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_ Reproposal of Substantively Different Text: 
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 10. Children's Environmental Health and Protection 
_ Check if the system should send a copy of the proposal to the Children's Environmental 

Health and Protection Advisory Council. 
 

11. Certificate of Authorized Officer 

  I certify that the attached document is in compliance with the Administrative Procedure 
Act. I also certify that the attached text has been approved for legality by Ari 
Elbaum, Assistant Attorney General,  (telephone #410-767-1871) on May 27, 2015. A 
written copy of the approval is on file at this agency. 

  



Name of Authorized Officer 

Van T. Mitchell   

Title Telephone No. 

Secretary 410-767-6500 

Date 

June 5, 2015 
 

 
 

 

Title 10  

DEPARTMENT OF HEALTH AND MENTAL HYGIENE 

Subtitle 42 BOARD OF SOCIAL WORK EXAMINERS 

10.42.06 Continuing Education Requirements 

Authority: Health Occupations Article, §§19–205 and 19–308, Annotated Code of 

Maryland  

Notice of Proposed Action 

[] 

The Secretary of Health and Mental Hygiene proposes to amend Regulations .02—.04, 

.07, .08, .10, and .11 under COMAR 10.42.06 Continuing Education Requirements.  

This action was considered at a public meeting on May 8, 2015, notice of which was 

given on the Board’s website at http://dhmh.maryland.gov/bswe/SitePages/Home.aspx 

pursuant to State Government Article § 10-506(c)(1), Annotated Code of Maryland.  

Statement of Purpose 

The purpose of this action is to : 

1) Give licensees until October 1 (currently the deadline is August 31) to request an 

extension of time to complete continuing education requirements; 

2) Require the Board to render a decision regarding a licensee’s request for an 

extension within 21 business days instead of 45 days;  

3) Authorize the Board to reactive or reinstate a license with an extension of up to 1 

year if a request for an extension is approved;  

4) Require a licensee keep 3 years-worth of records regarding completed continuing 

education instead of 2; and 

5) Change the term Licensed Social Work Associate to Licensed Bachelor Social 

Worker to be consistent with statute. 

Comparison to Federal Standards 

There is no corresponding federal standard to this proposed action. 



Estimate of Economic Impact 

The proposed action has no economic impact. 

Economic Impact on Small Businesses 

The proposed action has minimal or no economic impact on small businesses. 

Impact on Individuals with Disabilities 

The proposed action has no impact on individuals with disabilities. 

Opportunity for Public Comment 

Comments may be sent to Michele Phinney, Director, Office of Regulation and Policy 

Coordination, Department of Health and Mental Hygiene, 201 West Preston Street, 

Room 512, Baltimore, MD 21201, or call 410-767-6499; TTY:800-735-2258, or email 

to dhmh.regs@maryland.gov, or fax to 410-767-6483. Comments will be accepted 

through August 10, 2015. A public hearing has not been scheduled. 

 

Economic Impact Statement Part C 

A. Fiscal Year in which regulations will become effective: FY 2016 

B. Does the budget for the fiscal year in which regulations become effective contain 

funds to implement the regulations? 

  

C. If 'yes', state whether general, special (exact name), or federal funds will be used: 

 

D. If 'no', identify the source(s) of funds necessary for implementation of these 

regulations: 

 

E. If these regulations have no economic impact under Part A, indicate reason briefly: 

This proposal is not increasing or decreasing a fee or the required continuing education 

units for licensure.  

F. If these regulations have minimal or no economic impact on small businesses under 

Part B, indicate the reason and attach small business worksheet. 

It is incumbent upon a licensee to complete the appropriate amount of continuing 

education to maintain licensure, not upon a small business.  

G. Small Business Worksheet: 
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Title 10 

DEPARTMENT OF HEALTH AND MENTAL 

HYGIENE 

Subtitle 42 BOARD OF SOCIAL WORK EXAMINERS 

10.42.06 Continuing Education Requirements  

Authority: Health Occupations Article, §§19–205 and 19–308, Annotated Code of Maryland 

10.42.06 (downloaded 5/20/2015) 

.02 Definitions.  

A. (text unchanged) 

B. Terms Defined. 

(1)—(8) (text unchanged) 

(9) “Exception” means that the Board may grant an exception for any of the continuing education requirements 

for circumstances set forth in Regulation .06 of this chapter. 

