

## **Board**

Chair Bob Middleton Maury, Donnelly and Parr

Vice-Chair Jed Dietz Maryland Film Festival

Vice-Chair Debra Donaldson Dorsey Baltimore Film Office

Vice-Chair Donna Edwards Maryland State & DC AFL-CIO

Secretary Sig Libowitz, Esq. Producer/ Attorney

Treasurer Eric Pripstein CPA Hertzbach & Company, PA.

Arnold Fruman National Lumber

Jamie Horrigan Studio Unknown

E. Scott Johnson, Esq. Baker Donelson

Rosemary Levy IATSE 798

Jane Love SAF/AFTRA

Keith Mehlinger Morgan State University

Pat Moran & Associates

Nina Noble Producer

Dawson Nolley Keller Williams

Dean Susan Picinich Towson University

Tom Riford Thomas Kennedy Center

Nancy Roberts, Esq. NRCS, Inc.

B.J Spencer V.I.P. Security

Timothy Watkins Renegade Communications Chairman Guzzone and Members of the Senate Budget and Taxation Committee 11 Bladen Street, 3W Annapolis, MD 21401

## SB452-SUPPORT

Dear Chair Guzzone and Members of the Budget and Taxation Committee,

The Maryland Film Industry Coalition strongly supports SB452, which will increase the refundable tax credits allowed for the Film Production Activity Tax Credit from \$12 million annually to \$25 million in FY24 and to \$50 million in FY25 and all fiscal years thereafter.

This increase and enhancements will allow the film industry to grow, allowing for more productions to choose Maryland and not be turned away. Maryland is ready to grow this sector, with the need for streaming and physical production content higher than ever, SB452will allow the industry the opportunity to bring more economic activity to the state and create and maintain jobs and provide pathways for students and those entering the workforce.

MFIC sincerely appreciates the work of this committee over the years to help develop a predictable film incentive program and we appreciate your support this session.

We respectfully request a favorable report for SB452 at the levels introduced.

Sincerely,

Robert Middleton Chair, MFIC Debbie Dorsey Chair, MFIC

**Government Relations Committee**