

February 1, 2023

The Honorable Kumar P. Barve Chair of the House Environment and Transportation Committee Delegate, Maryland General Assembly Taylor House Office Building, Room 251 6 Bladen Street Annapolis, Maryland 21401

RE: Support for HB 7, Electric Vehicle Recharging Equipment Rebate Program - Renewal

Dear Delegate Barve:

On behalf of the Climate, Energy, and Environment Policy Committee (CEEPC) of the Metropolitan Washington Council of Governments (COG), I am writing in support of HB 7, which extends the Electric Vehicle (EV) Recharging Equipment Rebate Program from fiscal year 2023 to 2027 and increases the total amount of rebates.

Climate change is a regional priority for COG, the association of local governments in metropolitan Washington. Electrification of the vehicle fleet is one of the highest impact strategies for reducing greenhouse gas emissions between now and 2030. Several barriers are currently preventing the accelerated adoption of EVs, including a shortfall in the necessary charging stations. The State of Maryland's Electric Vehicle Recharging Equipment Rebate Program incentivizes greater deployment of EV charging infrastructure in metropolitan Washington. Furthermore, HB 7 aligns with COG's priorities by allowing the program to offer additional benefits for the installation of EV charging infrastructure in multifamily housing, planned urban developments, and condominiums located in environmental justice communities. As such, CEEPC, on behalf of COG, supports the extension of this program, as well as the increase in the total amount of rebates.

Please contact Jeffrey King, COG Director of Climate, Energy, and Air Programs at (202) 962-3238 or iking@mwcog.org if you have any questions. Thank you for your consideration.

Sincerely,

Takis Karantonis

Chair, Climate, Energy, and Environment Policy Committee

cc: Honorable Dana M. Stein Honorable Jacqueline T. Addison Honorable Nick Allen Honorable Terry L. Baker

Calin Karan homi

The Honorable Kumar P. Barve February 1, 2023

Honorable Regina T. Boyce Honorable Barrie S. Ciliberti Honorable Debra M. Davis Honorable Linda K. Foley Honorable Michele J. Guyton Honorable Anne Healey Honorable Marvin E. Holmes, Jr. Honorable Jay A. Jacobs Honorable Mary A. Lehman Honorable Jeffrie E. Long, Jr. Honorable Sara N. Love Honorable Todd B. Morgan Honorable Ryan Nawrocki Honorable Charles J. Otto Honorable Sheila S. Ruth Honorable Vaughn M. Stewart Honorable Jennifer R. Terrasa Honorable Natalie Ziegler Honorable David Fraser-Hidalgo