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To: The Honorable Luke Clippinger, Chairman Judiciary Committee 

From:   Robert Spanburgh, Jr., Chairman of the Board, ABATE of Maryland, Inc. 

Date:   March 27, 2023   

Re:   SB252 - Reckless and Negligent Driving - Penalties (Sherry's and Christian's Law) 

Position: FAVORABLE - SUPPORT 

Good afternoon, Mr. Chairman, Vice Chairman and members of the Committee. My name is Robert Spanburgh 
Jr., and I am the Chairman of the Board for ABATE of Maryland, Inc., the State's largest Motorcycle Rights 
Organization. We fully support and encourage passage of SB252/HB360 and have lobbied relentlessly for its 
passage for a number of years. I myself have testified on behalf of legislation of this kind for many years. 
ABATE does not view this as strictly a bill for motorcyclists but rather a bill for ALL citizens of our great 
State.  We feel that this legislation will enhance the safety of our highways, roads and streets for all Marylanders. 
The list of offenses that warrant a mandated court appearance is expansive. We feel that an accident that results 
in loss of life should have been on this list long ago. We hope this is the year that we can make this much-needed 
addition to that list. If passed, this law would not require an arrest at the scene, but rather a mandated court 
appearance on the date specified by authorities. With these factors in mind, we respectfully request passage of 
SB252/HB360, "Sherry's and Christian's Law".  

Sincerely, 
ABATE of Maryland, Inc. 
 

Robert Spanburgh Jr. 
Chairman of the Board 
Email: legislative@abateofmd.org 
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To: The Honorable Luke Clippinger, Chairman Judiciary Committee 

From:   Ken Eaton, Executive Director, ABATE of Maryland, Inc. 

Date:   March 27, 2023   

Re:   SB252 - Reckless and Negligent Driving - Penalties (Sherry's and Christian's Law) 

Position: FAVORABLE - SUPPORT 

As a motorcyclist, and the Executive Director of ABATE of Maryland, Inc., I am urging you to support SB252. 
ABATE represents ALL motorcyclists as the largest motorcycle rights organization in the state and has been 
doing so since 1974. 

The SB252 bill indicates Providing that a person charged with negligent driving must appear in court and may 
not prepay the fine if the negligent driving contributed to an accident that resulted in the death of another person; 
and establishing a penalty for a person convicted of a violation of the prohibition on reckless driving of 
imprisonment not exceeding 5 days or a fine not exceeding $1,000 or both. 

This is a bill that is near and dear to our Mid-Shore Chapter as well and the entire membership of ABATE of 
Maryland, Inc. On August 30, 2006, our then State Executive Director, Marty Schultz, was killed in a motorcycle 
accident that involved a car running a stop sign. Many other motorcyclists and motorists have experienced 
similar tragedies. Quite often, the officer on the scene issues a violation for running a stop sign, failure to stay 
right of center or some other minor violation. We feel it should be a “Mandatory Appearance” in court if a person 
involved in an accident, causes the death of another individual. 

ABATE requested and assisted with “right-of-way” bills in 2006 and 2007 with no success. In 2008, we were 
able to get SB 712 passed. However, it did not include a provision for “Must Appear.” We strongly feel that no 
one should be able to receive a minor traffic violation, or no violation at all, when an accident that they caused 
results in severe injury or death. They should not be able to pay a ticket to avoid going to court. They should be 
required to appear in court. We are not requesting a mandatory penalty, just that they would be required to appear 
in court. This is not just a motorcycle bill; this legislation would apply to all persons on a roadway that cause 
the death of another through reckless and negligent driving. Interestingly enough, motorcyclists are already 
covered under a “Vulnerable Individuals” provision that passed several years ago. ABATE is supporting this 
bill because we feel the same provisions in the Vulnerable Individuals portion of MD Traffic Code 21-901.3(b), 
should apply to all persons on or near the roadway.  

I have attached a portion of the document that is provided to all “Peace Officers” in Maryland, as prepared by 
the District Court of Maryland. It is a schedule of fines for violations related to Motor Vehicle Laws. The very 
last page is what I have attached & it is a summary of common traffic citations, the associated fine(s). If “MA” 
is listed in the fine’s column, that is a “Must Appear” violation. In addition, I have also added a brief summary 
of others that I was able to find throughout this document. There are 130 pages in this document. If you would 
like a copy, please let me know & I can provide you with a PDF. Interestingly enough if a person fails to stop 
for a pedestrian in a crosswalk and receives a ticket for it, that is a MUST APPEAR violation.  
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We feel that SB252 could give the family and friends of a victim of a reckless or negligent driver a bit of closure 
to know that the person that caused the accident would at least have to appear in court. The court could request 
the person that was issued the violation to provide their account of what may have happened. In some cases, it 
could truly have been an accident resulting from an animal in the roadway, a tire blow-out, etc. In other cases, 
it may have been distracted driving, or just plain poor judgement.  

On behalf of all motorists in Maryland, I am hereby urging support for SB252 - Reckless and Negligent Driving 
and urge the committee to vote FAVORABLY. 

