

# LEGISLATIVE BLACK CAUCUS OF MARYLAND, INC.

The Maryland House of Delegates, 6 Bladen Street, Room 300, Annapolis, Maryland 21401 410-841-3185 • 301-858-3185 • 800-492-7122 Ext. 3185 • Fax 410-841-3175 • 301-858-3175 • Black Caucus@house.state.md.us

March 5, 2024

Chairman Marc Korman Environment & Transporation Cmte. 251 House Office Building Annapolis, Maryland 21401

Dear Chairman Korman and Members of the Committee,

The Legislative Black Caucus of Maryland offers strong favorable support for House Bill 1274 - Landlord and Tenant - Failure to Pay Rent - Evidence of Notice to Tenant. This bill is on the 2024 legislative priority agenda of the Black Caucus.

Current law passed by the Maryland General Assembly states that prior to filing a failure to pay rent action against a tenant, a landlord must provide written notice to the tenant of the landlord's intent to file a claim to recover possession of the residential premises if the tenant does not cure within 10 days after the notice is provided.

The notice from a landlord must be in a form created by the Judiciary and occurs once the notice is (1) sent by first-class mail; (2) affixed to the door of the premises; or (3) if elected by the tenant, delivered by either electronic mail message, text message, or an electronic tenant portal.

House Bill 1274 adds a requirement that a landlord when filing a complaint in a failure to pay rent action must include evidence in the complaint that the landlord has provided the tenant with prior notice of the intent to file, as required under existing statute. This adds a layer of protection for both the Landlord and the Tenant.

Evidence of notice prior to filing a complaint is a necessary protection for tenants across the State of Maryland. In a time where the cost of living continues to rise, it is crucially important that individuals and families are provided with requisite notice and are protected if such notice is not provided. In receiving notice of an intent to file complaint for failure to pay rent, Marylanders are afforded time and opportunity to plan, adjust, and/or rectify. This bill will establish that protection by reinforcing the current law by requiring a landlord to provide due notice to their tenants—furthering efforts that bolster security, project financial impact, and abate hardship and home insecurity for constituents throughout Maryland. For these reasons, the Legislative Black Caucus of Maryland supports House Bill 1274 and asks that you vote favorably on this bill.

Legislative Black Caucus of Maryland

#### **EXECUTIVE OFFICERS**

Delegate Jheanelle Wilkins, District 20

### 1st Vice Chair

Delegate Melissa Wells, District 40

#### 2nd Vice Chair

Delegate Karen R. Toles, District 25

#### Treasurer

Delegate Marlon Amprey, District 40

#### Secretary

Delegate Jamila J. Woods, District 26

# Financial Secretary

Senator Mary L. Washington, District 43

### Chaplain

Senator Joanne C. Benson, District 24

#### Parliamentarian

Delegate Stephanie Smith, District 45

# **Executive Director**

Ufuoma O. Agarin, J.D.

**MEMBERS** Senator Malcolm Augustine, District 47 Senator Benjamin Brooks, District 10 Senator Jill P. Carter, District 41 Senator Nick Charles, District 25 Senator Arthur Ellis, District 28 Senator Antonio L. Hayes, District 40 Senator Michael A. Jackson, District 27 Senator Cory V. McCray, District 45 Senator C. Anthony Muse, District 26 Senator William C. Smith, Jr., District 20 Senator Charles E. Sydnor III, Esq., District 44 Senator Alonzo T. Washington, District 22 Senator Ron Watson, District 23 Delegate Gabriel Acevero, District 39 Delegate Jacqueline T. Addison, District 45 Delegate Tiffany Alston, District 24 Delegate Vanessa E. Atterbeary, District 13 Delegate J. Sandy Bartlett, District 32 Delegate Adrian Boafo, District 23 Delegate Regina T. Boyce, District 43A Delegate Frank M. Conaway, Jr., District 40 Delegate Charlotte Crutchfield, District 19 Delegate Debra Davis, District 28 Delegate Diana M. Fennell, District 47A Delegate Kevin M. Harris, District 27A Delegate Andrea Fletcher Harrison, District 24 Delegate Shaneka Henson, District 30A Delegate Terri L. Hill, District 12 Delegate Marvin E. Holmes, Jr., District 23 Delegate Julian Ivey, District 47A Delegate Carl Jackson, District 8 Delegate Andre V. Johnson, Jr., District 34A Delegate Adrienne A. Jones, District 10 Delegate Jazz Lewis, District 24 Delegate Robbyn Lewis, District 46 Delegate Jeffrie E. Long, Jr., District 27B Delegate Ashanti Martinez, District 22 Delegate Aletheia McCaskill, District 44B Delegate Bernice Mireku-North, District 14 Delegate Cheryl E. Pasteur, District 11A Delegate Edith J. Patterson, District 28 Delegate Joseline Peña-Melnyk, District 21 Delegate N. Scott Phillips, District 10 Delegate Pamela Queen, District 14 Delegate Kent Roberson, District 25 Delegate Denise G. Roberts, District 25 Delegate Mike Rogers, District 32 Delegate Malcolm P. Ruff, District 41 Delegate Sheree Sample-Hughes, District 37A Delegate Gary Simmons, District 12B Delegate Deni Taveras, District 47B Delegate Kym Taylor, District 23 Delegate Veronica Turner, District 26 Delegate Jennifer White Holland, District 10

Delegate Nicole A. Williams, District 22 Delegate C.T. Wilson, District 28 Delegate Greg Wims, District 39 Delegate Caylin Young, District 45