March 29, 2023

The Honorable Senator Guy Guzzone 3 West Miller Senate Office Building Annapolis, Maryland 21401

RE: **SUPPORT** HB1196 – Blueprint for Maryland's Future Implementation - Funding and Independent Evaluation - Alterations

Dear Chair Guzzone, Vice-Chair Rosapepe and Members of the Budget and Taxation Committee:

My name is Joe Goetz and I currently serve as the School Board President for Kent County Public Schools. I am asking for a favorable report on HB1196 – Blueprint for Maryland's Future Implementation - Funding and Independent Evaluation – Alterations.

Kent County is the smallest school system in the State of Maryland with a student population that is on the lower end of the socioeconomic scale. Our school population consists of five buildings where all of our schools are Title 1 schools and two of our elementary schools are Community Schools. Our school system is facing massive gaps in funding where without assistance; we would be forced to make cuts in personnel and services that would directly affect our most important resources, the students of Kent County.

We want to continue providing the very best for our students and in order to do that, we will need a bridge to help fund the necessary services that we need. Without this additional funding, we will struggle to maintain and pay teachers and offer adequate support to all students.

This letter provides written testimony in support of HB1196 – Blueprint for Maryland's Future Implementation - Funding and Independent Evaluation – Alterations. Calculation - Mandated Funding which would require the Governor to include in the annual budget bill an appropriation in an amount equal to the low-density calculation for counties that have a population density amount of less than 100 and a full-time equivalent student enrollment of fewer than 2,000 students.

Sincerely,

Joseph Goetz

Kent County Board of Education – Board President

Cc: Appropriations Committee Members The Honorable Stephen S. Hershey, Jr. The Honorable Jay A. Jacobs The Honorable Steven J. Arentz The Honorable Jefferson L. Ghrist The Kent County Board of Education Dr. Karen M. Couch 0