

MAYOR

Fazlul Kabir

fkabir@collegeparkmd.gov 202.961.9599

DISTRICT 1

Jacob T. Hernandez

jhernandez@collegeparkmd.gov 202.868.1687

Alan Y. Hew

ahew@collegeparkmd.gov 240.478.9752

DISTRICT 2

Llatetra Brown Esters

lbesters@collegeparkmd.gov 240.636.3584

Susan L. Whitney

swhitney@collegeparkmd.gov 202.603.3634

DISTRICT 3

Stuart Adams

sadams@collegeparkmd.gov 202.815.8277

John B. Rigg

jrigg@collegeparkmd.gov 443.646.3503

DISTRICT 4

Maria E. Mackie

mmackie@collegeparkmd.gov 202.993.0395

Denise C. Mitchell

Mayor Pro Tem

dmitchell@collegeparkmd.gov 301.852.8126 February 6, 2024

Delegate Marc Korman, Chair Environment and Transportation Committee Room 251 House Office Building Annapolis, MD 21401

RE: <u>Support for House Bill 0212 - Vehicle Laws - Noise Abatement Monitoring Systems - Authorization</u>

Dear Chair Korman and Committee Members:

The College Park City Council voted unanimously during the meeting of January 23, 2024, to support HB 0212, which would authorize the use of noise abatement monitoring systems in Anne Arundel County, Montogomery County, and Prince George's County. We appreciate the sponsors who have brought forward this legislation.

Our neighborhoods have suffered from disturbances due to vehicles with illegal modified mufflers. These actions harm communities and waste resources to discourage the offenders. HB 212 will provide additional tools to effectively enforce certain motor vehicle noise requirements.

Thank you for your consideration of the City's position.

Sincerely,

Fazlul Kabir Mayor

S. m. farlet Kolin

cc: Maryland 21st District Delegation