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The Pro Bono Resource Center of Maryland (“PBRC”), an independent 501(c)(3) non-profit organization, is
the statewide thought leader and clearinghouse for volunteer civil legal services in Maryland. As the
designated pro bono arm of the Maryland State Bar Association, PBRC provides training, mentorship, and pro
bono service opportunities to members of the private bar and offers direct legal services through free legal
clinics. PBRC supports HB 625 because it will facilitate the smooth transfer of homeownership among
families who may otherwise be at risk of losing the family home due to the expense and complexity of the
estate administration process.

Over the past ten years, PBRC has assisted approximately 900 homeowners at risk of losing their homes to tax
sale. For homeowners, ending up on the tax sale list is usually the result of the inability to pay one’s property
taxes, not an unwillingness. The clients served by our tax sale prevention clinics held in Baltimore represent
some our state’s most vulnerable citizens: a majority are seniors, over a third identify as disabled, at least
three-quarters identify as Black, and most reported annual household incomes of less than $30,000. Through
the advocacy of volunteer attorneys, many of these clients can access programs and credits that reduce their
property tax burden allowing them to stay in their homes. However, most Maryland homeowners are
unrepresented.

On average, our clients encountered in our tax sale clinics have owned their homes for over 25 years, and
generally over 70% own their homes free of a mortgage. As lower-income homeowners, the predominant
form of accumulated wealth that they have, and that they can pass on to their families, is the equity in their
homes. When homeowners pass away, the heirs to their home must open an estate and complete a lengthy
and sometimes complicated process to obtain proper title to the home; the requirements to transfer a deed
may force an unexpected and large expense on the family, and it is not an accessible process for many low-
income surviving families. As a result, many families remain unable to transfer the deed in their names for a
long time, if they ever do. This “tangled title” problem frequently lands families in tax sale. By allowing the
home to pass automatically to a designated beneficiary, these heir homeowners will be better positioned to
obtain title, avoid tax sale foreclosure, and keep their homes and the equity their families have worked so
hard to build.

HB 625 may protect certain Marylanders from the loss of their family home, thereby preserving
homeownership and the transfer of intergenerational wealth.

For the above reasons,

PBRC urges a FAVORABLE report on HB 625.

Please contact Allison Harris, Director of PBRC’s Home Preservation Project, with any questions.
aharris@probonomd.org ¢ 443-703-3050

1500 Union Ave. Baltimore. MD 21211 e 410-837-9379 e 800-396-1274 e fax 410-385-2626 e email pbrc@probonomd.org ¢ www.probonomd.org
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February 11, 2025

The Honorable Scott Phillips
House Judiciary Committee
Maryland House of Delegates
Room 100 House Office Building
6 Bladen Street

Annapolis, MD 21401

BY E-MAIL
RE: HB 625, Real Property — Transfer on Death Deed — Establishment
Dear Delegate Phillips:

I am Chair of the District of Columbia Uniform Law Commission and proposed the
Uniform Real Property Transfer on Death Act (URPTODA) to the Council of the District
of Columbia and testified in support of the Act both for the D.C. Commission and the
Executive Branch of the District Government. UPRTODA was passed by the Council
unanimously on two readings and signed by the Mayor of the District of Columbia and,
after laying before Congress, took effect as D.C. Law 19-230 on March 19, 2023. It is
codified at D.C. Code § 16-604.01 et seq.

I whole-heartedly support the enactment of HB 625, which would enact URPTODA in
Maryland. The Act has been in effect in the District for almost 12 years and has not
created any problems. It has been endorsed by the District’s Office of the Recorder of
Deeds and has been implemented by that Office without incident.

Although a couple of practitioners who were members of the D.C. Land Title Association
opposed URPTODA, we demonstrated that their concerns with the Act were not well
founded. They argued that recordation of a transfer on death (“TOD”) deed will cause
uncertainly where there are multiple deeds and will cause lenders not to make a loan.
However, we explained that there will be no uncertainty. D.C. Code § 19-611(a),
specifically addresses the multiple deed situation. Among several inconsistent recorded
TOD deeds, a later acknowledged deed revokes an earlier acknowledged deed. Lenders
will make loans because their interests are protected by § 19-613(b), which provides that
“la] beneficiary takes the property subject to all conveyances, encumbrances,
assignments, contracts, mortgages, liens, and other interests to which the property is
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subject at the transferor’s death.” The American Bankers Association had an observer
present and participating throughout the drafting of URPTODA and has had no problem
with it. Lenders routinely make loans without incident in the states that have this sort of
legislation in effect.

With respect to post-reverse mortgage transfers, recording a TOD deed is not a transfer
and has no effect whatsoever during the transferor’s lifetime. It is effective at death, the
same as a will. Moreover, a suspect deed is subject to challenge by interested parties
under general principles of fraud, undue influence, or similar grounds, just as any other
deed transferring property.

In addition, the practitioners argued that the TOD deed enables fraud upon the elderly.
We explained that this is not true. As the witness for AARP’s Legal Counsel for the
Elderly testified at the hearing in the District, URPTODA would help prevent fraud on
the elderly. Experience shows that, in states that authorize TOD transfers of real
property, this device is used more heavily by professional estate planners than by
individuals. Similarly, the TOD deed has more protections built into it than other devices
to which a person intent on defrauding might resort. These include the requirements that
the property owner making a TOD deed have the same capacity as required to make a
will, § 19-604.08, that the TOD deed have all of the essential elements and formalities of
a properly recordable inter vivos deed, § 19-604.09(a), and that the TOD deed be
recorded before the owner’s death with the Recorder of Deeds, § 19-604.09(c).

In sum, as reflected in the District’s 12 years’ experience, enactment of URPTODA has
proved beneficial to the residents of the District, especially low-income residents, who
cannot afford the costs of estate planning attorneys. None of the concerns expressed by
those who opposed the Act have materialized. Therefore, we hope that Maryland will
join its neighboring jurisdictions in enacting this important legislation.

Sincerely,

s T Y
Vetnen O YN o525

\

Chair
D.C. Uniform Law Commission
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HB 625 - Real Property - Transfer-on-Death Deed - Establishment
House Judiciary Committee
February 12, 2025
SUPPORT

Chair Clippinger, Vice-Chair and members of the committee thank you for the opportunity to
submit testimony in support of House Bill 625. This bill provides a critical mechanism for
homeowners to easily transfer real property to their heirs through the establishment of Transfer-
on-Death (TOD) deeds.

The CASH Campaign of Maryland promotes economic advancement for low-to-moderate income
individuals and families in Baltimore and across Maryland. CASH accomplishes its mission through
operating a portfolio of direct service programs, building organizational and field capacity, and leading
policy and advocacy initiatives to strengthen family economic stability. CASH and its partners across
the state achieve this by providing free tax preparation services through the IRS program ‘VITA’,
offering free financial education and coaching, and engaging in policy research and advocacy. Almost
4,000 of CASH’s tax preparation clients earn less than $10,000 annually. More than half earn less
than $20,000.

HB 625 promotes economic security and wealth preservation for low-income Maryland families by
simplifying the inheritance process. For many low-income households, homeownership is the most
significant asset they own that can create generational wealth. If the proper documentation is not in
place before the homeowner's death, the property will go through probate. The traditional probate
process can be costly, time-consuming, and inaccessible. This leads to additional financial strain and
the potential loss of generational wealth. The creation of TOD deeds under HB 625 allows property
owners to designate beneficiaries, ensuring a smooth transition of ownership without the need for
probate, excessive legal fees, or systematic delays.

HB 625 will help low-income families:

1. Enabling homeowners to pass on property outside of probate, this bill reduces the financial
burden on surviving family members, particularly those with limited resources.

2. Reducing obstacles in retaining inherited property due to complex legal and financial barriers.
TOD deeds provide a straightforward, low-cost solution.

3. Stabilizing communities by reducing property abandonment and ensuring continuity of
ownership.

4. Streamlining the legal process by eliminating the need for probate court intervention,
minimizing administrative delays and reducing court congestion.

By passing HB 625, Maryland will join a growing number of states that have adopted TOD deed
legislation to modernize estate planning and protect family assets.

Thus, we encourage you to return a favorable report for HB 625.

Creating Assets, Savings and Hope

575 5. CHARLES STREET  SUITE 500 BALTIMORE, MD 21201 TEL: 443-692-9487 FAX: 410-234-8929 CASHMD.ORG
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The Maryland House of Delegates
6 Bladen Street, Room 319
Annapolis, Maryland 21401
410-841-3358 - 301-858-3358

800-492-7122 Ext. 3358

N.Scott. Phillips@house.state.md.us

N. Scort PHiLLips, EsqQ.
Legislative District 10
Baltimore County

Judiciary Committee

THE MARYLAND HOUSE OF DELEGATES

ANNAPOLIS, MARYLAND 21401

Chairman Clippinger, Vice Chair Bartlett, and Members of the Committee,

| am Delegate N. Scott Phillips from the 10th Legislative District, and | am honored to appear before
you today to request a favorable report on HB0625, the Transfer of Deed Upon Death.

HB0625 is commonsense legislation that provides Maryland property owners with a simple,
straightforward option to pass on their homes and other real property to their loved ones or
beneficiaries without the need for a will. The Transfer of Deed is a short, notarized document filed
with the Recorder of Deeds that includes identifying information about the property owner, a
description of the property, and the designated beneficiaries. This simple form is already in use in
the District of Columbia, Virginia, and over thirty additional jurisdictions, where it has proven to be
an effective means of transferring title upon the death of the property owner without going through
probate.

This legislation will provide a vehicle for passing on property to beneficiaries without the
burdensome process of probate. Why is that important in Maryland?

1. Preserving Intergenerational Wealth: Homeownership is a critical way to build wealth,
particularly across generations. In areas with increasing property values, a home can
capture years of appreciated value. For many multi-generational households, the majority
of the family's wealth is tied up in the home. If the property is part of an estate with multiple
heirs, it may take years to gain clear title. Until a tangled title is resolved, access to that
wealth is restricted, and residents cannot fully leverage the home’s value or protect it for
future generations. Without a deed, they cannot sell the home or create an estate plan to
passiton.

2. Reducing Legal and Financial Barriers: Property heirs may not understand the probate
process required by law and often cannot afford an attorney to guide them through it.
Failure to go through probate can create additional problems. Heirs may live in a property
for years without transferring title, incurring property taxes and liens on unpaid taxes of the
deceased owner. When discovered, these debts may be insurmountable, making it difficult
to qualify for a mortgage or loan, often resulting in foreclosure.

3. Protecting Against Predatory Practices: Where there are multiple heirs, one heir can sell
their fractional interest to an investor, who can then petition the court for a partition sale of
the property—a tactic used by investors to acquire property at a fraction of its value.