Sincerely, 
ABATE of Maryland, Inc. 

 

Kenneth B. Eaton, Executive Director 
Email: director@abateofmd.org 
Tel: 410-924-3374 
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List of some traffic violations that require a “Must Appear.” 
 

• Drivers' licenses: 
o Driving without a license 
o Driving on alcohol restriction 
o Fraudulent / fictitious license 
o Suspended, revoked, or refused 

license. 
o Improper license  

 
• Accidents and Accident Reporting 

o Failure to stop. 
o Failure to remain on scene. 
o Failure to render reasonable 

assistance. 
o Failure to report accident. 
o False report 

 
• Traffic Signals 

o Willfully altering 
 

• Pedestrians 
o Failure to stop for a pedestrian in a 

crosswalk. 
o Passing a vehicle stopped for 

pedestrian in a crosswalk. 
 
 
 

• Reckless, Negligent, etc. 
o Causing death or physical injury to 

a VULNERABLE INDIVIDUAL 
o DUI 
o DWI 
o Driving without a required ignition 

interlock 
o Fleeing & eluding a police officer 
o Bodily injury / death or another - if 

fleeing and eluding a police officer 
 

• Miscellaneous 
o Participating in a race / speed 

contest and in an accident that 
causes serious injury / death of 
another.  

o Use of a handheld telephone/text 
messaging device while driving, 
causing an accident that directly 
results in death, serious bodily 
injury. 

o Pumping gas into a dirt bike from a 
retail pump in Baltimore City. 

o Exhibition driving in a special event 
zone in Worcester County MD. 
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                                                                                    Fine/Cont/ to Accident 
01) 21-801.1 Exceed Max Speed.......MPH in......Zone .....   
02) 13-401(b)(1) Operating Unregistered Motor Veh..............  $290.00 
03) 13-401(h) Driving With Suspended Registration .........  $150.00 
04) 13-409(b) Fail to Display Reg. Card on Demand .........  $ 50.00 
05) 13-411(a) Fail to Attach Plates at Front & Rear ............  $ 70.00 
06) 13-411(d) Driving w/o Current Tags ..............................  $ 70.00 
07) 13-411(f) Display Expired Reg. Plates ..........................  $ 70.00 
08) 13-411(g) Display Reg. Plates Issued to Another .........  $ 70.00 
09) 13-703(g) Unauthorized Disp. & Use of Reg. Plate .....  $290.00 
10) 16-101(a)(1) Driving Without License................................  MA 
11) 16-112(c) Fail to Display License on Demand .............  $ 50.00 
12) 16-113(h) Violating Restricted Lic. Restriction .............  $ 70.00 
13) 16-115(g) Driving With an Expired License .................  $ 70.00 
14) 16-116(a) Failure Notify Adm. Address Change .........  $ 50.00 
15) 16-303(c) Driving on Suspended Lic. & Priv ...............  MA 
16) 16-303(d) Driving on Revoked Lic. & Priv ...................  MA 
17) 16-303(f) Driving on Suspended Out of State Lic .......  MA  
18) 16-303(h) Driving While Lic. Suspended Under 

(16-203,16-206 a2 Fail to Attend DIP,  
17-106, 26-204, 26-206, 27-103) ..................  

 
 
MA 

19) 17-107(a)(1) Driving Uninsured Vehicle ............................  MA 
20) 21-201(a)(1) Failure to Obey Traffic Device......................  $90.00 / $130.00 
21) 21-202(h)(1) Failure to Stop at Steady Circular Red 

Signal ................................................................  
 
$140.00 / $180.00 

22) 21-202(i)(1) Fail to stop at Red Signal Before Right Turn .  $90.00 / $130.00 

 

                                                                                            Fine/Cont/ to Accident 
23) 21-301(a) Failure to Drive Right of Center ...............................  $90.00 / $130.00 
24) 21-304(c) Driving off Road While Passing Vehicle ................  $110.00 / $150.00 
25) 21-308(a) Driving Wrong Direction on One Way Road ........  $90.00 / $130.00 
26) 21-309(b) Unsafe Lane Changing ..............................................  $90.00 / $130.00 
27) 21-310(a) Following Veh. Too Closely.....................................  $110.00 / $150.00 
28) 21-402(a) Fail to Yield to Oncoming Traffic on Left Turn.....  $110.00 / $150.00 
29) 21-707(a) Fail to Stop at Stop Sign .............................................  $90.00 / $130.00 
30) 21-801(a) Speed Greater Than Reasonable ..............................  $90.00 / $130.00 
31) 21-801(b) Failure to Control Speed to Avoid Collision ...........  $130.00 
32) 21-901.1(a) Reckless Driving .........................................................  $510.00 
33) 21-901.1(b) Negligent Driving .......................................................  $240.00 / $280.00 
34) 21-902(a)(1)(i) Driving Veh. While Under Influence of Alcohol ..  MA 
35) 21-902(a)(1)(i)(i) Driving Under Influence of Alcohol Per Se ...........  MA 
36) 21-902(b)(1)(i) Driving While Impaired by Alcohol ........................  MA 
37) 21-902(c)(1)(i) Driving While So Far Impaired by Drug(s) or 

Drug(s) and Alcohol Cannot Drive Safely..............  
 