[(9)] (10)—[(11)] (12) (text unchanged) 

.03 Continuing Education Requirements. 

A. The Board shall renew a license for an additional 2-year period if the social worker: 

(1) Completes 40 (30 for Licensed [Social Work Associates] Bachelor Social Workers) continuing education 

units within the renewal period, of which a minimum of: 

(a) 20 (15 for Licensed [Social Work Associates] Bachelor Social Workers) continuing education units shall 

be obtained from approved programs which are Category I; and 

(b) (text unchanged) 

(2)—(3) (text unchanged) 

B. (text unchanged) 

.04 Continuing Education Activities. 

A.—C. (text unchanged) 

D. Of the 40 (30 for Licensed [Social Work Associates] Bachelor Social Workers) required continuing education 

units, 20 (15 for Licensed [Social Work Associates] Bachelor Social Workers) shall be earned and all may be earned 

from one or any combination of the following Category I activities: 

(1)—(7) (text unchanged) 

E. Of the 40 (30 for Licensed [Social Work Associates] Bachelor Social Workers) required continuing education 

units, a maximum of 20 (15 for Licensed [Social Work Associates] Bachelor Social Workers) continuing education 

units may be earned from one or any combination of the following Category II activities: 

(1)—(8) (text unchanged) 

.07 Reporting, Documenting, and Auditing Compliance with Continuing Education Requirements. 

A.—D. (text unchanged) 

E. Record Retention for Active, Expired, or Inactive License. 

(1) Active Licenses. 

(a) A social worker with an active license shall retain records documenting completion of continuing 

education requirements for [2] 3 years after the licensing renewal date for which the report of continuing education was 

submitted to the Board. 

(b) The documentation required in §E(1)(a) of this regulation may be requested by the Board at any time 

within that [2-year] 3-year period. 

(2) Expired Licenses. A social worker with an expired, non-renewed license shall: 

(a) Retain records documenting completion of continuing education requirements for each 2-year period that 

the license was expired, up to a maximum of 40 (30 for Licensed [Social Work Associates] Bachelor Social Workers) 

continuing education units; and 

(b) (text unchanged) 



(3) Inactive Licenses. A social worker with an inactive license shall: 

(a) Retain records documenting completion of continuing education requirements for the [2] 3 years 

immediately preceding reactivation; and 

(b) (text unchanged) 

F. (text unchanged) 

.08 Extension of Time. 

A. A social worker shall file a request for an extension of time, including the supporting documentation, with the 

Board. The request shall be in writing and filed before [August 31] October 1 of the renewal year. 

B. The Board shall consider and render a decision on the request within [45] 21 days of receiving the written 

request. 

C. The Board may grant an extension and conditionally renew a license for up to 6 months or reactivate or reinstate 

a license with an extension not to exceed 1 year if the Board determines that: 

(1)—(2) (text unchanged) 

D. Failure to obtain the required continuing education units on or before the 6-month extension expires shall result 

in [the]:  

(1) The social worker's inability to practice social work in Maryland[. Alternatively, the social worker may 

submit an application for]; and  

(2) The Board placing the license on inactive status. 

[E. The Board may grant an exception for all or part of the continuing education requirements for circumstances set 

forth in Regulation .06 of this chapter.] 

[F.] E.—[G.] F. (text unchanged) 

.10 Reinstatement of Licenses. 

A social worker whose license has not been renewed is entitled to reinstatement within 5 years of the date the 

license expired, by: 

A. (text unchanged) 

B. Demonstrating to the Board that the social worker has met all continuing education requirements by obtaining 40 

(30 for Licensed [Social Work Associates] Bachelor Social Workers) continuing education units in the 2 years 

preceding the social worker's application for reinstatement. 

.11 Reactivation of Licenses. 

A social worker whose license was placed on inactive status is entitled to reactivation within 5 years of the date the 

license expired, by: 

A. (text unchanged) 

B. Demonstrating to the Board that the social worker has met all continuing education requirements by obtaining 40 

(30 for Licensed [Social Work Associates] Bachelor Social Workers) continuing education units in the 2 years 

preceding the social worker's application for reactivation. 

VAN T. MITCHELL 

Secretary of Health and Mental Hygiene 

 

 
 
 
 




