
 

 

 

Testimony in Support of SB280 

Child Care Providers - Registration and Licensing - Exemptions 

 

Chair Feldman, Vice Chair Kagan, and Distinguished Members of the Senate 

Education, Energy, and the Environment Committee:  

 

Problem 

There is a child care crisis in Maryland and around the country. There are not enough 

providers, yet median hourly pay is $11.59.1 Despite these low salaries, Maryland 

families pay an average of $855 per month for 4-year-old care and $1,278 per month for 

infant care, according to the Economic Policy Institute.2 To make matters worse, 6,957 

licensed family child care (FCC) programs closed across the country between 

December 2019 and March 2021, representing a 10% loss in licensed FCC programs.3 

Maryland has taken steps to address access and affordability issues in child care, but 

more needs to be done.  

 

Background 

The U.S. Department of Defense (DOD) faces similar challenges when it comes to 

providing child care to service members and other DOD employees. The DOD child 

care system originated in the 1970s, with informal efforts on military bases to provide 

military families with ad hoc, part-time care. In 1989, the Military Child Care Act was 

enacted to improve the quality, safety, availability, and affordability of military child care. 

 

According to a 2023 U.S. Government Accountability Office report, approximately 

49,300 children were enrolled in DOD’s on-base child development centers (CDC), 

24,700 children were enrolled in DOD’s school-age care programs, and 2,700 children 

were receiving care in DOD FCC homes.4 When on-base care is not available at certain 

locations, or service members’ homes are not located near a base, DOD offers fee 

assistance to families who obtain care at eligible civilian child care providers.   

 
1 https://cscce.berkeley.edu/workforce-index-2020/states/maryland/  
2 https://www.epi.org/child-care-costs-in-the-united-states/#/MD  
3 https://info.childcareaware.org/hubfs/2022-03-FallReport-FINAL%20(1).pdf  
4 https://www.gao.gov/assets/gao-23-105518.pdf  

https://cscce.berkeley.edu/workforce-index-2020/states/maryland/
https://www.epi.org/child-care-costs-in-the-united-states/#/MD
https://info.childcareaware.org/hubfs/2022-03-FallReport-FINAL%20(1).pdf?utm_campaign=Budget%20Reconciliation%20Fall%202021&utm_source=website&utm_content=22_demandingchange_pdf_update332022
https://www.gao.gov/assets/gao-23-105518.pdf


 
 

 

 

By and large, DOD facilities have more vigorous safety and training requirements than 

civilians ones. Civilian child care programs generally must adhere to state  

licensing standards, and may also choose to pursue accreditation, which focuses on the 

quality of care. For accreditation, national accrediting organizations establish and use 

quality standards (e.g., related to staff training and support, leadership and  

management, or curricula) to assess the quality of child care programs. While only 9 

percent CDCs in the U.S. were accredited in 2019, DOD data showed 97 percent of 

DOD CDCs were.5 Within DOD, child care facilities are subject to federal statutory 

requirements, including an accreditation requirement for all CDCs, required training 

elements for staff, and inspection requirements. Please see Appendix I for a full 

comparison of Maryland and DOD child care requirements.  

 

Service members are often required to move to new locations, sometimes making 

change-of-station moves every 2 to 3 years, which can disrupt child care and work 

arrangements. Service members also work non-traditional hours and may be deployed 

with relatively little notice. Service members rely on a child care environment that caters 

to their needs. 

 

As the Fiscal Note states, family child care homes, large family child care homes, and 

child care centers may not operate in the State unless they are registered or licensed. 

For military spouses who move to Maryland (often because of their spouse’s change-of-

station), they must go through Maryland’s duplicative child care licensure process, 

despite already having credentials that exceed Maryland’s requirements. This can delay 

their ability to start working and stifle the supply of much-needed military child care 

providers. As stated above, when the DOD cannot meet its own child care needs 

through its network, it will offer a fee for service members to purchase child care in a 

civilian setting, exacerbating Maryland’s child care shortage. 

 

Solution – SB280 

This bill would help increase the supply of child care providers and speed up the 

process for military families to secure gainful employment. SB280 would exempt DOD 

FCC facilities from Maryland licensure requirements if the FCC is located on a military 

installation or if it is certified as an FCC Provider by a branch of the DOD or the U.S. 

Coast Guard. I am offering a technical amendment that clarifies that the children served 

by these facilities are military dependents only and that an installation commander has 

the discretion to determine which military dependents may be served. 

 

I respectfully request a favorable report on Senate Bill 280. 

 
5 Ibid.  



Appendix I: Comparison of Maryland and DoD Child Care 
Requirements 

 

 Maryland DoD 

Who is in Charge? Dept. of Education Child Development 
Services/Installation 

Commander 

Source of Information Title 13A STATE BOARD OF 
EDUCATION; Subtitle 15 
FAMILY CHILD CARE;  
Chapter 06 Provider 
Requirements  

AR 608-10 dtd 11 May 2017 

In home interview (If FCC)  X 

At least 18 y.o.  X X plus High School Diploma 

Face to Face Orientation X X 

Registration X X 

Emergency Plan 
    Evacuating the home; practice 1 X mo 
    Sheltering in place; 2 x year 
    Contacting Parents/ local  EMS 2 x year      
    Special needs 
    Evacuation of sleeping children 

