

MARYLAND TRANSIT CAUCUS

marylandtransitcaucus.org • @CaucusTransit transitcaucus@gmail.com

Officers

Co-Chair: Senator Karen Lewis Young Co-Chair: Delegate Jared Solomon Vice Chair: Senator Arthur Ellis Vice Chair: Delegate Sheila Ruth Secretary: Delegate Julie Palakovich Carr At-Large Member: Delegate Marc Korman

Dear Chair Smith, Vice Chair Waldstreicher, and Members of the Judicial Proceedings Committee,

The more than 90 members of the Transit Caucus have voted to endorse SB 16 – Safe Access for All (SAFE) Roads Act of 2023.

The Transit Caucus is a bipartisan group of Senators and Delegates committed to supporting legislation that supports a robust, equitable, modern, and effective transit network that serves all Marylanders. To that end, the Caucus is dedicated to advancing reliable and sustainable transportation options for Marylanders. This includes, but is not limited to, interconnected public transit, a transition to clean vehicles, alternatives (walking and biking), and the infrastructure to support these options as safe modes of transit. We believe that ensuring every Marylander has access to a variety of safe and reliable mobility options is a critical element of achieving an equitable, prosperous, and healthy state.

The Caucus respectfully requests a favorable report for this legislation.

Thank you for your consideration.

Sincerely,

then fairs young

Senator Karen Lewis Young

And Solowon

Delegate Jared Solomon

Delegate Nick Allen Delegate Carl Anderton Delegate Dalya Attar Senator Malcolm Augustine Delegate Heather Bagnall Delegate Sandy Bartlett Senator Pamela Beidle Delegate Harry Bhandari Delegate Adrian Boafo Delegate Regina Boyce Delegate Tony Bridges Senator Jill P. Carter Delegate Lorig Charkoudian Senator Paul Corderman Delegate Brian Crosby Delegate Charlotte Crutchfield Delegate Debra Davis Delegate Eric Ebersole Delegate Mark Edelson Delegate Elizabeth Embry Delegate Kris Fair Senator Brian Feldman Delegate Jessica Feldmark Delegate Linda Foley Delegate Catherine Forbes Delegate David Fraser-Hidalgo Delegate Jeff Ghrist Senator Dawn Gile Delegate Brooke Grossman Delegate Michele Guyton Senator Guy Guzzone Delegate Kevin Harris Delegate Anne Healev Senator Shelly Hettleman Delegate Terri Hill Delegate Kevin Hornberger Delegate Carl Jackson Senator Michael Jackson Delegate Andre Johnson Delegate Dana Jones Senator Cheryl Kagan Delegate Anne Kaiser Delegate Aaron Kaufman Delegate Ariana Kelly Delegate Ken Kerr Senator Nancy King Delegate Mary Lehman Delegate Jazz Lewis Delegate Robbyn Lewis Delegate Jeffrie E. Long Jr. Delegate Leslev Lopez Delegate Sara Love Delegate Aletheia McCaskill Senator Cory McCray Senator Mike McKav Delegate Bernice Mireku-North Delegate David Moon Delegate Joseline Pena-Melnyk Delegate N. Scott Phillips Delegate Andrew Pruski Delegate Lily Qi Delegate Kirill Reznik Senator Jim Rosapepe Delegate Samuel Rosenberg Senator Johnny Ray Salling Delegate Emily Shetty Delegate Karen Simpson Delegate Stephanie Smith Delegate Dana Stein Delegate Vaughn Stewart Senator Charles Sydnor III Delegate Deni Taveras Delegate Kym Taylor Delegate Jen Terrasa Delegate Chris Tomlinson Delegate Kris Valderrama Delegate Joe Vogel Senator Jeff Waldstreicher Senator Alonzo Washington Senator Mary Washington Delegate Courtney Watson Delegate Melissa Wells Delegate Jheanelle Wilkins Delegate Nicole Williams Delegate Chao Wu Delegate Natalie Ziegler

Senator Craig Zucker

Members

Delegate Gabriel Acevero