

## BOARD OF EDUCATION OF ANNE ARUNDEL COUNTY

2644 Riva Road • Annapolis, MD 21401 410-222-5311 • 410-222-5500 (TDD) • 410-222-5629 (FAX)

December 3, 2019

Senator Pamela Beidle, Chair, Anne Arundel County Senate Delegation Delegate Ned Carey, Chair, Anne Arundel County House Delegation

Dear Senator Beidle & Delegate Carey,

As you know, legislation passed during the 2017 legislative session of the Maryland General Assembly changed the composition of the Board of Education, along with its transition from an appointed Board to an elected one, which is currently in-progress. Earlier this year, the Board changed its policy to enable the election of Board Officers to occur annually in December, which will coincide with the first meeting of newly elected members in election years.

However, with guidance from our legal counsel, we later discovered that, by law, the Board must still elect officers during its "annual meeting" in July meeting, too. This requirement is stipulated in Section 4-107(c) of the Education Article, as read in conjunction with subsection (a), and is separate from the 2017 changes made by the delegation, as seen in Title 3, Subtitle 2A. Thus, our Board is currently required to elect officers both in July and December because of the misalignment between the State code and Board policy (and best practice).

As you approach the 2020 legislative session, we request that the county delegation consider a bill to amend the requirement(s) in Section 4-107 such that the Board would elect officers at its first meeting, beginning in December 2020. Additionally, this shift would allow the Board to elect its officers in alignment with the Anne Arundel County Council, both post-election every four years and on an annual basis.

Please do not hesitate to contact me if you require additional information to support this request. On behalf of the Board of Education, I appreciate your consideration.

10/1

Terry R. Gilleland, Jr.

cc:

Michelle Corkadel, Vice President & Board of Education Members George P. Arlotto, Ed.D. Jeanette Ortiz, Esq.

B. Darren Burns, Esq.