BRIAN E. FROSH Attorney General

ELIZABETH F. HARRIS Chief Deputy Attorney General

CAROLYN QUATTROCKI Deputy Attorney General



WILLIAM D. GRUHN Chief Consumer Protection Division

Writer's Direct Dial No.

410-576-7942 Fax: 410-576-7040

STATE OF MARYLAND OFFICE OF THE ATTORNEY GENERAL **CONSUMER PROTECTION DIVISION**

February 25, 2020

To:

The Honorable Kumar Barve

Chair, Environment and Transportation Committee

From: Karen S. Straughn

Consumer Protection Division

Re:

House Bill 1316 - Residential Construction - Electric Vehicle Charging (SUPPORT)

The Consumer Protection Division of the Office of the Attorney General submits the following written testimony in support of House Bill 1316 submitted by Delegates Mary A. Lehman, et al. This bill mandates that new construction of single family, townhomes or multifamily residential buildings, with a garage, carport or driveway, include either an electric vehicle charging station or a dedicated line of sufficient voltage to later support the addition of an electric vehicle charging station. Alternatively, if garages, carports, or driveways are not included, but off-street communal parking is, then the new construction must include one vehicle charging station for every 25 communal parking spaces.

By mandating that new construction provide for electric vehicle charging stations, it encourages the use of electric vehicles and removes the impediments that may make ownership of these vehicles difficult. Electric vehicles reduce an individual's carbon footprint and help to protect the environment. However, they can be cost prohibitive for some individuals if they would have to pay to have a charging station installed. While there are grants that may be available, these are not widely publicized, and many individuals may not be able to afford the cost of the vehicle along with the necessary costs that would be incurred with adding the charging station. By requiring this in all new construction it increases the likelihood that individuals can afford to purchase an electric vehicle if they wish to do so.

For these reasons, we ask that the Environment and Transportation Committee return a favorable report on this bill.

cc:

The Honorable Mary A. Lehman

The Honorable Jen Terrasa

The Honorable Gabriel Acevero

The Honorable Vanessa A. Atterbeary

The Honorable Regina T. Boyce

The Honorable Alice Cain

The Honorable Lorig Charkoudian

The Honorable Eric Ebersole

The Honorable Jessica Feldmark

The Honorable David Fraser-Hildago

The Honorable Terri L. Hill

The Honorable Steve Johnson

The Honorable Marc Korman

The Honorable Maggie McIntosh

The Honorable Julie Palakovich Carr

Members, Environment and Transportation Committee