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Overview and Legal and Fiscal Impact 
 

 The proposed regulations update COMAR 10.32.10, which contains the general licensure 

regulations for physicians.  Most of the changes are made in order to comply with statutory 

changes made in 2013. 

 

 These regulations present no legal issue of concern. 

 

 There is no fiscal impact on State or local agencies beyond that already accounted for in 

the fiscal and policy notes for Chapters 307 and 308 of 2013 (SB 690/HB 900) and Chapter 583 

of 2013 (HB 1313).   

 

 

Regulations of COMAR Affected 
 

Department of Health and Mental Hygiene: 

Board of Physicians:  General Licensure Regulations:  COMAR 10.32.01.02-.16 

 

 

Legal Analysis  
 

Background 
 

 In 2013, several changes to the Maryland Medical Practice Act were made that affect the 

licensure of physicians in the State.  Chapter 307 of 2013 applied the penalty for a violation of 

the prohibition on practicing medicine without a license to a violation of the provision of law 

relating to misrepresenting one’s self as a practitioner of medicine.  The penalty includes a civil 

fine of no more than $50,000 to be levied by the State Board of Physicians.  The penalty does not 

apply to a licensee who has failed to renew a license if less than 60 days have elapsed since the 

license expired and the licensee has applied for renewal.  Chapter 401 of 2013 made multiple 

changes to the Maryland Medical Practice Act as part of the sunset evaluation process.  Most of 

the changes dealt with the board’s disciplinary procedures; however, the Act did add a provision 

that allows physicians to receive continuing medical education credit for volunteer services.  

Finally, among other things, Chapter 583 of 2013 (1) added a definition of “board-certified,”; 

(2) gave the board the authority to approve certifying boards if certain conditions were met; 

(3) made changes to the provision regarding licensure for individuals who fail an examination or 

any part of the examination three or more times; and (4) allowed the board to send renewal 

notices by electronic mail. 
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Summary of Regulations 
 

 The proposed regulations update COMAR 10.32.01, which contains the general licensure 

regulations for physicians.  A description of the substantive changes being made to the 

regulations is below.  All other changes are technical. 

 

 Regulation .02 contains definitions for the chapter.  It is amended to remove obsolete 

definitions for “certification,” “faculty,” and “Test of Spoken English.”  New definitions also are 

added.  “ABMS” is defined as the American Board of Medical Specialists.  The definition of 

“board-certified” matches the definition in § 14-101(c) of the Health Occupations Article, as 

amended by Chapter 626 of 2014.  Finally, “TOEFL” is defined as the Test of English as a 

Foreign Language. 

 

 Several changes are made to Regulation .03, which contains qualifications for initial 

licensure.  The requirement that all levels of certain examinations be passed within ten years of 

passing at least one level is being removed.  The examination of the Licentiate of the Medical 

Council of Canada is being added to the list of examinations that an individual can pass in order 

to fulfill the examination requirement for licensure.  Current provisions regarding what happens 

if an applicant fails to meet the examination requirement are repealed and replaced.  Under the 

new provisions, in order to qualify for a license, an applicant who fails any part, step, level, or 

component of the examinations or combination of examinations three or more times must 

(1) have successfully completed two or more years of a residency or fellowship accredited by the 

Accreditation Council for Graduate Medical Education or the American Osteopathic Association 

that meets certain conditions and have a minimum of five year of clinical experience or (2) be 

board-certified.  The board must require an applicant to pass the Special Purpose Examination  

prepared by the Federation of State Medical Boards (SPEX) or the Comprehensive Osteopathic 

Medical Variable-Purpose Examination-USA (COMVEX-USA) if the applicant (1) last passed a 

medical licensing examination more than 15 years before the application; (2) has never had 

specialty board certification or last passed the certification examination more than 10 years 

before the application; (3) has not had a full, unrestricted medical license in at least one state of 

the United States or Canada within the 10-year period before the application; and (4) has not 

actively practiced clinical medicine in the United States or Canada for at least 7 of the 10 years 

before the application.  Also, the board may require an applicant to pass the SPEX examination 

or the COMVEX-USA examination if the applicant does not meet all, but does meet one or 

more, of the conditions listed.  The authority of the board to require an applicant for licensure to 

submit to a physical or mental examination is repealed.  Finally, the regulation currently requires 

an applicant to submit to the board a chronological listing of certain events that may have 

occurred after the applicant’s graduation from medical school through the date of application and 

submit certain additional documentation relating to those events.  The applicant also is required 

to notify the board if any of those events occur after the application is submitted.  The regulation 

is amended to clarify that the applicant has the duty to inform the board by electronic or first 

class mail. 

