

EXECUTIVE OFFICERS Chair

Delegate Darryl Barnes, District 25 1st Vice Chair

Delegate Melissa Wells, District 40 2nd Vice Chair

Delegate Gabriel Acevero, District 39

Treasurer Delegate Benjamin Brooks, District 10

Secretary Delegate Charlotte Crutchfield, District 19

Financial Secretary Delegate Mike Rogers, District 32

Chaplain Senator Joanne C. Benson, District 24 Parliamentarian

Delegate Jheanelle Wilkins, District 20

Historian Delegate Talmadge Branch, District 45 Executive Director

Stephanie Hall

Senator Malcolm Augustine, District 47 Senator Jill P. Carter, District 41 Senator Arthur Ellis, District 28 Senator Melony Griffith, District 25 Senator Antonio L. Hayes, District 40 Senator Michael A. Jackson, District 27 Senator Delores G. Kelley, District 10 Senator Cory V. McCray, District 45 Senator Obie Patterson, District 26 Senator William C. Smith, Jr., District 20 Senator Charles E. Sydnor III, Esq., District 44 Senator Mary L. Washington, Ph.D, District 43 Senator Ron Watson, Ph.D, District 23 Delegate Marlon Amprey, District 40 Delegate Curt Anderson, District 43 Delegate Vanessa E. Atterbeary, District 13 Delegate J. Sandy Bartlett, District 32 Delegate Regina T. Boyce, District 43 Delegate Chanel A. Branch, District 45 Delegate Tony Bridges, District 41 Delegate Alfred C. Carr, Jr., District 18 Delegate Nick Charles, District 25 Delegate Frank M. Conaway, Jr., District 40 Delegate Debra Davis, District 28 Delegate Diana M. Fennell, District 47A Delegate Wanika Fisher, District 47B Delegate Andrea Harrison, District 24 Delegate Shaneka Henson, District 30 Delegate Terri L. Hill, District 12 Delegate Marvin E. Holmes, Jr., District 23B Delegate Faye Martin Howell, District 24 Delegate Julian Ivey, District 47A Delegate Carl Jackson, District 8 Delegate Adrienne A. Jones, District 10 Delegate Rachel Jones, District 27B Delegate Cheryl Landis, District 23B Delegate Jazz Lewis, District 24 Delegate Robbyn Lewis, District 46 Delegate Edith J. Patterson, District 28 Delegate Joseline Peña-Melnyk, District 21 Delegate Roxane Prettyman, District 44A Delegate Elizabeth "Susie" Proctor, District 27A Delegate Pamela Queen, District 14 Delegate Sheree Sample-Hughes, District 37A Delegate Stephanie Smith, District 45 Delegate Brenda J. Thiam, Ph.D, District 2B Delegate Karen Toles, District 25 Delegate Veronica Turner, District 26 Delegate Jay Walker, District 26 Delegate Alonzo T. Washington, District 22 Delegate Nicole Williams, District 22 Delegate C.T. Wilson, District 28

LEGISLATIVE BLACK CAUCUS OF MARYLAND, INC.

The Maryland House of Delegates, 6 Bladen Street, Room 300, Annapolis, Maryland 21401 410-841-3557 • 301-858-3557 • 800-492-7122 Ext. 3557 • Fax 410-841-3498 • 301-858-3498 • Black.Caucus@house.state.md.us

February 2, 2022

Delegate Kumar P. Barve Chair, ENT Delegate Dana Stein Vice Chair, ENT

Dear Chair Barve and Members of the Committee:

The Legislative Black Caucus of Maryland has voted to offer **favorable** support for HB 141- Equity in Transportation Sector- Guidelines and Analyses. This legislation requires that equity be considered when certain State transportation plans, reports, and goals are developed.

Maryland has a long history of racist transportation policies, from highways built through and dividing Black communities to the cancelation of the Red Line route, which would have provided urgently-needed access to jobs for residents in low-income, redlined communities in Baltimore. Only by being intentional about equity in the transportation sector can we begin to dismantle centuries of systemic racism.

Transportation equity will have a direct economic impact, making more jobs accessible, and also encouraging economic development in low-income communities, including those that are predominantly Black. It will have an environmental justice impact, reducing air pollution and heat islands that disproportionately affect Black communities due to historic injustices. An equitable transportation system will address racial disparities in employment, housing, health, environment, and education. For these reasons, the Legislative Black Caucus of Maryland Inc. supports HB 141.

Respectfully,

Darryl Barnes

Darryl Barnes Chair, Legislative Black Caucus of Maryland

Melissa Wells

Melissa Wells 1st Vice Chair, Legislative Black Caucus of Maryland