MA  

38) 21-902(d)(1)(i) Driving While Impaired by Controlled 
Dangerous Substance .................................................  

 
MA 

39) 21-1117(c) Driver Spinning Wheels ............................................  $70.00 / $110.00 
40) 22-412.2(d)(1) Failing to Secure Child Under Age 8 in Child 

Safety Seat When Transporting in Motor Vehicle.  
 
$83.00 

41) 22-412.3(b) (Operator, Occupant Under 16) Not Restrained 
by (Seat Belt, Child Safety Seat) ...............................  

 
$83.00 

42) 22-412.3(c)(2) Front Passenger 16 or More w/o Seat Belt..............  $83.00 
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Bill Number: SB 252  

Scott D. Shellenberger, State’s Attorney for Baltimore County  

Support  

  

WRITTEN TESTIMONY OF SCOTT D. SHELLENBERGER,   

STATE’S ATTORNEY FOR BALTIMORE COUNTY,   

IN SUPPORT OF SENATE BILL 252 

RECKLESS AND NEGLIGENT DRIVING – DEATH OF ANOTHER – MUST APPEAR  

(SHERRY’S AND RYAN’S LAW) 

  

  I write in support of Senate Bill 252 that makes a traffic charge of negligent 

driving which results in the death of another a must appear offense.  

 

   It is a simple fact that all State’s Attorneys know - traffic fatalities are often the 

most difficult cases to explain to family and friends about the limits of the criminal justice 

system. The automobile manslaughter case requirement of gross negligence sometimes 

does not fit certain traffic offenses even when it results in a death. Many times the most 

that can be charged is reckless or negligent driving. 

 

 Allowing a Defendant charged with this offense to pay from home imposes more 

pain on a victim’s family. Making these offenses a “must appear” will give a surviving 

family a moment to feel some accountability and maybe even an apology. 

 

 Senate Bill 252 is not raising the penalty, it is not changing the standard by which 

we have charged for decades, it is merely trying to give a grieving family a day in court.  

 

 I urge a favorable report.  
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March 29, 2023 

The House Judiciary Committee 

SB 252 Reckless and Negligent Driving – Death of Another – Must 

Appear Violation (Sherry’s and Christian’s Law) 

Statement of Support by Bill Sponsor Senator Mary Beth Carozza 
 

Thank you Chair Clippinger, Vice Chair Moon, and the members of the distinguished House 

Judiciary Committee for this opportunity to present Senate Bill 252 – Reckless and Negligent 

Driving – Death of Another – Must-Appear Violation (Sherry’s and Christian’s Law), and 

respectfully ask for your support of this bill. I want to publicly recognize and thank ABATE of 

Maryland for their leadership and persistence in advocating for SB 252 over the years. 

 

This bill is intended to close a loophole pertaining to reckless or negligent driving regarding fatal 

accidents. Under current law, if someone is charged with negligent driving even when they are 

involved in a fatal accident, they do not have to appear in court. They are charged with a 

misdemeanor and subject to a maximum fine of $1,000, and they can pay this fine without ever 

appearing before a judge or facing the loved ones that are left behind. 

 

This bill is named after two different victims of two different, devastating accidents. On July 5, 

2019, Sherry Zdon and her husband Thomas were out for a late afternoon drive in Conowingo 

Maryland when they were struck head-on by an oncoming vehicle. Both Sherry and Thomas 

suffered severe injuries, and unfortunately, Sherry later died of those injuries. Her husband 

Thomas had to have his left arm and left leg amputated. To this day, the person who caused 

Sherry Zdon’s death has not appeared in court as it is not required. 

 

Travis “Christian” Butcher, the other person referenced in the bill title, was driving to work the 

day before Thanksgiving in 2016, when he was hit on Route 7 in Abingdon Maryland. He had 

the right of way, but the driver did not yield to him. After three days in Shock Trauma, Christian 

passed away from his wounds. He was only 19 years old, and despite a long rap sheet, the driver 

never had to appear before a judge for her actions. 

 

Under SB 252, a person charged with negligent driving that contributes to a fatal accident must 

appear in court and cannot prepay the fine. As amended, a person convicted of reckless driving 



that contributes to a fatal accident is subject to imprisonment not exceeding five days or a fine up 

to $1,000 or both. A person charged with reckless driving already is required to appear in court. 

 

On average, there are 514 fatal crashes in Maryland each year. Being able to face the person who 

caused such pain often plays a major role in the healing process, and requiring that person to 

show up in court provides a safe environment. I want to note that there is some discretion for a 

judge to waive the must appear if the two parties meeting would be considered dangerous, such 

as possible gang involvement.  

 

These types of cases, where there is a victim, should not be treated the same as a victimless 

vehicle accident. Mr. Chair and Vice Chair, I respectfully urge the House Judiciary Committee 

Members for a favorable report on Senate Bill 252. Thank you for your kind attention and 

consideration. 

 