X X 
X 
X 
X 
X 
X 

Designated substitute 18 or older X X 

Environmental review X X 

Meets fire codes X X 

Lactation room X X 

Lead Free X X 

Toilet and Sink Accessible to kids X X 

Telephone X X 

Clean – no infestation X X 

Enclosed, ample outdoor space X X 

Criminal background check  
  > 18 in home 
  Paid substitute  

X 
X 
X 

X (See Table 2-1) 
X all 12 years and older 

X 

Child & adult abuse check X X 

Medical evaluation each resident Only if childcare respons. X 

Ratios: 
  Under two 
 
 
 
 
 
 
Maximum Occupancy Family Home 

 
2:1 unless completed 3 

sem/45 hours addl 
training care of children 

<2 
 
 
 

8 children under 13 

Centers 
2:1   <6 wks                  max 6 
4:1     6 wks – 12 mo.  max 8 
5:1     12 mo – 24 mo  max 10 
7:1    24 mo – 3 yrs      max 14 
10:1   3 – 5 yrs              max 20 
15:1  school age           max 30 
Family Child Care Homes 
6:1    4 wks – 12 years   max 6 
3:1   NB/Infant/Toddler max 3 



8:1     School age           max 8 

Remain in sight if resting and < 2 y.o./ check q 
15 min 

X X 

  Plan/post schedule of daily activities 
    Include language & literacy 
    Mathematical thinking 
    Scientific thinking 
    Social studies 
    Creative arts and dramatic play 
    Gross and small motor skills 
    Outdoor play morning/afternoon 
    Periods of rests 
    Limits on screen time (< than 2 no passive 
technology; > 2 no more than 30 min/week) 

 
X 
X 
X 
X 
X 
X 
X 
X 
X 

X 
X 
X 
X 
X 
X 
X 
X 
X 
X 

First Aid Kit X X 

Food and snacks. Supplies all beverages and milk Provided by child’s family 
or provider 

X 

Building inspections & permits X X 

In-home inspections (fire, safety, health & 
sanitation) 

 X 

Fees X X 

Discipline policy X X 

Presence of pets in home X X 

Use of Volunteers X X 

If overnight, sleeping arrangements X X 

Unannounced inspections  4 x year 

 
DOD Fees: Multiple child reductions of 20% or less may be offered when more than one child in a family 
requires center-based care. The reductions are given on the less expensive form of care.  
 
 
  



TRAINING 

 Maryland DoD 

Individual Development Plan X X 

Within two years 
  Child Dev. Curriculum 
  
 Health 
  Safety & Nutrition 
  Special Needs 
  Professionalism 
  Community 

  Basic First Aid – American Red Cross or equiv 
  CPR 
  Sudden Infant Death Syndrome 
  Supporting Breastfeeding 
  Emergency/Disaster Planning 
  Medication Administration 
  Americans with Disabilities Act 
  
    
  Behavior management techniques   
  Child abuse identification and reporting 
  Child abuse and neglect prevention and response 
  Child development norms and principles 
  Child health and nutrition 
  Child safety practices 
  Curriculum development for infants; toddlers; pre-      
       school aged; school-aged children 
  Food service techniques 
  Observation/interviewing/screening 
  Parent education 
  Parent involvement 
  Sanitation practices 
  Sick child care/HIV 
  Space utilization for child activity areas 
  Special needs 
  Techniques working with infants; toddlers; pre-school  
     and school aged children 
  Volunteer management 
 
OR Assoc. Degree with 15 semester hours of early  
      childhood or elementary education course work 
 
OR BS in Early Childhood Education or Elementary 
Education 

 ***Note: The MD Dept. of Education accepts DoD 
training modules for child care providers 

 
4 hours 

 
4 hours 
4 hours 
4 hours 
4 hours 
4 hours 

X 
X 

within 5 years  
X 
X 
X 

3 hours 
+ 18 hours approved 

by office 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 

X 
 
 

X 

90 clock hours 
Infant; toddlers; pre-
school; school-age 

 
 
 
 
 

X 
X 
X 
X 
X 
X 
X 
 
 
 

X 
X 
X 
X 
X 
X 
 

X 
X 
X 
X 
X 
X 
X 
X 
X 
 

X 
 

 
OR Child 

Development 
Associate Credential 

  



CONTINING EDUCATION TRAINING 

 Maryland DoD 

CPR/First Aid/SIDS update  Every year 

Health & Safety By end of 12 mo.  

 12 hours (6 in core)* 24 hours 

*Does NOT include SIDS training 
 
Substitute requirements in Maryland:  Medical evaluation within the last 12 months; state criminal 
background check; “presents no risk to the health, safety or welfare of children”; Orientation to location 
of the telephone and emergency numbers; first aid supplies; child emergency forms; medication 
administration information for each child; modified diet information; emergency evacuation procedures; 
permissible and appropriate child discipline procedures; authorized child release procedures; 
procedures for document and reporting child injuries.  See 13A.15.06.03 
Substitutes do not have to complete any minimal training 
 
Additional adult requirements in Maryland: 18 years old; attends an information session in the office 
concerning the requirements of this subtitle for care of children less than 2; medical report within 12 
months; background check; CPR and basic first aid; SIDS training within last 5 years; office approval. See 
13A.15.06.04 
Additional adults do not have to complete any minimal training 
 
Volunteer requirements in Maryland: “presents no risk to the health, safety or welfare of children”; 
child health and safety orientation; applied for a background check; must be accompanied by provider, 
substitute or add’l adult; if less than 18 may not be permitted to work with a child who is less than 2. 
See 13A.15.06.05 
Volunteers do not have to complete any minimal training except a child health and safety orientation 
 

 
 