4. Preventing Loss Due to Tax Liens: Tax liens are a common reason families lose their
property. If heirs are unaware of property tax obligations or utility liens, they can quickly fall
into delinquency, leading to foreclosure. In Maryland, when property taxes go unpaid, a lien
can be sold to a third party. The lienholder can demand repayment with high interest, fees,
and costs, which many heirs cannot afford. If unpaid, the lienholder can foreclose on the
property, stripping the heirs of their accumulated equity.

In short, each of these outcomes causes heirs to lose their family home and strips families of
intergenerational wealth, setting them back financially. The Pew Charitable Trust published a study
in August 2021 highlighting the prevalence of tangled titles in Philadelphia and the harsh
consequences for heirs inheriting homes without a will. The study found that more than 10,000
residential properties, collectively worth over $1 billion, were affected by tangled titles. The
neighborhoods most impacted were those with lower housing values, lower incomes, and higher
poverty rates.

Some argue that Maryland does not need a mechanism like Transfer on Death Deeds because
other mechanisms exist to transfer title without probate, such as life estates or revocable living
trusts. While these options are effective, they are complex legal instruments that typically require
an attorney knowledgeable in estate law, which can be costly and inaccessible for many families.

Transfer on Death Deeds have been adopted by 32 states and the District of Columbia, providing
residents with a simple, efficient, and cost-effective method for directing their inheritance. This
legislation will primarily benefit individuals and families with simple estates, offering them a
straightforward option to secure their beneficiaries' inheritance without unnecessary legal costs.
Maryland remains the only jurisdiction in the DMV without this simple, widely used mechanism.
The District of Columbia passed similar legislation in 2013 and has recorded over 250 Transfer on
Death deeds since the beginning of 2025.

Let’s give Maryland property owners the same advantage and a valuable tool to help preserve
intergenerational wealth.

Respectfully submitted,

N. Scott Phillips
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Chair Clippinger and distinguished members of the Committee, thank you for the
opportunity to testify in support of House Bill 0625, with sponsor amendments.

My name is Aisha Snead, and I am the Advance Planning Coordinator at the
Maryland Volunteer Lawyers Service (MVLS). MVLS is the oldest and largest
provider of pro bono civil legal services to low-income Marylanders. MVLS was
founded in 1981 by a group of concerned Maryland lawyers, legal services
providers, and leadership of the Maryland State Bar Association. Since then, our
statewide panel of over 1,700 volunteers has provided free legal services to over
100,000 Marylanders in a wide range of civil legal matters. In FY24, MVLS
volunteers and staff lawyers provided legal services to 2,950 people across the
state. Two of the areas MVLS provides legal services for are housing and estate
planning and administration. As part of our Advance Planning Project and My
Home, My Deed, My Legacy Project, we encounter numerous clients facing
economic barriers, such as probate fees, which make it difficult to transfer
property. Many low-income Baltimoreans are homeowners living in a family-
owned home and often the home is their greatest, and only, asset. A lack of
affordable access to estate planning, or tools to legally transfer the deed after the
owner dies is one of the largest vectors of housing loss. For the reasons
explained below, we respectfully request a favorable report on House Bill 0625
with sponsor amendments.

Our clients often face heirs’ property issues, an increased vulnerability to
housing loss and family instability, our communities, by systemic policies face
what often becomes vacant and blighted properties. In Baltimore City alone we
have over 15,000 vacant properties, some lost to property tax sales, others to the
innumerous cost of probate, some misclassified because it has an heir’s property
issue, and it is assumed that no one has taken ownership. One of the best
approaches to avoiding these barriers is through estate planning. Residential
property owners having affordable tools and streamlined processes to protect
their property and legally transfer it to their named heirs is prevention of the
former. Having a statutory Transfer on Death Deed is that tool. HB0625 will
allow homeowners to protect the future of their property, and the proposed
amendments will mitigate the risks of financial abuse from use of TODD.

201 N. Charles St., Ste. 1400 Baltimore, MD 21201 | www.mvlslaw.org | info@mvislaw.org | 410-539-6800

Maryland Volunteer Lawyers Service (MVLS) removes barriers to justice through free civil legal help, community engagement, and advocacy for

equitable laws. Our vision is for a fair legal system that is free of injustice and equitably serves underrepresented Marylanders.



Residents living on a fixed income often struggle to meet the financial burdens of
homeownership such as mortgage payments, property taxes, utility bills,
insurance, and home repairs. Many of these homes have been passed down for
multiple generations, without an estate being opened or a new deed recorded.
Without transfer of the deed after death, the house remains in the name of the
initial family member that may have even died 20 years ago or more. Most
residents have no idea they need to open an estate to transfer the property and
never do. Most residents will not have access to free legal services, and many
cannot afford legal representation to make an estate plan to transfer ownership
of their property upon death. Creation of a statutory transfer on death deed will
provide real property owners a standardized and affordable method to plan for
the disposition of their property.

When property transfer has not happened, subsequent heirs occupying a
property cannot access critical resources to help make maintaining the home
affordable, and it exacerbates their vulnerability to housing loss. MVLS, found by
research in partnership with The SOS Fund and Baltimore Neighborhood
Indicators Alliance, isolating a period of ten years between 2009 and 2019 in
Baltimore City, that approximately 3,300 homes have potential heirs’ property
issues. It is suspected that we will find this repeated several times over. These
estates become more complex and more difficult to unravel with the passing of
each generation. For a great many of our tangled title clients if they had an
accessible TODD just one generation ago, it would have cleared an immediate
path to homeownership, stability and wealth retention. HB 0625 represents a
meaningful step toward reducing the number of heirs' properties in the state
and areas that are vulnerable to housing loss, property tax sale and vacant
properties.

MVLS supports HB0625 with sponsor amendments because it is a critical piece
of legislation that seeks to empower Maryland homeowners with a simple and
accessible tool for estate planning: the Transfer-on-Death Deed (TODD). HB0625
will help preserve generational wealth, stabilize communities, and reduce
systemic inequities that impact historically disinvested neighborhoods. Chair
Clippinger and members of the Committee, thank you again for the opportunity
to testify.

201 N. Charles St., Ste. 1400 Baltimore, MD 21201 | www.mvlslaw.org | info@mvislaw.org | 410-539-6800
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Uniform Law Commission

NATIONAL CONFERENCE OF COMMISSIONERS ON UNIFORM STATE LAWS

Statement of Jane Sternecky, Legislative Counsel for the
Uniform Law Commission, to the Maryland House Judiciary Committee
in Support of HB 625, Establishing Real Property Transfer-on-Death Deeds

Chair Clippinger, Vice-Chair Bartlett, and Members of the Committee:

Thank you for the opportunity to testify in favor of HB 625 to enact the Uniform Real Property
Transfer on Death Act. HB 625 is based off of a uniform act drafted by the Uniform Law
Commission. There are some minor amendments that are needed before we can fully support this
bill and consider it to be a uniform enactment, but we have discussed this matter with Delegate
Phillips and believe the appropriate amendments will be made.

Over the past thirty years, there has been a significant increase in the use of various mechanisms
to transfer personal property at death without requiring probate. Some common examples of
personal property that can be transferred at death to a named beneficiary include proceeds from
life insurance policies and pension plans, securities registered in in transfer on death form, and
funds held in payable on death bank accounts. Marylanders routinely take advantage of this
modern legal trend to pass financial assets to a named beneficiary outside of probate, but there is
currently no such mechanism for real estate. To address this gap in the law, HB 625 would allow
Marylanders to transfer real estate to a named beneficiary at the time of the owner’s death and
outside of the probate process.

The Uniform Real Property Transfer on Death Act (URPTODA) was completed by the ULC and
recommended to the states in 2009. Today, 30 states, including Nebraska, South Dakota, Missouri,
Minnesota, Wisconsin, and Illinois, along with the District of Columbia, and the United States
Virgin  Islands,  permit
transfer on death (TOD)
deeds, and more states are
expected to follow suit.

URPTODA is not a substitute
for estate planning, and for
property owners with very
large or complex estates, it is
likely not the best solution.
However, for many smaller
estates in which a home is the
largest asset to be transferred
at death, a TOD deed is a

Unitorm Real Property
Transfer on Death Act
(200%)

B erccrea

B introduced in 2024
Substanticily
Similor Law

The ULC is a nonprofit formed in 1892 to create nonpartisan state legislation. Over 350 volunteer commissioners—Ilawyers,
judges, law professors, legislative staff, and others—work together to draft laws ranging from the Uniform Commercial Code to
acts on property, trusts and estates, family law, criminal law and other areas where uniformity of state law is desirable.



simple, effective tool that can be easily used by estate planning attorneys and other advisors. Let
me use an example to illustrate how a TOD deed works.

Katharine owns a house in Maryland worth $350,000, and she has only one child, David, to whom
she would like to leave the house with as little bother and expense as possible. She has very few
other assets to deal with, and no creditors. Under present law, Katharine has these options:

1. Leave the house to David in a Last Will and Testament. This will require a full probate
proceeding to transfer the title.

2. Leave the house to David by means of a living trust. This would avoid probate, but
requires drafting a trust, and transferring the title of the house to the trust. This is a
flexible and effective solution, but it is a relatively complex and expensive method of
transferring the property.

3. Deed the house now to David and herself as joint owners with survivorship rights.
David will inherit title at Katharine’s death, but there are other potential problems. For
example, if Katharine needs to sell the house to pay for an assisted living facility, David
now must agree to the terms of the sale. The house is also exposed to David’s creditors,
one of whom could try to obtain payment by forcing a partition sale.

If you enact this legislation, Katharine has a fourth, and much better option. She can execute a
TOD deed naming David as the beneficiary. The deed must be recorded in public land records
before Katharine’s death to be valid. While she is alive, Katharine retains 100% ownership of her
house, with full power to sell or mortgage the property, to name a new beneficiary, or to cancel
the TOD deed. If Katharine dies and the deed is still in effect, the property is automatically
transferred to her beneficiary, David, without a probate hearing.

URPTODA was developed with the assistance of the estate planning, real property, title insurance,
banking, and senior legal communities. The act has strong support nationally from the American
Bar Association’s Real Property Trust and Estate Section, the ABA Commission on Law and
Aging, the American College of Real Estate Lawyers, and AARP. In the states that have enacted
URPTODA, the questions we hear most often are “what took you so long” and “why didn’t we
have this available earlier?” Those are good questions.

In summary, HB 625 provides a simple and effective method to transfer real property at death —
the TOD deed. This bill would not prevent estate planners from using any of the other methods
now available when appropriate, but it would provide a new, affordable, and highly flexible tool,
and thus potentially save Marylanders hundreds of thousands of dollars, if not millions, in legal
fees and probate expenses.

We urge you to advance this bill to enact the Uniform Real Property Transfer of Death Act, and
we thank you for your consideration.



