## The Alcohol Beverage Board of St. Mary's County

Board Members David L. Willenborg - Chairman Richard D. Watts - Vice-Chairman George Anas. - Member Richard Shin- Member

P.O. Box 653 41650 Tudor Hall Road Leonardtown, MD 20650 (301) 475-4200 x1600 Barbara Hill - Member E-Mail: tamara.hildebrand@stmaryscountymd.gov

Chris Beaver - Attorney Tamara E. Hildebrand - Board Administrator Suzan E. Dean - Administrative Coordinator Kevin M. Hall - Inspector Dep. Steve Myers - Alcohol Enforcement Coordinator

March 21, 2025

The Honorable Pamela Beidle Chair, Senate Finance Committee 3 East, Miller Senate Office Building Annapolis, MD 21401

RE: The Alcohol Beverage Board of St. Mary's County Support of Pending Legislation HB 486 - Civil Penalties for Sales

Dear Madam Chair Beidle:

The purpose of this letter is to memorialize the findings of The Alcohol Beverage Board of St. Mary's County and provide information to our lawmakers in Annapolis on the request for support of pending legislation for changes to the Annotated Code of Maryland, Alcoholic Beverages and Cannabis Article, affecting St. Mary's County.

The St. Mary's County Alcohol Beverage Board met on May 9, 2024, and unanimously voted to submit a proposal requesting an increase to the maximum civil penalty they may impose upon a business holding an alcoholic beverages license from \$1000 to \$2500.

The Alcohol Beverage Board believes the current fine limit of \$1000 is not an effective deterrent and increasing the maximum fine would encourage compliance, especially in the matter of underage sales.

Please contact me via the Board Administrator, Mrs. Tamara E. Hildebrand, at (301) 475-4200, ext. 1600, or at tamara.hildebrand@stmaryscountymd.gov for any additional information you may require.

Sincerely,

David Willenborg Chair ABBSMC