MAYOR

Patrick L. Wojahn pwojahn@collegeparkmd.gov 240.988.7763

DISTRICT 1

Fazlul Kabir

fkabir@collegeparkmd.gov 301.659.6295

Kate Kennedy

kkennedy@collegeparkmd.gov 202.400.1501

DISTRICT 2

Llatetra Brown Esters

lbesters@collegeparkmd.gov 240.636.3584

Susan Whitney

swhitney@collegeparkmd.gov 202.603.3634

DISTRICT 3

Stuart Adams

sadams@collegeparkmd.gov 301.364.4576

John B. Rigg

jrigg@collegeparkmd.gov 443.646.3503

DISTRICT 4

Maria E. Mackie

mmackie@collegeparkmd.gov 240.472.0681

Denise Mitchell

dmitchell@collegeparkmd.gov 301.852.8126 February 21, 2023

Delegate Ben Barnes, Chair Appropriations Committee Room 121 House Office Building Annapolis, MD 21401

Re: HB0051: Department of Transportation - Consolidated Transportation Program and Debt Limit of Grant Anticipation Revenue Vehicle Bonds (State and Federal Transportation Funding Act)

Dear Chair Barnes and Committee Members:

The College Park City Council voted unanimously during our meeting of February 14, 2023 to support HB0051. This bill would allow MDOT to issue bonds backed by future federal aid for specific transit projects such as the Baltimore Red Line, purchasing electric buses, and improving MARC service. It is important to improve transit services using this and other funding tools.

Thank you for your consideration of the City's position.

Sincerely,

Patrick Wojahn

Mayor