Key Provisions of HB 625

The Uniform Real Property Transfer on Death Act

Non-probate transfer: The TOD deed is not subject to the statute of wills and instead
passes title to real property directly to the named beneficiary without probate.

A familiar recording procedure: The TOD deed must contain all the essential elements

and formalities of a properly recordable deed, including a legally sufficient description
of the property to be transferred. The TOD deed must state that the transfer to the
beneficiary occurs on the transferor’s death and must be properly recorded during the
transferor’s lifetime in the office of the recorder of deeds where the property is located.

Almost anyone can have a TOD deed: The capacity required to execute a TOD deed is

the same as the capacity to make a will.

The transferor can change his or her mind: A TOD deed does not operate until the

transferor’s death and remains revocable until then. The transferor may revoke the
deed by recording a new instrument such as a direct revocation of the TOD deed, or a
subsequent TOD deed that names a different beneficiary. If the transferor sells the
property while alive, the TOD deed is ineffective.

No effect on property rights until the transferor dies: Until the transferor’s death, a

recorded TOD deed has no effect — it does not affect any right or interest of the
transferor or any other person in the property. The transferor retains full power to sell
or mortgage the property or to revoke the deed. The beneficiary has no legal or
equitable interest that could be subject to creditor’s claims. The deed does not affect
either the transferor’s or the beneficiary’s eligibility for public assistance and it does
not trigger mortgage acceleration clauses or property tax reassessments.

No obligation for the beneficiary: A designated beneficiary may disclaim all or part of

the transferred interest in the same manner as any other inherited property.
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MARYLAND HOUSE JUDICIARY COMMITTEE
TESTIMONY OF MARYLAND VOLUNTEER LAWYERS SERVICE
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TRANSFER-ON-DEATH DEED — ESTABLISHMENT
WEDNESDAY, FEBRUARY 12, 2025

Chair Clippinger and distinguished members of the Committee, thank you for
the opportunity to testify in support of House Bill 625 with amendments.

My name is Megan Good, and | am a Tangled Title Staff Attorney at Maryland
Volunteer Lawyers Service (MVLS). MVLS is the oldest and largest provider of
pro bono civil legal services to low-income Marylanders. Since MVLS’s
founding in 1981, our statewide panel of over 1,700 volunteers has provided free
legal services to over 100,000 Marylanders in a wide range of civil legal matters.
In FY24, MVLS volunteers and staff lawyers provided legal services to 2,950
people across the state.

Our Tangled Title team is committed to helping low-income families preserve
and pass on their family home. Clouded or tangled titles prove to be a significant
barrier for homeowners.

I am asking for your Support with Amendments of House Bill 625 because
the Transfer on Death Deed (TODD) is an important tool for enabling
homeowners to successfully plan for and pass legal title to their home.

Right now, thousands of families across Maryland are at a heightened risk of
losing their family home because the current homeowner’s name is not on the
deed. In other words, they have a “tangled title.” Tangled titles increase the risk
of housing loss because many programs designed to support low-income
homeowners — such as property tax credits and programs to support major home
repairs — are only accessible to individuals when their name is on the deed to the
home.

Tangled titles are preventable, and the TODD fills an unmet need for many
homeowners since it functions differently from a Will or a Life Estate Deed. It
offers attorneys and homeowners alike a new tool for addressing a property
owner’s interests, and its accessibility and ease of use are important for
removing barriers for homeowners to pass their property when they cannot
access legal services.

For the TODD to have its intended impact in Maryland, it must be available
to co-owners in addition to sole property owners. This bill’s current limitation
to only sole owners is contrary to the Uniform Real Property Transfer on Death

201 N. Charles St., Ste. 1400 Baltimore, MD 21201 | www.mvlslaw.org | info@mvislaw.org | 410-539-6800
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Act, and property owners who should be able to utilize this deed will not be able to do so. |
support an amendment broadening the use of the instrument to properties with multiple
owners.

For example, when co-owners hold property as Tenants in Common, an individual co-
owner’s share will NOT pass automatically to the other co-owners when one dies. When co-
owners do not have a will, and their property interests pass through intestacy, the title to the
property quickly fractures. We commonly work with clients whose homes are partially
owned by six, to eighteen, to 56 people. If a co-owner can record a TODD to provide for the
clean passage of their share, it can prevent titles from becoming tangled, or at least minimize
the complexity of ownership interests while a homeowner works to clear the title.

We are currently working with a client, Ms. S, who is helping her great Aunt preserve
the family home. Ms. S’s Aunt is in her mid-80s, on a fixed income and has lived in her
family home for decades, but because her name was not on the deed, she has not been able
to take advantage of the Homeowners Property Tax Credit or access resources to help repair
her roof. When we started working with Ms. S, the names of three deceased family members
were on the deed to Aunt’s home. Two of the deceased co-owners still remain on the deed
because the process to untangle the deed is too complicated, time consuming, and expensive
for Ms. S to address all at once. Fortunately, when Ms. S arrived at our door, Aunt held a
one-third legal interest in the home because one of the co-owners left it to her in their will in
2016. But, the deed transferring the property to her was never executed. If that family
member could have used a TODD, Aunt could have accessed supports to maintain her home
years ago.

Aunt's title remains tangled today as we work through the likely multi-year process to
probate the estates of the other co-owners on the deed and their heirs to transfer property
interests that are split across several different relatives. Aunt’s home would be better
protected if she had access to a TODD to make sure her property interest passed
automatically upon her death. But under the current language of this bill, she would not have
access to this TODD. Allowing co-owners to use a TODD is essential for this legislation to
meet its stated objectives.

In contrast to properties held by Tenants in Common, there are two types of co-ownership
where a co-owner's share passes automatically to the other owner(s) at death — Tenants by the
Entirety (available only to married couples) and Joint Tenants with Rights of Survivorship.
Similar to how the TODD is implemented in other states, these co-owners should also be able
to pass their ownership through a TODD after their deaths.

There are some circumstances where these types of ownership would control how property
passes instead of a TODD, or all co-owners would have to sign the TODD for it to be
effective. This bill’s proposed language largely addresses these circumstances by including
language about which other portions of the Maryland Code limit the operation of the
TODD.

However, House Bill 625 should be amended to directly address the effectiveness of a
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TODD when property is held by Joint Tenants with Rights of Survivorship and one of the
joint tenants records a TODD, naming a third party as the transferee. It is our position that
the TODD should control, and it should sever the joint tenancy only when it becomes
effective. The reasons for this proposal are as follows:

e Ajoint tenant may unilaterally sever a joint tenancy by making a transfer of their
share in the property while they are alive;

e The act of recording a TODD after a joint tenancy is established is a manifestation of
an intent to sever the joint tenancy;

e« The TODD is revocable and does not become effective until the Transferor dies, so
its recordation should not sever the joint tenancy prior to its effectiveness; and,

e TODDs are designated by law to be “non-testamentary,” so they should be treated as
a lifetime transfer of property.

We understand the Bill’s limitation of the TODD to sole owners may have been included in
an attempt to simplify the deed’s implementation, but it is our position that complexities and
complications will still arise, and that the attempt to simplify does a disservice to Maryland
homeowners and communities by failing to offer this important tool to the property owners
who have the greatest barriers to achieving or maintaining a clear title.

Properties that have clouded or tangled titles usually have some form of co-ownership, so to
exclude those owners from accessing this tool would be a significant oversight. Additionally,
the law as written would not promote racial equity as effectively as if all ownership types
were included. Black homeowners in Maryland experience Tangled Titles at higher rates
than White homeowners. Excluding properties with co-owners from accessing the TODD
means excluding Black homeowners from this tool at disproportionate rates.

Therefore, we urge you to amend and support HB 625. Chair and members of the Committee,
thank you again for the opportunity to testify.
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Fight Blight Bmore (FBB), an economic, environmental, and social justice organization
dedicated to addressing systemic inequities that perpetuate blight in Baltimore, FBB supports
this bill with the suggested amendments.HB 625 is a critical piece of legislation that seeks to
empower Maryland homeowners with a simple and accessible tool for estate planning: the
Transfer-on-Death Deed (TODD). This bill will:

1. Provide Clarity and Accessibility: By creating a statutory form homeowners will have
access to a clear and standardized method for planning the disposition of their real
property.

2. Expand Estate Planning Access: TODDs offer a cost-effective alternative to other
estate planning mechanisms, which can be prohibitively expensive for many families. By
lowering the financial barriers to estate planning, HB 625 will enable more Maryland
families to preserve and transfer their most valuable tangible asset—their home—to the
next generation.

3. Combat Blight and Preserve Communities: By facilitating the seamless transfer of
property ownership upon the death of the homeowner, this bill will reduce the likelihood
of properties becoming vacant, falling into disrepair, or being subject to tax sale or
ground rent foreclosure—key vectors for blight. This legislation represents a meaningful
step toward reducing the number of heirs' properties in the state, which are particularly
vulnerable to these issues.

By enabling homeowners to plan for the disposition of their property using a simple statutory
form, HB 625 will help preserve generational wealth, stabilize communities, and reduce
systemic inequities that disproportionately impact historically disinvested neighborhoods. It is a
commonsense measure that will bring tangible benefits to families across Maryland.

We respectfully urge the committee to adopt the following amendments to further strengthen the
bill:

For the above reasons,
Fight Blight Bmore urges a favorable report.
Please contact Nneka Nnamdi, Founder, with any questions nneka@fightblightbmore.com
443.468.6041



e Require that homeowners receive notification of TODD filings via mail, including
information about the process for revocation.
Prohibit individuals with fiduciary powers of attorney from filing or changing TODDs.
Require listing “TODD” next to the owner's name on property records, similar to “LIFE”
for life estate deeds.

With these amendments, HB 625 will become an even more powerful tool for advancing equity,
preserving wealth, and mitigating the root causes of blight in Maryland.

Thank you for your time and consideration. We urge a favorable report on HB 625 with the
proposed amendments.

For the above reasons,
Fight Blight Bmore urges a favorable report.
Please contact Nneka Nnamdi, Founder, with any questions nneka@fightblightbmore.com
443.468.6041
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Written Position of Dawne Lindsey, member of Maryland Circuit Court Clerk’s
Association

My name is Dawne Lindsey, the Clerk of Court for Allegany County. I’'m providing this
on behalf of the Maryland Circuit Court Clerk’s Association, which represents the elected Clerks
of the Circuit Court in Maryland. I’'m providing for your consideration our opposition to HB 625
on behalf of our Association.

Our Clerk’s Association submitted an unfavorable report in 2023, when this same bill
was submitted as HB1270 and HB 986 in previous years, because we had major concerns, and
those concerns still exist.

