**BRIAN E. FROSH** Attorney General

**ELIZABETH F. HARRIS** Chief Deputy Attorney General

**CAROLYN QUATTROCKI** Deputy Attorney General

Writer's Fax No.

## STATE OF MARYLAND

WILLIAM D. GRUHN Chief Consumer Protection Division

## STATE OF MARYLAND OFFICE OF THE ATTORNEY GENERAL CONSUMER PROTECTION DIVISION

Writer's Direct Dial No.

410-576-7942 <u>kstraughn@oag.state.md.us</u> Fax: 410-576-7040

January 26, 2021

- To: The Honorable Kumar Barve Chair, Environment and Transportation Committee
- From: Karen S. Straughn Consumer Protection Division

Re: House Bill 110 – Electric Vehicle Recharging Equipment for Multifamily Unit Act (SUPPORT)

The Consumer Protection Division of the Office of the Attorney General submits the following written testimony in support of House Bill 110 submitted by Delegate Marc Korman. This bill renders provisions of a governing document of a homeowners or condominium association void and unenforceable if they prohibit or unreasonably restrict the installation or use of electric vehicle recharging equipment in a deeded parking space. In addition, this bill places the costs of installation, maintenance and removal of the equipment on the owner of the parking space and establishes an electric vehicle infrastructure modernization grant program.

By mandating that common ownership communities treat the application for installation of recharging equipment like an architectural modification whereby the owner of the electric vehicle seeks approval of the modification and pays the costs, while simultaneously establishing a grant program to facilitate upgrading parking structures, this bill encourages the use of electric vehicles and removes the impediments that may make ownership of these vehicles difficult. It ensures that persons that reside in a common ownership community have the ability to own an electric vehicle without placing the burden on the association as a whole.

For these reasons, we ask that the Environment and Transportation Committee return a favorable report on this bill.

cc: The Honorable Marc Korman Members, Environment and Transportation Committee