 

 Regulation .04 governs documentation for initial licensure.  The current requirements 

regarding English language competency are being repealed and replaced.  The changes allow an 

applicant to demonstrate oral and written competency through documentation of a passing score 

on the United States Medical Licensing Examination step 2 Clinical Skills or documentation of 

receiving a score of at least 26 on the “Speaking Section” of the Internet-based TOEFL or a 
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score of Advanced or higher on the Oral Proficiency Interview.  The rest of the options for 

demonstrating English competency remain the same. 

 

 Regulation .05 is amended so that the provisions apply only to inactive licenses, instead 

of both inactive and expired licenses.  The regulation also is amended to clarify that a licensee 

must be in good standing to apply for inactive status.  Additionally, the regulation now specifies 

that a licensee on inactive status has the duty to inform the board if certain events occur during 

the inactive status period. Notification must be given by electronic or first class mail within 

30 days of the occurrence of or notification about the circumstance.  Finally, the regulation 

specifies that a physician whose license is on inactive status and who wishes to practices 

medicine in the State must meet the requirements for reinstatement that are specified in 

Regulation .11, including the continuing medical education requirements. 

 

 Regulation .06 governs qualifications for limited license for postgraduate teaching.  The 

regulation currently requires an applicant to submit to the board a chronological listing of certain 

events that may have occurred after the applicant’s graduation from medical school through the 

date of application and submit certain additional documentation any of those events did occur 

before the submission of the application.  The applicant also is required to notify the board if any 

of those events occur after the application is submitted.  Additionally, the regulation is amended 

to clarify that the applicant has the duty to inform the board by electronic or first class mail. 

 

 Regulation .07 specifies that all fees not set by statute will be set by the board and that a 

copy of the current fee schedule is in Regulation .12.  The regulation is amended to also specify 

that fees paid to the board are nonrefundable. 

 

 Regulation .08 governs the renewal of licenses.  The regulation is amended to clarify that 

the renewal notice can be sent to the last known address of record by electronic or first-class 

mail.  Also, if the board chooses to send the notices exclusively by electronic mail, the board 

must send a renewal notice by first-class mail to a licensee on request of the licensee.  The 

regulation currently requires an applicant to submit to the board a chronological listing of certain 

events that may have occurred after the applicant’s graduation from medical school through the 

date of application and submit certain additional documentation if any of those events did occur 

before submission of the application.  The applicant also is required to notify the board if any of 

those events occur after the application is submitted.  The regulation is amended to clarify that 

the applicant has the duty to inform the board by electronic or first class mail.  Additionally, the 

regulation now requires, during the renewal cycle, a licensee to inform the board of the 

occurrence of those same events under the same conditions.  The regulation also is amended to 

specify that a licensee who does not renew the license before the expiration date must submit an 

application for reinstatement and documentation of continuing medical education credits.  

Finally, the current provisions regarding late renewal are repealed and the regulation is amended 

to authorize the board to impose a fine of up to $50,000 for practicing without a license if a 

formerly licensed physician: (1) fails to submit an application and pay the requisite renewal fee 

within 60 days of the expiration of the license or (2) practices medicine 60 days after the 

expiration of the license or thereafter. 

 

 Regulation .09 is new and governs expired licensure.  A licensee with an expired license 

is prohibited from practicing medicine, prescribing medicine, and conducting peer review of 

physicians within the State.  A physician whose license is expired and who wishes to practice 

medicine in Maryland must apply for reinstatement on a form supplied by the board and meet the 

requirements for reinstatement, including the continuing medical education requirements.  The 



 4 DLS Control No. 14-121 

physician is not licensed to practice medicine until the license is reinstated.  The following 

regulations are renumbered in light of this addition. 

 

 Regulation .10 governs continuing medical education.  The regulation is amended to 

allow for a physician to receive credit for services that are performed voluntarily and without 

compensation.  The applicant must provide the services in the practice of medicine and must 

demonstrate, by submitting certain documentation, the total number of voluntary, 

uncompensated hours provided, and the dates, times, and locations of the medical services 

provided.  The applicant cannot receive more than five credits for voluntary services.  The 

regulation also specifies that five hours of voluntary, uncompensated services are equal to one 

hour of Category 1 credit. 

