

LEGISLATIVE BLACK CAUCUS OF MARYLAND, INC.

The Maryland House of Delegates, 6 Bladen Street, Room 300, Annapolis, Maryland 21401
410-841-3185 ◆ 301-858-3185 ◆ 800-492-7122 Ext. 3185 ◆ Fax 410-841-3175 ◆ 301-858-3175 ◆ Black.Caucus@house.state.md.us

March 20, 2024

March 20, 202

Chairman Ben Barnes 6 Bladen Street, House Office Building Annapolis, Maryland 21401

Dear Chairman Barnes and Members of the House Appropriations Committee,

The Legislative Black Caucus of Maryland offers strong favorable support for House Bill 1522 – University of Maryland Eastern Shore – Land Grant Institution – Funding (Land-Grant Equity and Accountability Act), a bill that imposes a mandated \$5 million appropriation in Maryland's annual state budget to go towards the University of Maryland Eastern Shore. The goal of this bill is to accrue a total of \$321 million to use for the further funding and development of UMES. This bill is on the 2024 legislative priority agenda of the Black Caucus.

The United States ranks first in the world for national college endowments with over \$691 million in funds. However, there are disparities in funding between Historically Black Colleges and Universities (HBCUs) and predominantly white institutions (PWIs). For every dollar a PWI receives for endowment money, an HBCU only receives \$1.

We continue to see this same issue play out in Maryland. The Second Morrill Act of 1890 underscores the importance of equitable endowment distribution between HBCUs and PWIs. Unfortunately, a funding disparity between the University of Maryland Eastern Shore (UMES) and the University of Maryland College Park (UMD) has persisted between 1987 and 2020, despite mandates set forth to ensure equitable funding for both institutions.

As such, this bill has been drafted to address this disparity. House Bill 1522 will require that the Governor of Maryland include \$5 million in funding for UMES in the State's annual budget bill for each fiscal year, starting in FY25. This will continue until UMES has accrued \$321 to include funding for new infrastructure, faculty pay, academic programs, improvement in existing infrastructure, and scholarships.

House Bill 1522 will fund the University of Maryland Eastern Shore, rectify the funding disparities that have plagued UMES for decades, and help UMES continue its vital work in its students, faculty, and communities. For these reasons, the Legislative Black Caucus of Maryland supports **House Bill 1522** and asks that you vote favorably on this bill.

Legislative Black Caucus of Maryland

EXECUTIVE OFFICERS

Chair

Delegate Jheanelle Wilkins, District 20

1st Vice Chair

Delegate Melissa Wells, District 40

2nd Vice Chair

Delegate Karen R. Toles, District 25

Treasurer

Delegate Marlon Amprey, District 40

Secretary

Delegate Jamila J. Woods, District 26

Financial Secretary

Senator Mary L. Washington, District 43

Chaplain

Senator Joanne C. Benson, District 24

Parliamentarian

Delegate Stephanie Smith, District 45

Executive Director

Ufuoma O. Agarin, J.D.

MEMBERS Senator Malcolm Augustine, District 47 Senator Benjamin Brooks, District 10 Senator Jill P. Carter, District 41 Senator Nick Charles, District 25 Senator Arthur Ellis, District 28 Senator Antonio L. Hayes, District 40 Senator Michael A. Jackson, District 27 Senator Cory V. McCray, District 45 Senator C. Anthony Muse, District 26 Senator William C. Smith, Jr., District 20 Senator Charles E. Sydnor III, Esq., District 44 Senator Alonzo T. Washington, District 22 Senator Ron Watson, District 23 Delegate Gabriel Acevero, District 39 Delegate Jacqueline T. Addison, District 45 Delegate Tiffany Alston, District 24 Delegate Vanessa E. Atterbeary, District 13 Delegate J. Sandy Bartlett, District 32 Delegate Adrian Boafo, District 23 Delegate Regina T. Boyce, District 43A Delegate Frank M. Conaway, Jr., District 40 Delegate Charlotte Crutchfield, District 19 Delegate Debra Davis, District 28 Delegate Diana M. Fennell, District 47A Delegate Kevin M. Harris, District 27A Delegate Andrea Fletcher Harrison, District 24 Delegate Shaneka Henson, District 30A Delegate Terri L. Hill, District 12 Delegate Marvin E. Holmes, Jr., District 23 Delegate Julian Ivey, District 47A Delegate Carl Jackson, District 8 Delegate Andre V. Johnson, Jr., District 34A Delegate Adrienne A. Jones, District 10 Delegate Jazz Lewis, District 24 Delegate Robbyn Lewis, District 46 Delegate Jeffrie E. Long, Jr., District 27B Delegate Ashanti Martinez, District 22 Delegate Aletheia McCaskill, District 44B Delegate Bernice Mireku-North, District 14 Delegate Cheryl E. Pasteur, District 11A Delegate Edith J. Patterson, District 28 Delegate Joseline Peña-Melnyk, District 21 Delegate N. Scott Phillips, District 10 Delegate Pamela Queen, District 14 Delegate Kent Roberson, District 25 Delegate Denise G. Roberts, District 25 Delegate Mike Rogers, District 32 Delegate Malcolm P. Ruff, District 41 Delegate Sheree Sample-Hughes, District 37A Delegate Gary Simmons, District 12B Delegate Deni Taveras, District 47B Delegate Kym Taylor, District 23 Delegate Veronica Turner, District 26 Delegate Jennifer White Holland, District 10

Delegate Nicole A. Williams, District 22 Delegate C.T. Wilson, District 28 Delegate Greg Wims, District 39 Delegate Caylin Young, District 45