

CALVERT COUNTY BOARD OF COUNTY COMMISSIONERS

175 Main Street Prince Frederick, Maryland 20678 410-535-1600 • 301-855-1243 www.calvertcountymd.gov *Board of Commissioners* Mark C. Cox Sr. Catherine M. Grasso Earl F. Hance Mike Hart Todd Ireland

January 23, 2024

The Honorable Senator Brian J. Feldman, Chair Education, Energy, and the Environment Committee 2 West Miller Senate Office Building Annapolis, MD 21401

Re: SB0012 - College of Southern Maryland - Board of Trustees Membership - Alterations

Senator Feldman:

The Board of County Commissioners for Calvert County joins the College of Southern Maryland and writes to also **OPPOSE SB0012** and ask the Committee for an **UNFAVORABLE REPORT**.

Charles County Community College served Calvert and St. Mary's counties under operational agreements until 1999 <u>Laws of Maryland</u> Ch. 695 created the regional College of Southern Maryland. The College of Southern Maryland has as its governing body a Board of Trustees. There are nine Trustees, three from each county, each appointed by the governor. Because the leadership of the College of Southern Maryland do not support the change in the structure of its Trustees, we likewise, do not support an inequitable increase in the allocation of seats.

Should you have any questions or require further information, please do not hesitate to contact County Administrator Julian M. Willis at 410-535-1600, extension 2201, or County Attorney John Norris at 410-535-1600, extension 2566. Thank you for your kind consideration of our position regarding this important Bill.

Sincerely, BOARD OF COUNTY COMMISSIONERS CALVERT COUNTY, MARYLAND

en

Earl F. Hance, President

1140

Catherine M. Grasso, Viee President

Mark C. Cox Sr

Mike Hart

cc: The Honorable Senator Michael Jackson The Honorable Senator Jack Bailey