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Delegate Marc A. Korman

Chairman, House Environment and Transportation Committee
House Office Building — Room 251

Annapolis, MD 21401

Mr. Chairman,
I am writing in favor of HB 913 — Motor Vehicles — Registration — Annual Surcharge.

The Transportation Trust Fund (TTF) funds the Maryland Department of Transportation (MDOT). This
allows the state to provide various government services including the Maryland Transit Administration
and the Motor Vehicle Administration.! Primary sources of funds for the TTF include motor fuel taxes
and motor vehicle fees. When MDOT’s operations require more funding than the TTF has to offer, the
Department begins using General Revenue to offset these shortfalls.? With the widespread adoption of
electric vehicles (EVs) and more efficient internal combustion engine (ICE) vehicles in Maryland, the
fuel tax revenue has been on a downward trend. As of January 31, 2024, 95,233 EVs have been
registered in the state.® Just over 10 years ago, there were only 609 EVs in MD.*

HB 913 requires the owner of a fuel cell electric vehicle to pay a certain annual surcharge in addition to
the annual registration fee. Vehicles with internal combustion engines are also subject to the surcharge
because unlike EVs, ICE vehicles continue to emit greenhouse gasses into our atmosphere. According to
the U.S. Department of Energy, there are approximately 4.4 million gasoline-powered vehicles in the
state.> Since a typical passenger vehicle emits about 4.6 metric tons of carbon dioxide per year, this
would amount to over 20 million metric tons of carbon dioxide per year, not to mention, emissions of
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other pollutants such as nitrogen oxides (NOx) and sulfur oxides (SOx) and inhalable particulate matters
like PM2.5 and PM10.°

The proceeds collected from the surcharge would be deposited into the Transportation Trust Fund,
where it’1l be utilized to meet transportation service and infrastructure needs. Additionally, this bill
would require the Motor Vehicle Administration (MVA) to refuse to register or renew the registration of
a motor vehicle for failure to pay the surcharge.

Several states have adopted annual fees to account for the loss in revenue for transportation
infrastructure. Most notably, West Virginia established the Alternative Fuel Vehicle Fee in 2022,
requiring owners of electric vehicles to pay an annual fee of $200.” Similarly, Pennsylvania’s legislature
is working on a bill that would require electric vehicle owners to pay a yearly flat fee.® Fees have
already been enforced across the country, ranging from $105 to $213.7 in states such as Missouri,
California, North Carolina, and Georgia.®

As we continue to transition to EVs, it is important to address the depletion of fuel tax revenue. Without
sufficient funds, MDOT lacks enough resources to effectively maintain our roads and clean our
highways. By requiring an annual surcharge on all vehicles in Maryland, we can ensure everyone is
paying their fair share to repair our roads and environment.
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