This legislation could have far reaching effects on what is usually the largest asset in a
person’s estate — their house and other real property. The bill as written still leaves many
questions regarding notification to beneficiaries, creditors, and tax authorities, which could

generate unintended consequences for those whom the bill is trying to help. For instance, the bill


http://www.google.com/url?sa=i&rct=j&q=&esrc=s&frm=1&source=images&cd=&cad=rja&uact=8&docid=GTHVT9jN9TbghM&tbnid=RW-UXOW2mLitPM:&ved=0CAYQjRw&url=http://msa.maryland.gov/msa/mdmanual/08conoff/html/01exec.html&ei=WrIpU5T0AqHh0gG954GABg&psig=AFQjCNGIvW-DqO5tuwrqXwwbfod73F_W8w&ust=1395327861870630

allows anyone to be named as a beneficiary, not just family members, so this could negatively
impact the generational transfer of family assets and potentially open an avenue for increased
theft from the elderly. Also, the bill appears to allow transfer of the property immediately upon
the death of the transferor regardless of whether there are liens or property taxes/municipal bills
on the property. The last few years the clerk’s office has seen dramatic increase in fraudulent
transfers of property. Now is not the time to make it even easier for criminals to use TOD forms
to commit illegal transfers. In addition, there has been a comparison that a TOD Deed would be
like the way the MV A transfers a car title. However, car titles are not public record and are not
transferred to the beneficiary without a release of lien and the death certificate.

Specific sections in the bill that we have concerns are:

Section 3-104, Page 4, Line 5 - why are we allowing individual to transfer their property
without a certification that they are current on their property taxes/municipal bills?

Section 3-104, Page 4, Line 8 — legislation would omit requirement of endorsement of
assessment office, which keeps a vital agency out of the loop of property ownership.

Section 3-104, Page 4, Line 21 — Upon the death of the owner, how does the assessment
office ever know the designated beneficiary is the new owner.

Section 14-1006, Page 15, Line 12: No notice to beneficiary is required. How will the
beneficiary ever know they own the property, let alone that they are responsible for any
outstanding debt?

Section 14-1006, Page 15, line 12: No consideration, which means lost revenue for the
counites and the state.

Section 14-1007, Page 15, line 21: Beneficiary subject to all encumbrances, liens,
mortgages, etc. Debt may go unpaid due to the beneficiary not knowing they now own
the property. Financial institutions will not have a clue there is a new owner to bill.

Section 14-1009, Page 18 line 2: Delivery of Deed occurs at transferors’ death. How
will anyone know the death occurred to transfer ownership? There will be no record of
death in the land records office of the date of the death for chain of title ownership
records.



Section 14-1011, Page 16, Line 14: requires the Administrative Office of the Courts to
provide information about TOD which could lead the Judiciary to providing legal advice
on a process that can have several advantages and disadvantages depending on someone’s
circumstances, which could raise ethical issues for the Judiciary.

Section 14-1012, page 19, Line 13: Mailing address says, “if available.” How will
anyone be able to contact the beneficiary with no contact information? Also, on the
revocation the address appears to not be optional.

Section 14-1012, page 18, Line 22: This says this form MAY be used to create a
Transfer on Death Deed. The word may open the door to the land records office
receiving a transfer on a post it notes. The proposed legislation does state any
requirements for content.

Section 14-1012, page 19, Line 7: Legal description must be the Liber and Folio. It
cannot be the responsibility of the clerk’s office to determine the correct deed for the
transfer on death. Legal description is not the address, we must have Liber and Folio
provided by transferor to ensure correct transfer of property and thereby avoid litigation
for parties to clean up a cloudy title. On advice provided by the Attorney General’s
office, the Clerks of Court would not record a blanket disclaimer without a property
description.

Section 14-1012, page 20, Line 2: The form has a section for acknowledgment of a
notary. The proposed legislation does not require a notary signature. The proposed
legislation also does not require the use of any form, this creates scenarios where
Transfer on Death Deeds will be submitted without a notary seal.

Section 14-1013, Page 22, Line 11: Same issue as the designating a beneficiary form.
No requirement to use the form and the proposed legislation does not list any
requirements, such as legal description, which must be provided or acknowledged by a
notary.

Section 14-1013, Page 22, Line 23: Legal description must be Liber and Folio. Physical
address is not a legal description. Land Records office staff cannot be responsible for
determining the correct property reference. We must be provided that by the owner
making the transfer. If wrong reference is made, the beneficiary will have to file a civil
lawsuit to clean up the title chain.

Section 14-1013, Page 23, Line 5: Proposed Legislation does not require notary
signature.

Page 22, Line 1: on the instruction form it says, “Deo I need to tell the beneficiaries
about the TOD deed? No, but it is recommended. Secrecy can cause later
complications and might make it easier for others to commit fraud.” This is the main
problem with the bill that the clerks are concerned about. No one, including the



beneficiary or State Department of Assessment and Taxation offices will know there is a
new owner. The opportunity for fraud is very high with this bill.

In closing we can see the good intention the proposed legislation has with this
bill. However, we have experienced firsthand how a poorly executed deed can not only
cause a financial burden but be extremely stressful for parties to clear up. We suggest
that the Register of Wills would be a much better location to record a Transfer on Death
Deed than the clerk’s office.
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To: Members of the House Judiciary Committee

From: MLTA Legislative Committee

Date: February 10, 2025 [Hearing date: February 12, 2025]

Subject: HB 0625 — Real Property — Transfer-on-Death Deed — Establishment
Position: Unfavorable

The Maryland Land Title Association (MLTA) is a professional organization working on behalf of
title industry service providers and consumers and is comprised of agents, abstractors,
attorneys, and underwriters. MLTA asks that you return an unfavorable recommendation
for House Bill 625 — Real — Property — Transfer of Death Deed - Establishment. The bill
seeks to provide for the creation, revocation, recordation, and effects of a transfer-on-death
deed for real property.

Maryland already has a form of transfer with over a century of judicial interpretation that
accomplishes the same type of transfer — the life estate deed with powers of alienation. In a life
estate deed, an individual transfers property to others while reserving the right to occupy and
use the property during the term of their natural life. The recipients of the transfer are referred
to as remaindermen and, in a life estate without powers of alienation, their consent is required in
order to convey or mortgage the property. Most states that have enacted Transfer of Death
Deed statutes have only this form of life estate.

Powers of alienation allow an individual who reserves a life estate to later unilaterally sever the
interests of the remaindermen named in the life estate deed without the need for their consent
or involvement. It is this recognition of a right of alienation that sets Maryland apart from other
states that have legislatively implemented transfer on death deeds. Often those states do not
recognize a power of alienation in life estate deeds. This makes a Transfer on Death Deed
unnecessary in Maryland as the bill seeks to address a need already met by an existing, well
established form of instrument.

The bill also seeks to create a form deed that will allow an individual to transfer property without
the need for assistance from a real estate professional. The proliferation of “self-help” deeds
available on the internet has taught the title industry that completion of a form instrument does
not always effectively transfer the property. “Self — help” deeds can leave other interested
parties contesting the validity of the instrument and /or the capacity of the signer at a later time.
Defective or improper entries on blank lines provided on the instrument can cloud the title
affecting its insurability. This often leads to additional costs and attorney and/or court
involvement to correct an improper conveyance or overturn a conveyance by an incapacitated
individual or one obtained though undue influence.

While the intent to create a one-size-fits all form is noble, the form benefits only a small
percentage of the population it is meant to serve (transfers to only one person) and, even to
accomplish this, strips out many statutory safeguards. These safeguards were put in place not
as a hurdle to real property transfers, but to preserve for our posterity the integrity of Maryland’s
land records system.



Real property represents for many individuals the largest single asset that they own. For that
reason alone, the necessary involvement of a real property professional is important to assure
that the resulting title is free of questions or concerns and therefore insurable when its owner
seeks to sell or mortgage the property. In the life estate deed with powers of alienation,
Maryland already has a form of instrument that, with the proper and necessary guidance of a
title professional, will accomplish the objective of a transfer on death deed. To paraphrase an
old adage, if it is not broken, there is no need to fix it.

For these reasons, the MLTA respectfully requests that you return an unfavorable
recommendation for House Bill 0625.

www.mdlta.org
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The Maryland Judiciary opposes House Bill 625. The bill would create a new instrument
for transferring real property. A transfer-on-death deed (TODD) would permit a grantor
to transfer real property to a beneficiary effective on the transferor’s death. Property
transmitted by a TODD would not be subject to probate. The bill would require the
TODD to be recorded in the land records of the county where the property is located. The
TODD would be effective without notice or delivery to or acceptance by a designated
beneficiary during the transferor’s life, and without consideration. The beneficiary would
take the property transferred subject to all security agreements to which the property is
subject at the transferor’s death. The bill would permit a beneficiary to disclaim all or
part of the beneficiary’s interest.

This bill raises several issues. First, this bill requires the Administrative Office of the
Court (AOC) to provide informational documents about deeds. Providing this
information arguably asks the Judiciary to provide legal advice since use of such deeds
can have a number of advantages or disadvantages depending on someone’s
circumstances. Because of this, this requirement raises significant ethical issues for the
Judiciary.



In addition, there are several implementation concerns for the clerk’s offices. First, it is
unclear how the local tax offices and local municipalities that require approval prior to
recording will be notified that a transfer has commenced given that the TODD has
already been recorded at that point. The tax office would not have knowledge of the
TODD, nor would any local municipality or financial institution that may have a lien on
the property. Properties could potentially end up in foreclosure or in a tax sale. It is also
unclear how, without an endorsement regarding taxes, relevant agencies will know when
the TODD takes effect to update their records with the information from the TODD
registry. Further, there is no notice provision to the beneficiary so the beneficiary may be
unaware of any financial obligation linked to the property. When real property is
transferred through probate, the probate process affords notice to heirs, creditors,
lienholders, and taxing authorities, and avoids the notice problems described above.

Additionally, forms described in the bill make it optional to include the beneficiary's
mailing address. If no address is listed and the beneficiary is unaware of ownership, title
searchers will not be able to locate the owner of the property. It is unclear how title
searchers will also know if someone is deceased and the TODD has transferred the

property.

The language defining legal description in this bill is also vague. The transfer-on-death
deed legal description must include Liber and Folio of the deed that is being transferred
and the legal description of the property, which does not mean the physical address.

cc. Hon. N. Scott Phillips
Judicial Council
Legislative Committee
Kelley O'Connor
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The Real Property Section of the Maryland State Bar Association (MSBA) offers comments
to House Bill 625 — Maryland Real Property Transfer-on—Death (TOD) Act.

We do not believe the proposed legislation is the best approach to creating a method to
transfer title to real property upon the death of the vested owner without resorting to
probate. The proposed legislation overly complicates matters and, in the end, in order for
the “beneficiary” to convey the title, most likely, a title insurer would require all interested
persons to consent to the transfer. Instead of creating a complicated statutory scheme for
a TOD, we propose creating a statutory form life estate deed with powers that could be
used by the title holder. Life estate deeds have been utilized in Maryland as a method to
avoid probate for many, many years as they are a product of the common law, and thus, a
well-known, recognized, and effective method of estate planning.

