

10480 Little Patuxent Parkway, Ste 910, Columbia, MD 21044. Office 410-992-4258. Fax: 410-992-7732. www.marylandpsychology.org

OFFICERS OF THE BOARD

President Rebecca Resnick, PsyD,

President-elect Brian Corrado, PsyD

Past President Linda McGhee, PhD, JD

Secretary Tanya Morrel, PhD

Treasurer Melinda Capaldi, PsyD

Representatives-at-large Jessica Rothstein, PsyD Andrea Chisolm, Ph.D.

Representative to APA Council Peter Smith, PsyD

COMMITTEE CHAIRS

Communications Robyn Waxman, PhD

Diversity Whitney Hobson, PsyD

Early Career Psychologist Meghan Mattos, PsyD

Educational Affairs Laurie Friedman Donze, PhD

Ethics Colleen Byrne, PhD

Legislative Pat Savage, PhD

Membership Linda Herbert, PhD

Professional Practice Karin Cleary, PhD

PROFESSIONAL AFFAIRS

OFFICER Paul C. Berman, PhD

EXECUTIVE DIRECTOR Thomas Cote, MBA, CAE March 24, 2023

Senator Brian J. Feldman, Chair Senator Cheryl C. Kagan, Vice Chair Education, Energy, and the Environment Committee 2 West, Miller Senate Office Building Annapolis, MD 21401

House 119 - County Boards of Education - Curriculum Guides and Courses of Study – Requirements

Position: Withdrawal of Support

Dear Chairman Feldman, Vice Chair Kagan, and Members of the Committee:

The Maryland Psychological Association, (MPA), which represents over 1,000 doctoral level psychologists throughout the state, is writing to **WITHDRAW ITS SUPPORT** for the amended version of **House Bill 119 - County Boards of Education - Curriculum Guides and Courses of Study** – **Requirements**. This bill was substantially amended since its introduction in the House; MPA can no longer support this bill.

Thank you for considering our comments on HB 119. If we can be of any further assistance as the House – Education, Energy, and the Environment Committee considers this bill, please do not hesitate to contact MPA's Legislative Chair, Dr. Pat Savage at mpalegislativecommittee@gmail.com.

Respectfully submitted,

Rebecca Resnick, Psy. D. Rebecca Resnick, Psy.D. President R. Patrick Savage, Jr., Ph.D. R. Patrick Savage, Jr., Ph.D. Chair, MPA Legislative Committee

cc: Richard Bloch, Esq., Counsel for Maryland Psychological Association Barbara Brocato & Dan Shattuck, MPA Government Affairs