

## EXECUTIVE OFFICERS

Chair Delegate Darryl Barnes, District 25 1st Vice Chair

Delegate Melissa Wells, District 40 2nd Vice Chair

Delegate Gabriel Acevero, District 39 Treasurer

Delegate Ron Watson Ph.D, District 23B Secretary

Delegate Charlotte Crutchfield, District 19

Financial Secretary Delegate Mike Rogers, District 32

**Chaplain** Senator Joanne C. Benson, District 24

**Parliamentarian** Delegate Jheanelle Wilkins, District 20

**Historian** Delegate Talmadge Branch, District 45

Executive Director Stephanie Hall

## MEMBERS

Senator Malcolm Augustine, District 47 Senator Jill P. Carter, District 41 Senator Arthur Ellis, District 28 Senator Melony Griffith, District 25 Senator Antonio L. Hayes, District 40 Senator Delores G. Kelley, District 10 Senator Cory V. McCray, District 45 Senator Obie Patterson, District 26 Senator William C. Smith, Jr., District 20 Senator Charles E. Sydnor III, Esq., District 44 Senator Mary L. Washington, Ph.D, District 43 Delegate Curt Anderson, District 43 Delegate Vanessa E. Atterbeary, District 13 Delegate Erek L. Barron, District 24 Delegate J. Sandy Bartlett, District 32 Delegate Regina T. Boyce, District 43 Delegate Chanel A. Branch, District 45 Delegate Tony Bridges, District 41 Delegate Benjamin Brooks, District 10 Delegate Alfred C. Carr, Jr., District 18 Delegate Nick Charles, District 25 Delegate Frank M. Conaway, Jr., District 40 Delegate Debra Davis, District 28 Delegate Dereck E. Davis, District 25 Delegate Diana M. Fennell, District 47A Delegate Wanika Fisher, District 47B Delegate Andrea Harrison, District 24 Delegate Keith E. Haynes, District 44A Delegate Shaneka Henson, District 30 Delegate Terri L. Hill, District 12 Delegate Marvin E. Holmes, Jr., District 23B Delegate Julian Ivey, District 47A Delegate Carl Jackson, District 8 Delegate Michael A. Jackson, District 27B Delegate Adrienne A. Jones, District 10 Delegate Jazz Lewis, District 24 Delegate Robbyn Lewis, District 46 Delegate Nick J. Mosby, District 40 Delegate Edith J. Patterson, District 28 Delegate Joseline Peña-Melnyk, District 21 Delegate Elizabeth "Susie" Proctor, District 27A Delegate Pamela Queen, District 14 Delegate Sheree Sample-Hughes, District 37A Delegate Stephanie Smith, District 45 Delegate Veronica Turner, District 26 Delegate Jay Walker, District 26 Delegate Alonzo T. Washington, District 22 Delegate Nicole Williams, District 22 Delegate C.T. Wilson, District 28

## LEGISLATIVE BLACK CAUCUS OF MARYLAND, INC.

The Maryland House of Delegates, 6 Bladen Street, Room 300, Annapolis, Maryland 21401 410-841-3557 • 301-858-3557 • 800-492-7122 Ext. 3557 • Fax 410-841-3498 • 301-858-3498 • Black.Caucus@house.state.md.us

March 2, 2021

Delegate Shane Pendergrass Chair, HGO Delegate Joseline Pena-Melnyk Vice Chair, HGO

Dear Chair Pendergrass and Members of the Committee:

The Legislative Black Caucus of Maryland has voted to offer **favorable** support for HB 915- Workgroup on Black, Latino, and Other Underrepresented Mental Health Professionals. This legislation aims to have more Black, Latino, and other underrepresented mental health professionals in Maryland.

The purpose of this legislation would be to establish a workgroup on Black, Latino, and other underrepresented mental health professionals. This is important because of the lack of underrepresented mental health professionals. The workgroup would include the Presidents of Maryland's 4 public historically black colleges and universities. The workgroup would make recommendations on how to increase representation throughout the state. For these reasons, the Legislative Black Caucus of Maryland supports HB 915.

Respectfully,

Darryl Barnes

Darryl Barnes Chair, Legislative Black Caucus of Maryland

Melissa Wells

Melissa Wells 1<sup>st</sup> Vice Chair, Legislative Black Caucus of Maryland