However, should the committee decide to proceed with the legislation, we offer the
following comments. The below is not intended to be an exhaustive list of the issues with
the proposed bill, but an example of the most obvious.

1. Page 2, lines 28 through 33. E&T §1-402(A) and (B) substantially overlap. They
should be combined for clarity.

2. It is unclear whether an intake sheet will or will not be required when a TOD deed is
presented for recordation. See page 4, line 7 and page 4, lines 12-15. See also page 10,
lines 14-16.

3. Page 4, lines 21-27. How would the assessment office know when the transferor
(shouldn’t this term be “grantor”?) of a TOD deed has died and the transferee (shouldn’t
this term be “grantee”?) should be noted as the owner of the property?

4, It is unclear whether a certificate of preparation is required. Shouldn’t the
requirement of a certificate of preparation be applicable to TOD deeds? The law already
allows a party to the instrument to sign the certificate.



HB 625 — RPS of the MSBA - Unfavorable — Page 2

5. Page 14, lines 17-19. This permits a TOD deed to be transferred to a beneficiary, in
the singular. Cannot a property owner leave the property to more than one beneficiary?
And this is inconsistent with the portion of the bill that allows for alternative beneficiaries,
see page 15, lines 15-20, or multiple beneficiaries (see page 16, line 5).

6. Page 15, lines 5-8. When does recording occur? At the time the deed is mailed,
dropped off, or otherwise delivered to the clerk, or when it is indexed or on line with the
State Archives. In most jurisdictions recoding it not instantaneous with delivery.

7. Page 16, lines 17-22. These provisions appear to be a trap for the unwary.
8. Page 20, lines 23-24. After “Probate is not required” add “if this is your only asset.”
9. Page 21 lines 29-30. This is inconsistent with the provisions of the proposed code in

that the code does not require an express revocation when the revocation occurs by inter
vivos deed. See page 16 lines 11-13.

The Real Property Section Counsel of the MSBA believes there is a much simpler, and in the end,
more effective, method to transfer title to real property upon death and avoid probate and urges
to the committee to consider it in its deliberations, and thus, issue an unfavorable report. If the
legislature wants to help people transfer their only real property asset in a way to avoid probate,
and it follows our advice that a Transfer on Death Deed is not the best way to do that, we can
easily draft and provide a form of life estate deed to make that method of transfer readily
accessible. Thank you for your consideration.
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1. INTRODUCTION

While millions of homeowners fell behind on mortgage payments and were at risk of

losing their homes to mortgage foreclosures during the COVID-19 pandemic, many others
were facing another foreclosure crisis- the loss of their homes due to property tax lien
foreclosures. This strict and often rapid tax lien foreclosure process has created a lesser-
known plight faced by homeowners who have fallen behind on their property taxes. The
impact of property tax liens are especially harsh for
heirs who inherit property without a will or who have not
yet gone through probate. The heirs of the deceased
owner may now own the home, but if their names are
not on the deed, they are not the record owners of the

If the names of the
heirs of the deceased

owner are not on property. This creates what is known as heirs property,
the deed, they are or a “tangled title” situation.

not record owners

of the property. This Heirs property owners may be unable to obtain

is commonly known loans or grants for home repairs, get homeowner’s

as heirs property insurance, or access utility or property tax assistance

programs because they are not record owners. It is
not uncommon for years to pass after the death of the
original owner of the home without the property taxes
being paid. Heirs may not receive notice of amounts
due for property taxes because they are not the record owners of the property. By the

time heirs realize the amounts due for property taxes, it is often soon before a tax sale, or
after the sale has happened, and options are limited. The amounts owed are usually too
high to pay in one lump sum to stop the sale or redeem the property. If one heir is able to
pay the amounts due, they may not want to take on the burden alone without other heirs
contributing. Selling the property before a tax sale for a reasonable amount to cover the
tax debt might be difficult if there is not clear title or if there are heirs who do not agree on
selling. The upcoming tax sale is also usually advertised in public records, and investors
may try to take advantage of family members by offering to purchase a partial interest in the
property quickly for less than fair market value.

or "tangled title."

While most states offer tax exemption and relief programs, they are usually limited to the
record owner of the property. Heirs who inherit a home intestate will face difficulty accessing
these programs because their names are not on the deed. By requiring this, many states
exclude legal heirs from property tax relief options that could lower their tax burden and help
them save the home. Further, establishing formal ownership of the home is difficult, costly,
and time consuming and often requires the retention of an attorney.
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This report will discuss the process used to place a lien on a home when a homeowner
falls behind on property taxes and eventually foreclose on that property if the homeowner
cannot pay the amounts in a certain period of time. We then discuss the unique issues heirs
face when the record title owner passes away and leaves an overdue property tax bill. We
review five sample states—Florida, Mississippi, Michigan, Texas, and Pennsylvania—and

the policies they have, or do not have, to assist heirs with property tax bills, focusing on
homestead exemptions. The report concludes with recommendations for protections states
can implement to prevent property tax foreclosures and preserve homeownership.

2. THE TAX LIEN PROCESS

All states have laws that allow local governments to place a lien on a homeowner’s property
for failure to pay property taxes. Many also impose liens for other municipal charges, such
as a water bill or unpaid fines for property code violations." If the lien is not paid within a
certain period of time, the city or town can auction off the lien or the property, typically for the
amount of the taxes and fees owed. The procedures involved with tax lien foreclosures are
complicated and are rarely updated to ensure that the process provides sufficient protections
to prevent the unnecessary loss of homes.

While each state has unique laws regarding unpaid property taxes, most states first

provide a homeowner with some type of notice of delinquency regarding tax amounts. If

the taxes are not paid within a certain period of time, a tax lien is placed on the property.
This generally occurs by operation of a state statute. Tax liens almost always have priority
over all other liens, including mortgages, regardless of when the tax lien is placed on the
property. If the tax lien remains unpaid, the tax deed or tax lien certificate is sold or assigned
to a third party, or the property is taken by the local municipality.

Tax Deed Sale

In jurisdictions where the property itself is sold at the auction, the purchaser receives a
tax deed, providing full title in the property, subject to any redemption period. This is a
tax deed sale. The tax deed is sold at auction to the highest bidder, and the proceeds are
used to pay off the tax debt along with all fees, interest, penalties, and costs owed to the
municipality. There is generally never a surplus because the bidding process at auction is
not competitive.

Unlike at a traditional home auction, purchasers typically bid on the amount of taxes owed,
not on the value of the property.? The tax deed purchaser can then sell the property at fair
market value if the owner does not redeem by paying the taxes plus interest, fees, costs,
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and penalties within a certain period of time. Any surplus from the sale is usually kept by
the purchaser. Examples of states with tax deed sales include Alaska, California, Delaware,
Georgia and Hawaii.?

Tax Lien Certificate Sale

In other jurisdictions, a tax certificate is sold to a third party who pays the tax debt and
receives the right to collect on the tax debt with interest, costs, penalties, and fees.
Examples of states with a tax lien certificate method of tax sale include lllinois, Maryland, the
District of Columbia, Florida, and Indiana.* If the tax debt is not paid within a certain period
of time, the purchaser can then initiate a court action or administrative process to obtain

full title to the property, stripping the homeowner of all interest in the home. Investors are
particularly interested in tax lien certificates because they make a profit by charging high
interest rates on the outstanding amounts due or selling the property for fair market value
after only paying the amount of the tax debt.

Taking Without Sale - Strict Foreclosure

In some states, there is no sale at all, or it may not occur until after the property is
transferred. The taxing authority or local municipality simply executes on its lien by taking
the property. This is similar to the process no longer permitted in most states that is referred
to as “strict foreclosure” of mortgages. After the owner is given notice of the tax lien and

a period to redeem, the local municipality takes the property free and clear of all liens if

the owner does not redeem. Once the property is taken, state law generally provides a
procedure for final disposition of the property. In Michigan, for example, the property is
initially forfeited to the county treasurer for unpaid taxes and fees and then sold at public
auction to the highest bidder.° In Minnesota, the property is initially forfeited to the state for
unpaid taxes and fees and then sold at public auction to the highest bidder for not less than
the appraised value.® However, the Supreme Court recently struck down the Minnesota tax
foreclosure process as unconstitutional. Any state with a strict foreclosure process faces a
likelihood of having that statute struck down.” As a result, many states are rewriting their tax
foreclosure laws now.

Redemption Periods

Regardless of the jurisdiction's property tax foreclosure process, before the final stages of
a tax foreclosure, many jurisdictions give a homeowner a redemption period to either cure
the outstanding amounts owed before a foreclosure or reclaim the home by paying off the
amounts owed after the foreclosure. Particularly in jurisdictions that allow tax lien certificate
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sales, the right to redeem can be so onerous as to be illusory. Some of these jurisdictions
allow the tax lien certificate purchaser to charge excessive interest rates on the taxes owed
that can be as high as 50 percent, depending on the jurisdiction, in addition to penalties,
costs, and fees. This makes it extremely difficult for many lower-income homeowners

to pay the amount owed within the prescribed time. If the homeowner does not pay the
inflated amounts, the tax lien purchaser can then sell the home and usually keeps all of
the proceeds of the sale, even when the tax amount owed is a fraction of the value of the

home. The homeowner faces a devastating loss of
home equity as compared with other auction sales such
as a home mortgage foreclosure auction that requires
that the homeowner receive any excess funds after the
liens, fees, and costs are paid.

Deborah Foss, a retired grandmother, and her wife

and sister in Bedford, Massachusetts, were evicted
and removed from their home in the middle of winter
as she was suffering from COVID. She had nowhere

to go and ended up living in her car. She had lost
everything. Tallage, the investor that bought her tax
lien, paid $9,516 for the lien and later sold the home for
$242,000.8

The equity in the property could represent a
homeowner’s entire net worth and sole savings and
security for retirement, as it did for Deborah Foss.
Losing the home means the loss of a safe place to live
and any meaningful opportunity to build wealth and
financial security.

