President Robert Meffley, District 1

Vice President Jackie Gregory, District 5

Councilman William H. Coutz, District 2

Councilman Al Miller, District 3

Councilman George Patchell, District 4



James Massey Council Manager

County Council Office 410.996.5201 FAX 800.865.0587 Email: council@ccgov.org

## COUNTY COUNCIL OF CECIL COUNTY

Cecil County Administration Building 200 Chesapeake Boulevard, Suite 2110, Elkton, MD 21921

February 26, 2020

The Hon. Anne R. Kaiser, Chair House Ways and Means Committee Room 131 House Office Building Annapolis, MD 21401

RE: HB 1117 Economic Development – Enterprise Zone Program - Alterations

Letter of Opposition

Dear Chairperson Kaiser:

The County Council of Cecil County unanimously opposes HB 1117 Economic Development – Enterprise Zone Program - Alterations, which was scheduled for hearing on March 5, 2020.

It is our understanding that this legislation will prohibit the Secretary of Commerce from designating or expanding certain enterprise zones.

This legislation will harm Cecil County by the loss of designating or expanding enterprise zones. Cecil County, which had been at the bottom of our State's economic outlook, has surged during the last three years because of these programs. These State programs have brought big and small business investments to our county, as well as jobs.

Without these programs, the future economic successes in Cecil County are in jeopardy and the recent gains will be erased, which will plunge our economy into a bleak future.

The Cecil County Council respectfully requests that the Ways and Means Committee to oppose HB 1777 and issue an unfavorable report.

Sincerely,

Robert Mettley

Council President

Copy: Delegate Kevin Hornberger

Delegate Steve Arentz Delegate Jay Jacobs Delegate Jeff Ghrist Delegate Teresa Reilly Delegate Mike Griffith