

Board Chair Bob Middleton Maury, Donnelly and Parr

Vice-Chair Jed Dietz

Maryland Film Festival

Vice-Chair

Debra Donaldson Dorsey Baltimore Film Office

Vice-Chair

Donna Edwards

Maryland State & DC AFL-CIO

Secretary

Sig Libowitz, Esq.

Producer/ Attorney

Treasurer

Eric Pripstein CPA Hertzbach & Company, PA.

Ken Arnold

Producer/Actor/Director

Arnold Fruman National Lumber

Ryan Hastings SAG-AFTRA

Jamie Horrigan Studio Unknown

E. Scott Johnson, Esq. Baker Donelson

Rosemary Levy IATSE 798

Maggie Linton SAG-AFTRA Board

Jane Love SAG-AFTRA

Keith Mehlinger Morgan State University

Pat Moran, C.S.A. Pat Moran Casting

Nina Noble Producer

Dawson Nolley Keller Williams Legacy

Ellen Popiel

Dean Susan Picinich Towson University

Nancy Roberts, Esq.

NRCS, Inc. B.J Spencer

V.I.P. Protective Services LLC

Ellie K. Wang Freelance Actor

Executive Director

Chair Anne Kaiser Members of the Ways and Means Committee 131 House Office Building 6 Bladen Street Annapolis, MD 21401

March 5, 2020

RE: HB1284

Dear Madame Chair and Members of the Ways and Means Committee,

The Maryland Film Industry Coalition is an alliance of business and labor leaders, educational institutions and individuals who work together to improve the business conditions for the film industry in the state of Maryland.

We have worked with this committee for over ten years to develop a film incentive program and most recently in the 2018 session were happy to get a film incentive in place that provides credits to both large and small productions. The best part of this new program is that studio decision makers and producers can plan ahead for long term series and films in development knowing that Maryland has a program with certainty and one without a sunset.

HB1284 seeks to repeal the carry forward of excess film production credits into subsequent fiscal years. Removing this carry forward will hurt the Department of Commerce's ability to put incentive packages together to attract or retain existing productions, such as the ability to keep a television series in Maryland.

We respectfully oppose this change to the existing tax credit legislation.

Sincerely,

Robert Middleton Chair, MFIC

Debra Donaldson Dorsey Chair, Government Relations Committee, MFIC