Disproportionate Impact on
Communities of Color

Property tax foreclosure sales are often concentrated

Deborah Foss, a
retired grandmother,
and her wife and
sister in Bedford,
Massachusetts, were
evicted and removed
from their home in
the middle of winter
as she was suffering
from COVID. She had
nowhere to go and
ended up living in
her car. She had lost
everything. Tallage,
the investor that
bought her tax lien,
paid $9,516 for the
lien and later sold the
home for $242,000.

in low-income communities with large populations of Black and Latino residents. Residents
of these communities are more likely to have suffered from economic shocks that made it
harder to pay property taxes, but did not access or qualify for property tax relief.® High rates
of tax delinquency and foreclosure have been linked to vacant and abandoned properties,
disinvestment and lower property values in affected communities, and adverse effects on the

health of residents.
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Black and Latino property owners also pay higher taxes than similarly situated white
property owners due to inequities in the tax assessment and appeals process. Assessed
values are significantly higher for properties located in neighborhoods with lower valued
homes and a high proportion of households of color." One study found that for Black and
Latino residents in aggregate, the assessment gap was 9.8 percent.? Nationally, Black
residents had a nearly 13 percent higher property tax burden than white households in the
same jurisdiction." The higher effective tax rate for homeowners of color translated into an
extra $300- $390 more per year in taxes. Similar patterns of over-assessment have been
noted in news articles or research on Chicago, New Orleans, Detroit, New York, and other

cities.™

The unequal
property tax
burden means
Black and Latino
households
cannot build home
wealth at the same
rate as white
households and
face a greater risk
of tax foreclosure.

These findings build on a history of intentionally
discriminatory tax assessment practices against Black
property owners in the Jim Crow Era. Black property
owners, especially those who played key roles in the Civil
Rights Movement, were often taxed at higher effective
rates than similarly situated white property owners while
simultaneously being denied access to the resources and
institutions supported by their tax dollars.'® Discriminatory
assessments and other practices forced Black owners of
valuable property into delinquency and foreclosure and
contributed to the loss of land and homes, especially in
the South.'®

The unequal property tax burden means Black and
Latino households cannot build home wealth at the same
rate as white households and face a greater risk of tax

foreclosure. Property taxes also add significantly to the cost of owning a home. Nearly a
quarter of the disparity in homeownership costs for Black households as compared to white
households is due to local property tax assessments.'” For families living on the financial
edge, higher property taxes combined with other property-related fees and costs increase
the risk of foreclosure, displacement, and loss of generational wealth.

Tax foreclosure sales also affect the larger community. The purchase of tax liens and

properties by institutional investors in gentrifying communities, for example, often transforms
a portion of the housing stock into high-end properties crowding out lower-income residents
and the elderly from once-affordable neighborhoods.’® Homeowners who remain may see
their tax bills increase significantly with the rise in property values. In other communities with
lower valued homes, large-scale property tax foreclosures further depress property values
and increase blight.
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3. TAX LIENS AND HEIRS PROPERTY

The consequences of tax foreclosure sales are especially dire for heirs who inherit the
property without a will. Homeownership is an important way to build wealth, particularly
across multiple generations. In areas with increasing property values, the home can capture
years of appreciated value. For many multi-generational households, a majority of the
family’s wealth is tied up in the home. Until a tangled
title is resolved, access to that wealth is restricted, and
residents cannot take full advantage of the home’s value
or protect that value for future generations. Without a
deed, they cannot sell the home nor can they create an
estate plan to pass it on to other generations.

For many multi-
generational
households, a
majority of the

Complications with Heirs Property family’s wealth is
tied up in the home.
Heirs can live in the home for years after the death Until a tangled title
of the original owner without realizing they must is resolved, access
go through the probate process to establish record to that wealth is
ownership of the property. They often realize this restricted, and
predicament when they face issues with setting up residents cannot
utilities and negotiating past due utility bills; obtaining take full advantage

homeowner’s insurance; qualifying for financial
assistance to fund repairs; negotiating with a mortgage
company; or accessing available property tax relief
assistance. Many times, heirs learn of the tangled

title issue when they are at their most desperate point
financially and cannot access financial assistance

due to the lack of record ownership. Heirs who face
challenges in paying for maintenance of the property and property taxes find it difficult to
access payment relief programs because they are not on the deed. Heirs who are not on the
deed also cannot access the equity in the home to pay these expenses because they cannot
borrow against the home without clear title.

of the home’s value
or protect that
value for future
generations.

When a homeowner dies intestate and there are several surviving heirs, there is also a risk
that one of the heirs will seek to partition the property. A partition action is a court-ordered
process where one property owner forces a sale or division of the property. In an urban
context, division of the property is usually not feasible, so partition involves a sale. This
allows people who own real estate together to take their share of the equity and go their
separate ways. However, this may not always be desirable for all heirs, especially if the
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heirs living in the home want to retain the home. This situation is also ripe for investors who
will offer to buy out the interest of one of the heirs in the property for a small price and then
force the sale of the home to collect their share of the equity. In states which have passed
it, the Uniform Partition of Heirs Property Act (UPHPA) gives heirs who do not want to sell
the home the opportunity to buy out the other interests in the property for fair market value,
preserving their ownership of the property.' If the heirs who want to keep the property
cannot buy out the remaining heirs, a court can order an in-kind partition; a physical division
of the property amongst the heirs, where practicable. While this can help some heirs who
do not want the property sold, it can be a timely, costly, and emotional process. Further, the
UPHPA has only been enacted in 22 states.

Even if there are no apparent disputes over the property, some heirs may be difficult to
locate or they may not know of their ownership interest in the property, making it challenging
for the other heirs to move forward. Lenders will not provide loans for fractional interests in
a property and title insurance companies require clear title before a loan can be finalized. If
one heir wants to buy out the other heirs, they will have have to qualify for a mortgage loan,
which can be very difficult for low-income heirs.

It is easy to see how heirs property owners can lose their homes to property tax
foreclosures. Particularly in a tax lien certificate sale jurisdiction, when the taxes are not
paid, a lien is placed on the property which can then be sold to a lien purchaser. The lien
purchaser then demands the lien amount plus high interest, fees, and costs, which are
extremely difficult for many heirs to pay. Tax lien purchasers typically do not offer repayment
plans or other foreclosure avoidance tools as some local governments do. If it is not paid,
then the lien purchaser can seek to foreclose on and sell the property, stripping the heirs of
all the equity that had accumulated. In all jurisdictions, before a lien is placed on the property
or a sale occurs, if there are multiple heirs who own the property, a single heir can sell their
fractional interest to an investor, who can then petition the court for a partition sale of the
property. Each of these outcomes causes heirs to lose their family home and strips families
of accumulated intergenerational wealth, putting them back at the starting line financially.

Probating the Estate

Most property that only has a deceased homeowner’s name on the title must go through the
probate process. Proof of ownership of a home or any other property cannot be obtained
before probate is complete.?® The probate process can be complicated, time consuming,
and expensive, particularly when there is no will governing the conveyance of the home.
There are a number of fees involved, and an heir will most likely have to retain an attorney
to navigate the process. For example, in Philadelphia the cost of remedying a tangled title
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is about $9,200 for a home valued at the median of $88,800.%' After probate is complete, a
new deed is drafted and must be recorded on the local registry of deeds. The entire process
can take a year or more to complete. In the meantime, the heirs occupying the property
have limited access to relief programs to help with utilities, mortgage payments, and
property tax payments available only to record owners of the home.

The Scope of the Problem

The Pew Charitable Trusts released a report?? in August 2021 about the prevalence of
tangled title in Philadelphia and the harsh consequences to heirs who inherit a home without
will. The study found that more than 10,000 of the city’s residential properties, collectively
worth over $1 billion, were affected by tangled title and that the neighborhoods most affected
tend to be those with relatively low housing values, low incomes, and high poverty rates.
Many heirs do not realize that there is an issue and do not realize the importance of filing
probate after the death of their family member.

A 10-county study in Georgia using Computer Assisted Mass Appraisal (CAMA) data found
an average of between 14-19 percent of all parcels were potential heirs property, totaling
approximately $2.1 billion in assessed value.? The study found that higher levels of heirs
property were found in communities of color and communities with lower educational levels
and higher poverty levels. Dougherty County, with a 71 percent Black or African American
population,? had the highest percentage of heirs property at 24.8 percent, representing
potential property values totaling $648,643,199. The staggering amount of wealth tied

up in heirs properties cannot be utilized to produce intergenerational wealth “because
owners cannot leverage these assets to access capital or qualify for government funding
assistance” due to the lack of record title to the land.

4. PROPERTY TAX RELIEF OPTIONS IN CERTAIN STATES
AND ACCESSIBILITY TO HEIRS

Property Tax Exemptions and Abatements

Every state has enacted property tax exemptions or abatements for some homeowners
who live in the home that help relieve at least a portion of their property tax by virtue of age,
disability, income level, or personal status. These exemptions can provide significant relief
for homeowners. For example, in Alaska, the principal residence of a resident who is (a) 65
or older, (b) a disabled person, or (c) a resident at least 60 years old who is the widow or
widower of either is exempt from local property taxes on the first $150,000 of the assessed
value of the real property.?® In Idaho, up to $175,000 of a primary residence in which the
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owner resides or intends to reside is exempt from taxation.?” In Florida, an owner who
resides in a primary residence can receive a tax exemption of up to $50,000 of the value of
the property.8

The benefits, however, are not automatic. Most programs require the homeowner to apply
for and submit proof of eligibility for an abatement or an exemption usually within a short
period after the issuance of the tax bill. If an application is not timely made, the right to

the relief will be lost. Often homeowners who stand to benefit most are not even aware

of these programs and end up paying more than necessary or not being able to pay the
property tax bill. This is particularly true for heirs who inherit the property intestate. State
and local property tax relief programs for homeowners routinely exclude homeowners who
have tangled titles. Most programs require record proof of ownership: the heir's name on
a recorded deed to the property. If the original owner was approved for an exemption, this
exemption does not automatically apply to the heirs. Heirs of the property must apply anew
for the exemption. If they do not, and continue to pay the exempt amount assessed to the
original owner, they could face significant costs and penalties. This exclusion from certain
property tax exemptions and abatements increases the likelihood of a tax foreclosure and
perpetuates housing instability and loss of generational wealth.

The application of the homestead property tax exemption laws in Florida by some county
appraisers highlights these dire consequences by imposing an egregious penalty on an
heir who does not immediately provide notice of the owner’s death to the county appraiser
and file a new exemption application. The next section will examine the law in Florida,
particularly how it is being wrongfully applied to heirs, and compare it with four other states
that provide a penalty for the willful and wrongful claim to a property tax exemption but do
not impose such a penalty on a surviving heir.

Florida

The Florida Constitution provides homestead property
tax exemption benefits to the owner-occupant of real
property if the property is their primary residence. A
homeowner must submit an application for a homestead
exemption with the county property appraiser, which

in most counties is automatically renewed annually.
Once the application is approved, the homeowner is
exempt from property taxes on $25,000 of the value

of the property plus an additional $25,000 exemption
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for property valued greater than $50,000.%° In addition, under the Save Our Homes (SOH)
Amendment, after the first year that a home receives a homestead exemption and the
property appraiser assesses it at just value, the increase in annual assessment on the
property shall not exceed the lower of either 3 percent of the assessment for the prior year
or the percentage of change to the Consumer Price Index.* If the property protected under
the SOH cap changes ownership, the property will lose the SOH benefit and will be subject
to assessment at just value on the following January 1.3

Under the SOH law, a change of ownership is defined as any sale, foreclosure, or transfer
of legal title or beneficial title in equity to any person.® When a change of ownership occurs,
the homestead exemption terminates and the property is reassessed at the current

market value.

