

County Commissioners:

James J. Moran, At Large Jack N. Wilson, Jr., District 1 J. Patrick McLaughlin, District 2 Philip L. Dumenil, District 3 Christopher M. Corchiarino, District 4

THE COUNTY COMMISSIONERS OF QUEEN ANNE'S COUNTY

The Liberty Building 107 North Liberty Street Centreville, MD 21617

e-mail: QACCommissioners&Administrator@qac.org

County Administrator: Todd R. Mohn, PE Executive Assistant to County Commissioners: Stephanie L. Jarrell County Attorney: Patrick Thompson, Esquire

March 25, 2025

The Honorable William Smith Chairman, Judicial Proceedings Committee 2 East Miller Street Senate Office Building Annapolis MD 21401

RE: HB1236 – Local Government - Queen Anne's County - Municipalities - Speed Limits SUPPORT

Dear Chairman Smith,

Please consider this letter of support for House Bill 1236. This bill would authorize municipalities in Queen Anne's County to decrease the maximum speed limit to not less than 15 miles per hour on highways **within their municipality** without performing an engineering and traffic investigation.

We support this legislation and urge a favorable recommendation.

Respectfully,

QUEEN ANNE'S COUNTY

BOARD OF COUNTY COMMISSIONERS

Christopher M. Corchiarino, President

Jack N. Wilson, Jr.

Philip L. Dumenil

James J. Moran

J. Patrick McLaughli