 

 Regulation .11 contains requirements that must be met for the reinstatement of an expired 

or inactive license.  The regulation provides that a physician applying for reinstatement may be 

required to pass the SPEX examination under certain conditions.  Several changes are being 

made to the requirement.  First, the COMVEX-USA examination is being added as an alternative 

examination that the physician may be required to pass.  Second, the regulation currently  

provides that a physician may be required to pass an examination if certification and 

recertification examinations were completed over 15 years before application for reinstatement.  

This is being altered so that the physician may be required to take the examination if the 

physician has never had specialty board certification or last passed a specialty board examination 

given by a member board of the American Board of Medical Specialties or the American 

Osteopathic Board Bureau of Osteopathic Specialists more than 10 years before the application.  

Third, a physician may be required to pass an examination if the physician’s active licensure has 

been interrupted in at least one state of the United States.  This is being altered to provide that the 

physician may be required to pass the examination if the physician has not had a full, 

unrestricted medical license in at least one state of the United States or Canada within the 

10-year period before the application.  Finally, a new circumstance is being added which 

provides that a physician may be required to pass the examination if the physician has not 

actively practiced clinical medicine in the United States or Canada for at least seven of the ten 

years before the application. 

 

 Regulation .13 governs advertising by physicians.  The regulation is amended to prohibit 

a physician who is not board certified from using the term “board certified” to describe the 

physician’s qualifications or make any representation that the physician has received formal 

recognition as a specialist in any aspect of the practice of medicine.  Additionally, the regulation 

also now prohibits a physician who is board certified from using the term “board certified” to 

indicate certification or expertise in a specialty or subspecialty area other than that in which the 

physician is certified by the certifying board. 

 

 Existing Regulation .16 which governs qualifications for medical licensing examinations 

is being repealed. 

 

 Legal Issue 

 
 These regulations present no legal issue of concern. 
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Statutory Authority and Legislative Intent 
 

 The Department of Health and Mental Hygiene cites §§ 14-101, 14-205 through 14-207, 

14-302, 14-304 through 14-307, 14-310, 14-311, 14-314, 14-316, 14-318, 14-320, 14-401,  

14-503, 14-505, and 14-606 of the Health Occupations Article as legal authority for the 

regulations.  More specifically, § 14-101 contains definitions that are used in the Maryland 

Medical Practice Act.  Section 14-205 requires the board to adopt regulations to carry out the 

provisions of the Maryland Medical Practice Act.  Section 14-307 governs the qualifications 

applicants must meet to qualify for a physician license.  The section includes an additional 

training requirement for applicants who failed the examination or any part of the examination 

three or more times.  It also contains requirements regarding English language competency.  

Section 14-311 provides that an applicant who otherwise qualifies for a license is entitled to sit 

for an examination as provided under the section or any adopted regulations.  Additionally, the 

section requires an applicant to meet one of the listed requirements as indications of proficiency.  

One of the items listed is holding a certificate of proficiency and professional standing of the 

Licentiate of the Medical Council of Canada.  Under § 14-314, a license authorizes the licensee 

to practice medicine while the license is effective.  Section 14-316 allows the board to send 

renewal notices by electronic mail. If the board chooses to send renewal notices exclusively by 

electronic mail, however, § 14-316 also requires that the board send renewal notices by  

first-class mail to a licensee on request of the licensee.  Additionally, the section requires the 

board to adopt regulations that allow a licensee to receive up to five continuing education credits 

per renewal period for providing uncompensated, voluntary medical services.  Section 14-318 

allows the board to waive the examination requirements for and issue a limited license to an 

individual to practice medicine for postgraduate teaching.  Under § 14-320, the board has the 

authority to place a licensee on inactive status.  Also, the board is required to issue a license to an 

individual who is on inactive status if the individual submits evidence of compliance with the 

continuing, pays the reinstatement fee, and is otherwise entitled to be licensed.  Section 13-503 

prohibits a physician from representing to the public that the physician is board certified unless 

the physician actually is board certified and the physician discloses the full name of the board 

from which the physician is certified and the name of the specialty or subspecialty in which the 

physician is certified.  The section also provides that a physician may advertise only as permitted 

by the rules and regulations of the board.  Finally, § 14-606 contains penalties for violations of 

certain provisions of law.  The section provides that a person who practicing medicine without a 

license or makes a misrepresentation that the person is licensed to practice medicine is guilty of a 

felony and is subject to a civil fine of not more than $50,000 to be levied by the board.  That 

provision does not apply to a licensee who failed to renew a license if less than 60 days have 

elapsed since the expiration of the license and the licensee has applied for license renewal. 