A “change of ownership” occurs upon the death of an owner except in limited circumstances
including but not limited to when there is a surviving spouse, minor child or children, or

a permanent resident who is legally or naturally dependent upon the owner.3* Heirs who

do not fall into one of the exceptions, which may include adult children, grandchildren,

and parents living in their child’s home, are required to file a new homestead application
together with a deed showing they are the record owner of the property upon the death

of the original owner. If they do not, and continue paying at the homestead rate in place
through the deceased owner, they not only will be responsible for the difference between
the old homestead tax amount and the current tax amount, but also some taxing authorities
incorrectly interpret the statute to include the imposition of egregious penalties on the heir
of 15 percent interest per annum and a penalty of 50 percent of the taxes exempted.3* Also,
for this same group, when the property is reassessed, the value undoubtedly will increase,
causing the property taxes to increase even if a new homestead exemption is put in place.
We explain below how this penalty is calculated, followed by an explanation of why the
homestead penalty should not be assessed against heirs in this situation.

In a simplified example, assume that a homeowner who has a tax bill of $1,000 per year
based on an assessment of the home originally done many years earlier dies intestate, and
her adult son remains in the home. The son continues to live in the home but does not file a
new homestead application because he does not know he should. He continues to pay the
$1,000 per year in taxes. When the county appraiser realizes this three years later, a new
appraisal is done and the taxes rise to $3,000 per year. If the local appraiser imposes the
homestead penalty lien, the son will face a lien for:

© 2023 National Consumer Law Center NCLC.ORG Property Tax Foreclosures on Heirs Property




Total penalty and taxes:

$2,000 (difference in the taxes owed vs. taxes paid) x 3 years = $ 6,000
plus 15% interest each year = $300x 3= $ 900

plus 50% of the $6,000 difference = $ 3,000

for a total of: $ 9,900

In addition, he must continue to pay the $3,000 bill each year.3® The son can apply for the
homestead exemption going forward to limit his tax increase each year and to receive an
exemption of taxes on up to $50,000 of the home’s value, but this will only affect future tax
bills, and he risks losing the home if he cannot pay the existing $9,900 tax bill.

The creation of an astronomical penalty

In 1979, when Darnell Simon was 9 years old, he moved to his mother’s modest three-
bedroom home in Jacksonville, Florida, with his mother and brother. His mother worked

as a custodian to pay the mortgage; she wanted the boys to have a safe place to call their
own. Darnell moved out when he was 18 but moved back in to take care of his mother in
2010 when she was diagnosed with cancer. Darnell’s two daughters also lived with him at
times as did his paternal aunt. His mother passed away in 2013. In 2014 Darnell suffered
kidney failure, and he has been on dialysis ever since. When his mother died, Darnell
believed his maternal aunt was organizing the estate and paying the property taxes. It was
not until he received a notice of tax sale in 2019 that he realized the taxes had not been
paid. He also did not know that he should apply for a property tax homestead exemption.
From 2013 to 2017, the taxable value of the property was $25,000 on an assessed value
of around $60,000, resulting in annual property taxes owed of about $750. By 2018, the
exemption had been removed, and the assessed and taxable values jumped to $84,000,
with the resulting annual property taxes totaling around $1,750. In addition, the city added
homestead penalties for 2014 through 2017 totaling over $10,000. Darnell borrowed money
to pay some of the past due taxes and was provided a grant to pay through 2022, but he

is terrified that he will not be able to pay the $10,000 in penalties on his fixed disability
income. His paternal aunt lives with him and is also on a fixed disability income because of
her COPD and reliance on oxygen therapy. If the city forecloses on the home, Darnell says
they will have nowhere to go. This home is his mother’s legacy, and he hopes to be able to
preserve it for his daughters and grandchildren.
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Timing and Process for Heirs Accessing the Florida Homestead Property
Tax Exemption

There are questions regarding whether an heir can apply for the homestead exemption

in their own right before having a final probate deed in their name. The statute states that
before an exemption may be granted, “the deed or instrument shall be recorded in the
official records of the county in which the property is located.”® However, the statute also
provides that a person who, on January 1, “has the legal title or beneficial title in equity”

to the real property and makes the home his or her permanent residence is entitled to the
exemption. It is arguable that the “deed or instrument” required to be recorded could include
an affidavit of descent or heirship as allowed in other states discussed below, in order to
give meaning to the first sentence, allowing the owner of the beneficial or equitable interest
to apply for the exemption. The statute seems to contemplate this by permitting the property
appraiser to “request the applicant to provide additional ownership documents to establish
title.”

The question of whether an heir can apply for the exemption without a final probate court
deed is important because there is no specific grace period in the statute between when a
family member dies and when an heir would be required to apply for the exemption in their
own name. Completing the probate of an estate in order to obtain a probate deed can take
nine months or more in Duval County. Except in limited circumstances, a property must

go through the probate process before a new deed is drafted and recorded. A property tax
exemption application must be filed by March 1, with a late deadline of September 18, for
anyone who has title to the property as of January 1. After September 18 of that year, no
homestead tax exemption applications are allowed for that year. This does not provide much
time to probate an estate, have a new deed drafted and recorded, and file for the exemption.
Thus, if a deed were required, many heirs would incur a penalty (or at a minimum, lose the
homestead exemption for a period of time) even if they started the probate process right
away. During this time, penalties may accrue and property taxes can increase, creating
difficult financial repercussions for low-income heirs.

The Florida statute that imposes homestead penalties when a homestead exemption
remains in place beyond the applicant's tenure should not be interpreted to apply to an
heir like Darnell Simon who remains residing in the home after the death of a relative. The
statute reads:
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The owner of any property granted an exemption who is not required to file an annual
application or statement shall notify the property appraiser promptly whenever the

use of the property or the status or condition of the owner changes so as to change
the exempt status of the property. If any property owner fails to so notify the property
appraiser and the property appraiser determines that for any year within the prior 10
years the owner was not entitled to receive such exemption, the owner of the property

is subject to the taxes exempted as a result of such failure plus 15 percent interest

per annum and a penalty of 50 percent of the taxes exempted. Except for homestead
exemptions controlled by s. 196.161, the property appraiser making such determination shall
record in the public records of the county a notice of tax lien against any property owned
by that person or entity in the county, and such property must be identified in the notice of
tax lien. Such property is subject to the payment of all taxes and penalties. Such lien
when filed shall attach to any property, identified in the notice of tax lien, owned by the
person who illegally or improperly received the exemption. (emphasis added)

This penalty is clearly meant to apply to the property owner who applied for and obtained
the homestead exemption. The first time the owner is mentioned, it says the "owner of any
property granted an exemption." That property owner, who was granted the exemption, has
a duty to inform the appraiser if there is a change in the exempt status. It is this affirmative
notice obligation that determines whether or not the owner incurs a penalty. If the owner fails
to provide the notice, that same owner - “the owner of the property”- is subject to the penalty
and a tax lien is placed on “any property owned by that person” - not on “the property” in
question.

The interest and penalties imposed by section 196.011(9)(a) of the statute cannot
reasonably be applied to an heir of a deceased owner.

1. “Owner” refers to “the owner of any property granted an exemption.”

2. The provision places an affirmative obligation on “the owner” to notify the appraiser
promptly if the “use of the property or the status or condition of the owner changes so
as to change the exempt status of the property.” This notification obligation is on the
owner who was granted the exemption, not the heir of a deceased owner.
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3. If the same owner fails to provide this notification to the appraiser and the appraiser
determines the owner was not entitled to the exemption for a period of time yet
continues to claim it, that owner is “subject to the taxes exempted as a result of such
failure” plus interest and a penalty.

4. The interest and penalty are directly tied to the failure of the owner who
originally received the exemption to provide the required notification to the
property appraiser. As such, the interest and penalty are imposed on the owner
who received the exemption in the first place, and only based on wrongful conduct
up until that owner's death.®”

The purpose of that section of the statute is to penalize living homeowners who were
granted an exemption and who abuse the homestead exemption scheme by failing to notify
the tax assessor if they later move out of the home, for example to use it as an investment
property or vacation home. Penalty statutes should be narrowly construed where there is
any ambiguity.®® They should not be applied harshly against innocent residents.*®

In Vega v. Robbins, even though the Court did not apply the exemption retroactively, it did
not impose a penalty on an adult son who filed for the homestead tax exemption over a year
after his mother's death.*’ In Kelly v. Spain, the court held that “[nJo matter the form, the

goal of homestead has remained stable: to protect the family.”! The penalty language in the
statute in 9(a) was not intended to apply to heirs who remain in the home and, but for having
to complete probate and file their own application, were in fact entitled to the homestead
exemption. The penalty should only be imposed on a person who requests and receives

an exemption and then intentionally or willfully does not notify the appraiser of a change in
use of the property for their own financial gain. Florida county assessors should adjust their
collection practices and stop imposing this penalty against heirs.

Mississippi

In Mississippi, under the Homestead Exemption Law of 1946, all
homeowners are entitled to an exemption from all ad valorem taxes
on their homestead up to a maximum of the first $7,500 of the
property’s assessed value, limited to $300 of actual exempted tax
dollars.*? For seniors, though, the dollar amount is not capped. In
addition, veterans with a service-connected total disability and who
have been honorably discharged (and their unremarried surviving
spouses) are exempt from all ad valorem taxes on the assessed
value of the homestead.*
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An eligible heir can qualify for the same homestead exemption of up to a maximum of the
first $7,500 of the property’s assessed value through an “affidavit, court record, or such
other evidence as may be required by the [Tax] [Clommission.”* The Affidavit of heirship

is a sworn statement provided by one or more family members and at least two unrelated
parties that identifies the decedent’s legal heirs. The affidavit establishes an heir’s interest
in the property and also, after a certain number of years have passed, provides an insurable
title for sale of the property. When there are multiple heirs, the heirs of an undivided

estate can elect to file for one homestead exemption on the entire undivided estate. The
requirements for homestead exemption eligibility must be met. All the heirs must sign an
affidavit authorizing the filing of the one homestead exemption.*® Otherwise, if an heir files
for the homestead exemption individually, they are entitled to the exemption only on their
inherited portion of the property.*® This requirement is especially burdensome for heirs who
have inherited the property over multiple generations and do not know the names or contact
information for all of the heirs.

