President Robert Meffley, District 1 Vice President Jackie Gregory, District 5 Councilman William H. Coutz, District 2 Councilman Al Miller, District 3 Councilman George Patchell, District 4



James Massey Council Manager

County Council Office 410.996.5201 FAX 800.865.0587 Email: council@ccgov.org

COUNTY COUNCIL OF CECIL COUNTY Cecil County Administration Building 200 Chesapeake Boulevard, Suite 2110, Elkton, MD 21921

February 26, 2020

The Hon. Kumar P. Barve, Chair House Environment and Transportation Committee Room 251 House Office Building Annapolis, MD 21401

RE: HB 1394 Highway User Revenues – Revenues and Distribution Letter of Support

Dear Chairman Barve:

The County Council of Cecil County unanimously supports HB 1394 Highway User Revenues – Revenues and Distribution, which is scheduled for hearing on March 5, 2020.

It is our understanding that this legislation will repeal the exclusion of certain motor fuel tax revenue from distribution as highway user revenue to the Gasoline and Motor Vehicle Revenue Account, repeal an exception for highway user revenues to require that a General Assembly supermajority approve transfers from the Transportation Trust Fund, alters the amounts of capital grants based on highway user revenues that are required to be appropriated to Baltimore City, the counties and municipalities in certain fiscal years.

Cecil County will benefit by extending the existing funding level by dropping the end date. Our county and the rest of the state will benefit by protecting the local distributions of transportation revenues from being taken away for other unrelated projects, which will benefit funding for our county roads and bridges.

The Cecil County Council respectfully requests that the Environment and Transportation Committee consider a favorable report on HB 1394.

Sincerely,

Robert Meffley Council President

Copy: Delegate Kevin Hornberger Delegate Jay Jacobs Delegate Steve Arentz Delegate Jeff Ghrist Delegate Teresa Reilly Delegate Mike Griffith