

EXECUTIVE OFFICERS Chair Delegate Jheanelle Wilkins, District 20 Ist Vice Chair Delegate Melissa Wells, District 40 2nd Vice Chair Delegate Karen R. Toles, District 25

Treasurer Delegate Marlon Amprey, District 40

Secretary Delegate Jamila J. Woods, District 26

Financial Secretary Senator Mary L. Washington, District 43

Chaplain Senator Joanne C. Benson, District 24

Parliamentarian Delegate Stephanie Smith, District 45

Executive Director Ufuoma O. Agarin, J.D.

MEMBERS

Senator Malcolm Augustine, District 47 Senator Benjamin Brooks, District 10 Senator Jill P. Carter, District 41 Senator Nick Charles, District 25 Senator Arthur Ellis, District 28 Senator Antonio L. Hayes, District 40 Senator Michael A. Jackson, District 27 Senator Cory V. McCray, District 45 Senator C. Anthony Muse, District 26 Senator William C. Smith, Jr., District 20 Senator Charles E. Sydnor III, Esq., District 44 Senator Alonzo T. Washington, District 22 Senator Ron Watson, District 23 Delegate Gabriel Acevero, District 39 Delegate Jacqueline T. Addison, District 45 Delegate Tiffony Alston, District 24 Delegate Vanessa E. Atterbeary, District 13 Delegate J. Sandy Bartlett, District 32 Delegate Adrian Boafo, District 23 Delegate Regina T. Boyce, District 43A Delegate Frank M. Conaway, Jr., District 40 Delegate Charlotte Crutchfield, District 19 Delegate Debra Davis, District 28 Delegate Diana M. Fennell, District 47A Delegate Kevin M. Harris, District 27A Delegate Andrea Fletcher Harrison, District 24 Delegate Shaneka Henson, District 30A Delegate Terri L. Hill, District 12 Delegate Marvin E. Holmes, Jr., District 23 Delegate Julian Ivey, District 47A Delegate Carl Jackson, District B Delegate Andre V. Johnson, Jr., District 34A Delegate Adrienne A. Jones, District 10 Delegate Jazz Lewis, District 24 Delegate Robbyn Lewis, District 46 Delegate Jeffrie E. Long, Jr., District 27B Delegate Ashanti Martinez, District 22 Delegate Aletheia McCaskill, District 44B Delegate Bernice Mireku-North, District 14 Delegate Cheryl E. Pasteur, District 11A Deleagte Edith J. Patterson, District 28 Delegate Joseline Peña-Melnyk, District 21 Delegate N. Scott Phillips, District 10 Delegate Pamela Queen, District 14 Delegate Kent Roberson, District 25 Delegate Denise G. Roberts, District 25 Delegate Mike Rogers, District 32 Delegate Malcolm P. Ruff, District 41 Delegate Sheree Sample-Hughes, District 37A Delegate Gary Simmons, District 12B Delegate Deni Taveras, District 47B Delegate Kym Taylor, District 23 Delegate Veronica Turner, District 26 Delegate Jennifer White Holland, District 10 Delegate Nicole A. Williams, District 22 Delegate C.T. Wilson, District 28 Delegate Greg Wims, District 39 Delegate Caylin Young, District 45

LEGISLATIVE BLACK CAUCUS OF MARYLAND, INC.

The Maryland House of Delegates, 6 Bladen Street, Room 300, Annapolis, Maryland 21401 410-841-3185 • 301-858-3185 • 800-492-7122 Ext. 3185 • Fax 410-841-3175 • 301-858-3175 • Black.Caucus@house.state.md.us

March 7, 2024

Chairman Marc Korman 6 Bladen Street, House Office Building Annapolis, Maryland 21401

Dear Chairman Korman and Members of the Environment and Transportation Committee,

The Legislative Black Caucus of Maryland has voted to offer favorable support for House Bill 1090 – Revitalizing Neighborhoods Through Homeownership Program and Fund – Established, a bill that will establish the Revitalizing Neighborhoods Through Homeownership Program, in addition to a fund under the Department of Housing and Community Development (DHCD). The bill will provide financial assistance in the form of loans to those who are seeking to purchase and renovate any property under the U.S. Department of Housing and Urban Development (HUD) for resale to low- and moderate-income homebuyers.

Across the United States, Black homeownership continues to fall behind white homeownership. While the homeownership rate in general has increased to 65.5% in 2021, the number of Black homeowners (44%) is still smaller than that of white homeowners (72%). It has only slightly increased by 0.4% within the last 10 years and is 28 percentage points less than that of white Americans.

The racial disparities in homeownership in Maryland remain visible. Black residents in Maryland make up only 46.2% of all homeowners compared to white Maryland residents, who make 76.3%. The discrepancies in homeownership are attributed to different forms of longstanding housing discrimination in Maryland, including redlining, racial covenants, racial steering, and white flight.

House Bill 1090 will create the Revitalizing Neighborhoods Through Homeownership Program to allow individuals to revamp old or abandoned properties to be resold to low- and moderate-income people in Maryland. Black first-time homeowners will be able to acquire affordable housing and be on pace to meet the homeownership rate of their white counterparts. For these reasons, the Legislative Black Caucus of Maryland supports **House Bill 1090** and asks that you vote favorably on this bill.

Legislative Black Caucus of Maryland