Eligible residents must apply for the homestead exemption. Once it is granted, the resident
does not need to file again unless there has been a change in the property description,
ownership, or occupancy.*” A person who willfully fails to notify the tax assessor of changes
in the status of the homestead when required to do so can be found guilty of a felony and,
upon conviction, may be punished by a fine of not more than $5,000 or by imprisonment, or
both. As in the Florida statute, the penalty is assessed against the person who claimed the
homestead exemption and then willfully failed to notify the taxing authority of a change in
ownership, not an heir who inherited and occupied the property.

Michigan

In Michigan, homestead exemptions are provided

for residents meeting certain income guidelines.*® A
homestead is eligible for exemption from taxation in whole
or in part, based on guidelines developed by the local

assessing unit.*® Local guidelines may not set income
limitations below the federal poverty line.%® Certain seniors,
disabled residents, and veterans and their surviving
spouses who meet the income guidelines are provided
additional exemptions.

A property owner must file a Principal Residence Exemption Affidavit form with the tax
assessor to obtain the exemptions. With the form, the owner certifies under penalty of
perjury that “l own and occupy as a principal residence on the date stated [ ] and that | have
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not claimed a substantially similar exemption/deduction/credit in property in another state,
and that the information contained on this document is true and correct to the best of my
knowledge.” Michigan considers an “owner” for purposes of the tax exemption to be “[a]
person who owns property as a result of being a beneficiary of a will or trust or as a result
of intestate succession.”' An heir is therefore considered an owner of the property upon the
death of the original owner and can apply immediately for the exemption.

A homeowner has 90 days after exempted property is no longer used as a principal
residence by the owner claiming an exemption to file a notice of rescission of the exemption
with the local tax authority. A penalty of up to $200 is imposed on an owner who fails to file
the notice of rescission.®? In addition, a person who fails to rescind the exemption with the
intent to wrongfully obtain an exemption is guilty of a misdemeanor and may be punished
by a fine of up to $5,000 or public service.* If a person claims an exemption in Michigan
and a substantially similar exemption in another state, that person is subject to a penalty of
$500.54 As with the Florida and Mississippi statutes, the penalty is placed on the owner who
intentionally failed to notify the taxing authority of the change in status of the property.

Texas

Texas does not impose any penalty for a delay in filing

a homestead exemption application and also allows a
look-back period for the new exemption once obtained. In
Texas, a family or individual is entitled to a tax exemption
of $3,000 of the assessed value of their primary residence
or $40,000 in a school district.5®* An additional $10,000
exemption is provided for an adult who is 65 years or
older or disabled. Local tax authorities can offer an
optional additional exemption of up to 20 percent of

the value of the property and no less than $5,000. The
resident must apply with the local appraisal office. Most exemptions, once allowed, do not
require subsequent applications.®® The exemption applies to the property until ownership
changes or the person's qualification for the exemption changes, at which time the original
owner must notify the appraiser’s office of such change.

If the appraiser discovers that an exemption has been erroneously allowed within the
preceding five years, the taxing authority is entitled to impose taxes on the value that
escaped taxation.®” There is no other penalty imposed on the owner.
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An application for a residence homestead exemption may be filed after the deadline for
filing has passed if filed no later than two years after the delinquency date,*® which is usually
February 1 because property taxes are due January 31. A resident will receive a deduction
on taxes owed if not yet paid or a refund on taxes paid.

Heirs who inherit property intestate in Texas have options to obtain the homestead
exemption without having to produce a deed with their name. As of 2019, Texas allows

an heir to submit an affidavit of heirship to establish ownership of the home for purposes

of the homestead exemption application. The heir must provide an affidavit establishing
their property ownership interest, a copy of the death certificate of the prior owner, a recent
utility bill, and citation to any court record relating to the heir’s ownership of the property. A
recorded instrument is not required, however. Each heir with an interest in the property who
occupies the property as the owner's principal residence, other than the applicant, must
provide an affidavit that authorizes the submission of the application.®® The applicant heir is
entitled to 100 percent of the homestead exemption.®

This procedure allows an affidavit of heirship to be used when a decedent leaves behind
real property without a will or other legal documents transferring title. The affidavit can also
be used within four years of the deceased’s death if there was a will but it was not probated.

Pennsylvania

In Pennsylvania, the Taxpayer Relief Act provides for
property tax reduction allocations to be distributed by the
State to each school district. Property tax reduction is
provided through a homestead or farmstead exemption
Most owner-occupied primary residence homes and farms
are eligible for property tax reduction.

Local governments can provide a tax exemption of a fixed
dollar amount of the assessed value of each homestead property that is not in excess of
one-half of the median assessed value of homestead property in the area.®’ The owner of
real property must apply for the homestead exemption and generally will not have to reapply
each year. The application form requires the applicant to assert that they are the owner of
the property and they can face penalties and criminal prosecution for knowingly providing
false information.®? If there are multiple owners, not all need to apply.

If there is a change of use of the property, the owner must notify the assessor within 45 days
of the change. Failure to notify the assessor results in penalties to the owner who failed to
provide the notice. The penalties consist of payment of the taxes which would have been
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due but for the false application plus interest, a penalty of 10 percent of the unpaid taxes,
and if convicted of a misdemeanor, a payment of up to $2,500.5% Again, the penalty is on the
original owner who knowingly failed to notify the assessor.

Philadelphia has enacted additional protections for homeowners and allows a homestead
exemption of $80,000 (in 2023) of the assessed value of the property for residents who own
and live in the property. Philadelphia allows heirs who inherit a property intestate to qualify
for a conditional homestead exemption for three years. If the heir does not record a deed in
their name within three years, the exemption is revoked going forward, not retroactively.%

To apply for a conditional homestead exemption, an heir must submit an application, which
includes a Homestead Affidavit certifying ownership of and primary residency at the property.
The city also has a “Tangled Title Fund” through its Division of Housing and Community
Development “to help preserve affordable housing, prevent homelessness, and strengthen
communities.”®® Grants are provided to help heirs probate the estate and clear legal title to

the property.
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or entitlement to
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5. RECOMMENDATIONS

Owners of heirs property face a substantial risk of an excessive property tax burden, lack of
information about relief programs, and property tax foreclosure. Our initial recommendations
to remediate these risks are as follows:

= Recognize that heirs are the owners of an inherited property immediately upon death of
the decedent and should be eligible for the property tax homestead exemption and other
homeowner relief options. Allow heirs to apply for the homestead exemption upon the
filing of an affidavit of heirship certifying their ownership of the property.

= Make it clear that penalties for failure to report a change regarding the property cannot
be imposed on heirs who inherit a property intestate, or by will that is not yet probated,
and intend to make the property their primary residence, and otherwise are eligible for
the homestead exemption.

= Provide the homestead exemption retroactively for a certain period of time if the heir can
attest to living in the property and otherwise qualifying for the exemption during that time
period.

= Require that, upon the death of any homeowner as determined through death records,
the tax authority shall provide notification to the heirs of the necessity to notify the tax
assessor and the process by which they can and should apply for the homestead tax
exemption.

Heirs property owners face an elevated risk of losing their home to property tax foreclosure
or to investors who capitalize on property tax default situations. The problems highlighted
in this report can be remedied through intentional actions by state and local governments
to increase access to the homestead exemption and other tax relief policies. Given the
prevalence of heirs property on communities of color, taking these steps is a crucial

piece of an overall strategy to reduce the racial wealth gap by stopping the erosion of
homeownership in these communities that has been taking place for decades. The time is
now to enact meaningful changes to preserve intergenerational wealth.
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February 11, 2025

The Honorable Scott Phillips
House Judiciary Committee
Maryland House of Delegates
Room 100 House Office Building
6 Bladen Street

Annapolis, MD 21401

BY E-MAIL
RE: HB 625, Real Property — Transfer on Death Deed — Establishment
Dear Delegate Phillips:

I am Chair of the District of Columbia Uniform Law Commission and proposed the
Uniform Real Property Transfer on Death Act (URPTODA) to the Council of the District
of Columbia and testified in support of the Act both for the D.C. Commission and the
Executive Branch of the District Government. UPRTODA was passed by the Council
unanimously on two readings and signed by the Mayor of the District of Columbia and,
after laying before Congress, took effect as D.C. Law 19-230 on March 19, 2023. It is
codified at D.C. Code § 16-604.01 et seq.

I whole-heartedly support the enactment of HB 625, which would enact URPTODA in
Maryland. The Act has been in effect in the District for almost 12 years and has not
created any problems. It has been endorsed by the District’s Office of the Recorder of
Deeds and has been implemented by that Office without incident.

Although a couple of practitioners who were members of the D.C. Land Title Association
opposed URPTODA, we demonstrated that their concerns with the Act were not well
founded. They argued that recordation of a transfer on death (“TOD”) deed will cause
uncertainly where there are multiple deeds and will cause lenders not to make a loan.
However, we explained that there will be no uncertainty. D.C. Code § 19-611(a),
specifically addresses the multiple deed situation. Among several inconsistent recorded
TOD deeds, a later acknowledged deed revokes an earlier acknowledged deed. Lenders
will make loans because their interests are protected by § 19-613(b), which provides that
“la] beneficiary takes the property subject to all conveyances, encumbrances,
assignments, contracts, mortgages, liens, and other interests to which the property is



2

subject at the transferor’s death.” The American Bankers Association had an observer
present and participating throughout the drafting of URPTODA and has had no problem
with it. Lenders routinely make loans without incident in the states that have this sort of
legislation in effect.

With respect to post-reverse mortgage transfers, recording a TOD deed is not a transfer
and has no effect whatsoever during the transferor’s lifetime. It is effective at death, the
same as a will. Moreover, a suspect deed is subject to challenge by interested parties
under general principles of fraud, undue influence, or similar grounds, just as any other
deed transferring property.

In addition, the practitioners argued that the TOD deed enables fraud upon the elderly.
We explained that this is not true. As the witness for AARP’s Legal Counsel for the
Elderly testified at the hearing in the District, URPTODA would help prevent fraud on
the elderly. Experience shows that, in states that authorize TOD transfers of real
property, this device is used more heavily by professional estate planners than by
individuals. Similarly, the TOD deed has more protections built into it than other devices
to which a person intent on defrauding might resort. These include the requirements that
the property owner making a TOD deed have the same capacity as required to make a
will, § 19-604.08, that the TOD deed have all of the essential elements and formalities of
a properly recordable inter vivos deed, § 19-604.09(a), and that the TOD deed be
recorded before the owner’s death with the Recorder of Deeds, § 19-604.09(c).

In sum, as reflected in the District’s 12 years’ experience, enactment of URPTODA has
proved beneficial to the residents of the District, especially low-income residents, who
cannot afford the costs of estate planning attorneys. None of the concerns expressed by
those who opposed the Act have materialized. Therefore, we hope that Maryland will
join its neighboring jurisdictions in enacting this important legislation.

Sincerely,

s T Y
Vetnen O YN o525

\

Chair
D.C. Uniform Law Commission



