by September 1, 2021. The bill also establishes an Advisory Commission to Develop a Beverage Container Deposit Program. The Advisory Commission is required to develop a framework for establishing a beverage container deposit program and make recommendations on how to implement the program. MDE must establish the program in accordance with the framework and recommendations developed by the Advisory Commission.

I support the intent of House Bill 824 as a means to increase recycling of beverage containers across the State. Deposit programs may also reduce litter by incentivizing customers to return the beverage containers.

While I support the concept of a beverage container deposit program, I respectfully request several amendments to: (1) preserve local government authority to create a more stringent program; (2) require the Advisory Commission to establish reporting mechanisms for beverage containers redeemed and recycled for each jurisdiction and provide that data to each of the counties and the City of Baltimore; (3) add one additional representative of the Maryland

The Honorable Kumar P. Barve The Honorable Dereck E. Davis

Re: House Bill 824 February 26, 2020

Page 2

Association of Counties to the Advisory Commission, specifying that one representative be from a county with a small population and one representative from a county with a large population; and (4) add a representative of the Maryland Restaurant Association to the Advisory Commission.

cc: Members of the Environment and Transportation Committee Members of the Economic Matters Committee