

LEGISLATIVE BLACK CAUCUS OF MARYLAND, INC.

The Maryland House of Delegates, 6 Bladen Street, Room 300, Annapolis, Maryland 21401 410-841-3185 ◆ 301-858-3185 ◆ 800-492-7122 Ext. 3185 ◆ Fax 410-841-3175 ◆ 301-858-3175 ◆ Black.Caucus@house.state.md.us

March 5, 2024

Chairwoman Joseline A. Peña-Melnyk 6 Bladen Street, House Office Building Annapolis, Maryland 21401

Dear Chairwoman Peña-Melnyk and Members of the Health and Government Operations Committee,

The Legislative Black Caucus of Maryland offers strong favorable support for House Bill 1051 – Maternal Health – Assessments, Referrals, and Reporting (Maryland Maternal Health Act of 2024), a bill that establishes requirements for hospitals to conduct risk assessments regarding maternal, prenatal, and postpartum infant health. It also establishes a Maryland Report Card for Birthing Facility Maternal Care to be used for determining the quality of care received at a hospital or birthing center. This bill is on the 2024 legislative priority agenda of the Black Caucus.

In the United States, Black women are 3 times more likely to die during and after childbirth compared to women of other races and ethnicities. Longstanding racism and misogynoir in healthcare have led to Black women's physical pain during and after pregnancy being dismissed or ignored altogether.

Maryland continues to see similar issues with how race and racism affect maternal mortality. Between 2010 and 2018, Black women had a significantly higher pregnancy-related death rate (30.2%) contrasted with white counterparts (11.4%). Additionally, for Black women in Maryland who survive pregnancy and childbirth, their children are 1.4 times more likely to be born prematurely (13.1 babies per 100,000) and are 1.5 times more likely to die post-birth (9.2 babies per 100,000).

House Bill 1051 will require all hospitals and freestanding birthing centers across Maryland to implement risk assessments for maternal, prenatal, and postpartum infant health. It will also require the Secretary of Health and the Maryland Health Care Commission to develop a scoring system to determine the quality of care that Black mothers and babies receive at these facilities. For these reasons, the Legislative Black Caucus of Maryland supports **House Bill 1051** and asks that you vote favorably on this bill.

Legislative Black Caucus of Maryland

EXECUTIVE OFFICERS

Chair

Delegate Jheanelle Wilkins, District 20

1st Vice Chair

Delegate Melissa Wells, District 40

2nd Vice Chair

Delegate Karen R. Toles, District 25

Treasurer

Delegate Marlon Amprey, District 40

Secretary

Delegate Jamila J. Woods, District 26

Financial Secretary

Senator Mary L. Washington, District 43

Chaplain

Senator Joanne C. Benson, District 24

Parliamentarian

Delegate Stephanie Smith, District 45

Executive Director

Ufuoma O. Agarin, J.D.

MEMBERS

Senator Malcolm Augustine, District 47 Senator Benjamin Brooks, District 10 Senator Jill P. Carter, District 41 Senator Nick Charles, District 25 Senator Arthur Ellis, District 28 Senator Antonio L. Hayes, District 40 Senator Michael A. Jackson, District 27 Senator Cory V. McCray, District 45 Senator C. Anthony Muse, District 26 Senator William C. Smith, Jr., District 20 Senator Charles E. Sydnor III, Esq., District 44 Senator Alonzo T. Washington, District 22 Senator Ron Watson, District 23 Delegate Gabriel Acevero, District 39 Delegate Jacqueline T. Addison, District 45 Delegate Tiffany Alston, District 24 Delegate Vanessa E. Atterbeary, District 13 Delegate J. Sandy Bartlett, District 32 Delegate Adrian Boafo, District 23 Delegate Regina T. Boyce, District 43A Delegate Frank M. Conaway, Jr., District 40 Delegate Charlotte Crutchfield, District 19 Delegate Debra Davis, District 28 Delegate Diana M. Fennell, District 47A Delegate Kevin M. Harris, District 27A Delegate Andrea Fletcher Harrison, District 24 Delegate Shaneka Henson, District 30A Delegate Terri L. Hill, District 12 Delegate Marvin E. Holmes, Jr., District 23 Delegate Julian Ivey, District 47A Delegate Carl Jackson, District 8 Delegate Andre V. Johnson, Jr., District 34A Delegate Adrienne A. Jones, District 10 Delegate Jazz Lewis, District 24 Delegate Robbyn Lewis, District 46 Delegate Jeffrie E. Long, Jr., District 27B Delegate Ashanti Martinez, District 22 Delegate Aletheia McCaskill, District 44B Delegate Bernice Mireku North, District 14 Delegate Cheryl E. Pasteur, District 11A Delegate Edith J. Patterson, District 28 Delegate Joseline Peña-Melnyk, District 21 Delegate N. Scott Phillips, District 10 Delegate Pamela Queen, District 14 Delegate Kent Roberson, District 25 Delegate Denise G. Roberts, District 25 Delegate Mike Rogers, District 32 Delegate Malcolm P. Ruff, District 41 Delegate Sheree Sample-Hughes, District 37A Delegate Gary Simmons, District 12B Delegate Deni Taveras, District 47B Delegate Kym Taylor, District 23 Delegate Veronica Turner, District 26 Delegate Jennifer White Holland, District 10 Delegate Nicole A. Williams, District 22 Delegate C.T. Wilson, District 28

Delegate Greg Wims, District 39 Delegate Caylin Young, District 45