 

 The rest of the sections cited by the board are not needed as legal authority for the 

substantive changes made to the regulations.  Section 14-206 governs the judicial powers of the 

board.  Section 14-206.1 governs search warrants.  Section 14-207 governs the Board of 

Physicians Fund and the establishment of fees.  Section 14-302 contains general exceptions from 

the licensing requirements.  Sections 14-304, 14-305, and 14-310 were repealed in 1992, 1997, 

and 2000, respectively.  Section 14-306 governs duties delegated by a licensed physician.  

Section 14-401 governs disciplinary panels.  Finally, § 14-505 governs the notice of burn 

treatments that physicians are required to give to certain persons. 

 

 In addition to the sections cited by the board, § 14-317 of the Health Occupations Article 

needs to be cited.  Section 14-317 requires the board to reinstate the license of a physician who 
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has failed to renew the license if the physician meets the renewal requirements in § 14-316, pays 

the reinstatement fee, and submits evidence of compliance with the qualifications and 

requirements established under the Maryland Medical Practice Act for license reinstatements. 

 

 With the addition of the above-reference statutory provision, the authority is complete.  

The regulations comply with the legislative intent of the law. 

 

Technical Corrections and Special Notes 

 

 The board was contacted regarding several issues with the regulations.  First, the 

Statement of Purpose needed to be amended to include an accurate description of the changes 

made to Regulation .02 and Regulation .09.  The board will be making those changes.  Second, 

the definition of “board certified” that is being added did not match the definition contained in 

the Maryland Medical Practice Act.  The regulatory definition was narrower and resulted in the 

possibility that a physician could be prosecuted under the regulations for conduct that is 

authorized under the statute.  The board will be amending the definition so that it mirrors that of 

§ 14-101 of the Health Occupations Article, as amended by Chapter 626 of 2014.  Third, as 

discussed above, § 14-317 of the Health Occupations Article needed to be added as legal 

authority for the regulations.  The board will be adding it.  Fourth, Regulation .13(c) referred to 

“certification as defined in Regulation .02B(7).”  However, that term and definition are being 

repealed.  The board will correct it to refer to “board certified as defined in Regulation .02B(9).”  

Finally, there were several technical errors in the regulations, such as missing punctuation and 

incorrect numbering.  The board will be correcting the technical errors. 

 

 

Fiscal Analysis  
 

 There is no fiscal impact on State or local agencies beyond that already accounted for in 

the fiscal and policy notes for Chapters 307 and 308 of 2013 (SB 690/HB 900) and Chapter 583 

of 2013 (HB 1313).   

 

Agency Estimate of Projected Fiscal Impact 
 

 The regulations implement Chapters 307, 308, 401, and 583 of 2013, which alter 

licensing procedures and requirements for physicians licensed by the State Board of Physicians.  

The board advises that the regulations have no fiscal impact.  The Department of Legislative 

Services notes that the regulations have no fiscal impact beyond that already accounted for in the 

fiscal and policy notes for Chapters 307/308 and 583 of 2013.  The regulations impose a fine of 

up to $50,000 for practicing without a license under specified circumstances as authorized under 

Chapters 307 and 308.  The fiscal and policy note for Chapters 307 and 308 indicated that this 

authority may result in a potential minimal increase in special fund revenues for the board.  

Likewise, the fiscal and policy note for Chapter 583 acknowledged a minimal reduction in 

special fund expenditures for the board to the extent that licensees elect to have renewal notices 

sent by electronic mail. 

 

Impact on Budget 
 

 There is no impact on the State operating or capital budget. 
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Agency Estimate of Projected Small Business Impact 
 

 The board advises that the regulations have minimal or no economic impact on small 

businesses in the State.  The Department of Legislative Services concurs. 

 

 

Contact Information 
 

Legal Analysis:  Jodie L. Chilson – (410) 946/(301) 970-5350 

Fiscal Analysis:  Jennifer B. Chasse – (410) 946/(301) 970-5510 

 




