St. Mary's County Government

COMMISSIONERS OF ST. MARY'S COUNTY



James R. Guy, President Michael R. Alderson, Jr., Commissioner Eric Colvin, Commissioner Michael L. Hewitt, Commissioner Scott R. Ostrow, Commissioner

House Bill 1436

Municipal Incorporation - County Commissioners or County Council - Required Approval of Referendum Request

OPPOSE

March 12, 2024

Delegate Marc Korman, Chairman Environment and Transportation Committee Room 25, House Office Building 6 Bladen Street Annapolis, MD 21401

Dear Chairman Korman:

The Commissioners of St. Mary's County **OPPOSE** "HB 1436 - Municipal Incorporation - County Commissioners or County Council - Required Approval of Referendum Request" which was heard in the Environment and Transportation Committee.

We oppose HB 1436 and request an unfavorable report. This legislation does not benefit the citizens of St. Mary's County. We look forward to working with you on this and other initiatives throughout the session.

Sincerely,

COMMISSIONERS OF ST. MARY'S COUNTY

James Randy Guy, President

CSMC/AB/sf T:/Consent/2024/055

Cc: Senator Jack Bailey

Delegate Matthew Morgan Delegate Todd Morgan Delegate Brian Crosby

Commissioner Mike Alderson, Jr.

Commissioner Eric Colvin

Commissioner Michael Hewitt

Commissioner Scott R. Ostrow

David Weiskopf, County Administrator

John Sterling Houser, Deputy County Attorney

P.O. BOX 653 • CHESAPEAKE BUILDING • 41770 BALDRIDGE ST., LEONARDTOWN, MD 20650 PHONE 301.475.4200 EXT. 71350 • FAX 301.475.4935 • www.stmarysmd.com • CSMC@STMARYSCOUNTY.GOV