Chair Shannon Bebe-Thomas, Community Bridges

Vice Chair

Victoria Leonard, Mind Pro

Secretary

Alan Bowser, MC Civic Federation **Treasurer**

Tim Price, Ethridge, Quinn, Kemp, Rowan & Hartinger

Executive Committee

Steve Simon, Universities at Shady Grove

Kenneth Nelson, Seneca Community Church

Ray Sherbill, Lerch, Early, & Brewer

Immediate Past Chair

Marjorie Goldman, Member-at-Large

Board of Directors

Lisa Blackwell, MCGEO Local 1994

Bonnie Casper, At Large Elaine Chang, MCPS Partnership Unit

Edward Cooper, Total Wine and More

Hoan Dang, Asian American Political Alliance

Fred Evans, MCPS Retirees Assn Janice Freeman, African

American Chambers

William Frick, The Frick Firm Christine Handy,

MCAAP/MCBOA

Mathew Hoffman, Town of Kensington

Daniel Koroma, Friends of White Oak

Carmen Larson, Aquas, Inc Omar Lazo, Los Chorros Restaurant

Brian Levine, Montgomery County Chamber of Commerce

Matthew Losak, Renters Alliance Jennifer Martin, MCEA

Gabe Martinez-Cabrera, Literary Council MCMD

Sally Murek, SEIU Local 500

Jason Naijoum, Imagination Sta

Jason Najjoum, Imagination Stage Samir Paul, At-Large

Dana Pauley, Leadership Montgomery

William Roberts, Center for American Progress

Shane Rock, Jewish Council for Aging

Paula Ross, Gaithersburg-Germantown Chamber of Commerce

Brad Stewart, Montgomery College

Gilberto Zelaya, UFCW



February 27, 2024

The Honorable Senator Bill Ferguson President Maryland Senate H-107 State House 100 State Circle Annapolis, MD 21401 The Honorable Adrienne A. Jones Speaker of the House Maryland House of Delegates H-101, State House 100 State Circle Annapolis, MD 21401

SUPPORT WITH AMENDMENTS

SB0362/HB0352 Budget Reconciliation and Financing Act of 2024

Dear Senator President Ferguson and Speaker Jones,

All of Maryland's community colleges are engines of opportunity and economic growth, the Committee for Montgomery, asks you to reject the proposed \$22.6 million reduction to Maryland's community colleges in FY25 and the permanent reductions to funding for community colleges in future years under the Budget Reconciliation and Financing Act of 2024. Instead, please protect the Senator John R. Cade Funding Formula (Cade) and use the formula to calculate state aid to community colleges in FY25 and beyond.

Today, Montgomery College creates ready workers for in-demand jobs like nurses, cyber security techs, and lab bench workers. Their alumni are also job creators, exemplified by Carl Buch, president of Buch Construction, and Sol Graham, the founder of Quality Biologic, Inc. MC alumni stay here and invest in our communities. So, we ask you to continue to invest in Montgomery College.

We ask to invest in the 40,000 students at MC, whose largest cohorts of credit students are Black (25.4%) and Hispanic (29%) students. MC is currently the *only* federally designated Hispanic Serving Institution in Maryland.

Additionally, we ask you to invest because enrollment is up! Fall credit enrollment is up 4% from last fall, while enrollment for the spring semester is up 5% over last spring.

The data also tells us that continued investment is warranted to serve our students equitably—to take down the barriers to college completion. Programs outside the classroom are as important as what happens inside a classroom to mitigate barriers to success and drive such equity, as envisioned in the College and Career Readiness and College Completion Act of 2013.

And finally, MC opens doors to opportunity for so many residents. Many students struggle to afford tuition. More than 60% of MC students attend part-time often to juggle finances, work, and family. The household income of MC's Pell Grant recipients is \$28,000. This is why state aid is so crucial.

Thank you for your consideration. The Committee for Montgomery (CfM) asks you to protect the Cade formula and continue to invest in Maryland's community colleges and its students—you will open doors to opportunity and fuel the workforce with homegrown talent.

Sincerely yours,

- DocuSigned by:

Sharnon Babe Thomas

Shannon Babe Thomas, Chair

DocuSigned by:
Kenneth Nelson
43B16C22D0FC4E2...

Kenneth Nelson, Issues Chair

cc: Senator Nancy J. King, Delegate Jared Solomon, Delegate Sarah Wolek

<u>Director</u> Debra Liverpool