

LEGISLATIVE BLACK CAUCUS OF MARYLAND, INC. The Manufacity of Delegates & Bladen Street Room 300 Appropris Manufacity April 27401

The Maryland House of Delegates, 6 Bladen Street, Room 300, Annapolis, Maryland 21401 410-841-3185 ● 301-858-3185 ● 800-492-7122 Ext. 3185 ● Fax 410-841-3175 ● 301-858-3175 ● Black.Caucus@house.state.md.us

March 7, 2024

White 1, 20

Chairman William C. Smith, Jr. 2 East Miller Senate Office Building Annapolis, Maryland 21401

Dear Chairman Smith and Members of the Judicial Proceedings Committee,

The Legislative Black Caucus of Maryland offers strong favorable support for Senate Bill 635 – Landlords and Prospective Tenants – Residential Leases – Criminal History Review (Maryland Fair Chance in Housing Act), a bill lowering the number of years of criminal history reviewed in a reusable tenant screening report from 7 years to 3 years. Senate Bill 635 will also require landlords to provide a physical copy of a lease application denial that states each reason for the denial. This bill is on the 2024 legislative priority agenda of the Black Caucus.

As seen across the United States, a person's criminal history can be a major barrier to finding housing. For Black prospective renters with a criminal background in Maryland, racial discrimination in the housing/rental market makes this a more arduous task.

People of color in Maryland, specifically Black people, are disproportionately affected by rental applicant screenings that include a criminal background check. The disproportionate number of arrests of Black people lends itself to the disadvantages that Black renters face when applying for a rental property. Even when these screenings are equally applied to everyone regardless of race or ethnicity, landlords have used discriminatory loopholes, including signaling and preferential treatment, in order to deny housing to Black applicants.

Senate Bill 635 will ensure that Black renters in Maryland will have an equal opportunity to access rental housing, regardless of their criminal history. This bill will require that landlords offer concrete reasons to deny a person the ability to rent their property. For these reasons, the Legislative Black Caucus of Maryland supports **Senate Bill 635** and asks that you vote favorably on this bill.

Legislative Black Caucus of Maryland

EXECUTIVE OFFICERS

Chair

Delegate Jheanelle Wilkins, District 20

1st Vice Chair

Delegate Melissa Wells, District 40

2nd Vice Chair

Delegate Karen R. Toles, District 25

Treasurer

Delegate Marlon Amprey, District 40

Secretary

Delegate Jamila J. Woods, District 26

Financial Secretary

Senator Mary L. Washington, District 43

Chaplain

Senator Joanne C. Benson, District 24

Parliamentarian

Delegate Stephanie Smith, District 45

Executive Director

Ufuoma O. Agarin, J.D.

MEMBERS

Senator Malcolm Augustine, District 47 Senator Benjamin Brooks, District 10 Senator Jill P. Carter, District 41 Senator Nick Charles, District 25 Senator Arthur Ellis, District 28 Senator Antonio L. Hayes, District 40 Senator Michael A. Jackson, District 27 Senator Cory V. McCray, District 45 Senator C. Anthony Muse, District 26 Senator William C. Smith, Jr., District 20 Senator Charles E. Sydnor III, Esq., District 44 Senator Alanzo T. Washington, District 22 Senator Ron Watson, District 23 Delegate Gabriel Acevero, District 39 Delegate Jacqueline T. Addison, District 45 Delegate Tiffany Alston, District 24 Delegate Vanessa E. Atterbeary, District 13 Delegate J. Sandy Bartlett, District 32 Delegate Adrian Boafo, District 23 Delegate Regina T. Boyce, District 43A Delegate Frank M. Conaway, Jr., District 40 Delegate Charlotte Crutchfield, District 19 Delegate Debra Davis, District 28 Delegate Diana M. Fennell, District 47A Delegate Kevin M. Harris, District 27A Delegate Andrea Fletcher Harrison, District 24 Delegate Shaneka Henson, District 30A Delegate Terri L. Hill, District 12 Delegate Marvin E. Holmes, Jr., District 23 Delegate Julian Ivey, District 47A Delegate Carl Jackson, District 8 Delegate Andre V. Johnson, Jr., District 34A Delegate Adrienne A. Jones, District 10 Delegate Jazz Lewis, District 24 Delegate Robbyn Lewis, District 46 Delegate Jeffrie E. Long, Jr., District 27B Delegate Ashanti Martinez, District 22 Delegate Aletheia McCaskill, District 44B Delegate Bernice Mireku-North, District 14 Delegate Cheryl E. Pasteur, District 11A Delegate Edith J. Patterson, District 28 Delegate Joseline Peña-Melnyk, District 21 Delegate N. Scott Phillips, District 10 Delegate Pamela Queen, District 14 Delegate Kent Roberson, District 25 Delegate Denise G. Roberts, District 25 Delegate Mike Rogers, District 32 Delegate Malcolm P. Ruff, District 41 Delegate Sheree Sample-Hughes, District 37A Delegate Gary Simmons, District 12B Delegate Deni Taveras, District 47B Delegate Kym Taylor, District 23 Delegate Veronica Turner, District 26 Delegate Jennifer White Holland, District 10 Delegate Nicole A. Williams, District 22 Delegate C.T. Wilson, District 28

Delegate Greg Wims, District 39 Delegate Caylin Young, District 45