Retaliation —
Employee asks
about wages and
gets fired,
receives a cutin
hours, is
reassigned, or
threatened, etc.

Existing Law & Loopholes

Wage & Hour Law — Prohibits some forms of retaliation
(demotion, discharge), BUT

-The only penalty is the possibility of a misdemeanor
prosecution with a fine of up to $1,000 on conviction
-Prosecution does not get workers their jobs back or
otherwise remedy the retaliation or wage theft

-States’ attorneys rarely, if ever, prosecute

Wage Payment & Collection Law: No protection from
retaliation.

FLSA - Prohibits some forms of retaliation against workers
pursuing federal wage claims, and permits civil enforcement,
BUT

— Only applies to violations of the federal minimum wage
(57.25/hr for non-tipped) and overtime

— Generally covers only larger, multi-state businesses

MWPA Fix
- Allows employee to get their job
back if terminated
-Employee can recover wages
owed
-Covers retaliation against
employees claiming denials of the
federal or state minimum wage,
overtime, and other promised
WETLS
-Covers all businesses
-Allows employee to file suit
against employer who retaliates
against the employee for inquiring
or complaining about wage theft,
or supporting others who complain
-Employee can recover damages
for actual harm suffered — e.g. loss
of employment, reduced wages
-Creates civil penalties for repeat




Misleading or
Confusing
Paystubs —
Paystubs do not
show hours
worked, pay rate,
or employer
contact
information, so
employees do not
know if they have
been paid
correctly and
cannot resolve
errors

Existing Law & Loopholes

Wage Payment & Collection Law- Employer must provide paystub
for each pay period, BUT it need only include gross earnings and
total deductions. In addition, at time of hire, employer must
provide notice of employee’s pay rate, paydays, and leave
benefits.

Wage & Hour Law — Employer must keep records of each
employee’s pay rate, hours worked per day and week, and amount
paid per pay period, BUT are not required to put the same
information on paystubs.

FLSA — Employer must keep records of each employee’s pay rate,
hours worked per day and week, straight-time and overtime
earnings, and itemized deductions, BUT are not required to put
the same information on paystubs.

-No penalties under any applicable law for failure to provide a
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MWPA Fix

-Requires that paystub include
all information that employers
must maintain in their records
under the Wage & Hour Law
and/or the FLSA

-Requires adequate employer
identification on paystub

-Allows employees to seek
additional damages, capped at
$2,500 total, for paystub
violations where they have also
experienced wage theft




Existing Law & Loopholes MWPA Fix

Mis- Wage & Hour Law, Wage Payment Law— Does not define -Uses the same definition of
classification— |“independent contractor,” leading to confusion over who is exempt |“independent contractor” in
Employees are  |from the wage laws and resulting in exclusion of protected Maryland’s wage laws as in
wrongly classified |employees, and damage to the state coffers. Maryland’s Ul law to clarify
as independent who is legitimately exempt.

contractors even |Unemployment Insurance Law — Defines an independent

though not in contractor as an individual who is (a) free from control and
business for direction over work performance; (b) customarily engaged in an
themselves, and |independently established business doing the type of work at issue;
thereby denied |and (c) performing work outside the usual course of business for
minimum wage, |[the person/entity for whom the work is performed.

overtime,
employer share |Example: Retailer contracts with a plumber to fix its sink; plumber
of payroll taxes |also provides services to other businesses, setting own rates and
etc. hours.

Workplace Fraud Act — Incorporates “independent contractor”
from Ul law and prohibits independent contractor misclassification,
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REFERENCE NO. DESCRIPTION INVOICE DATE INVOICE AMOUNT DISCOUNT TAKEN AMOUNT PAID
CONTRACT LABOR & 1099's ’ 1,360.00
CHECK DATE CHECK NO. PAYEE DISCOUNTS T{\KEN CHECK AMOUNT
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