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Title 10
DEPARTMENT OF HEALTH AND MENTAL HYGIENE

Subtitle 19 LABORATORIES
10.19.03 Controlled Dangerous Substances
Authority: Criminal Law Article, §5-302, Annotated Code of Maryland
Notice of Proposed Action

[1

The Secretary of Health and Mental Hygiene proposes to amend Regulation .03 under
COMAR 10.19.03 Controlled Dangerous Substances.

Statement of Purpose

The purpose of this action is to :

(1) Extend the registration certification period from 2 years to 3 years pursuant to
Chapter 489 of 2015;

(2) Modify the fee for CDS registration certificates from $60 per year for a 2 year
period ($120) to $60 per year for a 3 year period ($180); and

(3) Modify the fee for change of ownership from $72 per year for a 2 year period
($144) to $72 per year for a 3 year period ($216); to be commensurate with the
expanded 3 year renewal period.

Comparison to Federal Standards

There is no corresponding federal standard to this proposed action.
Estimate of Economic Impact
The proposed action has no economic impact.

Economic Impact on Small Businesses

The proposed action has minimal or no economic impact on small businesses.

Impact on Individuals with Disabilities

The proposed action has no impact on individuals with disabilities.

Opportunity for Public Comment

Comments may be sent to Michele Phinney, Director, Office of Regulation and Policy
Coordination, Department of Health and Mental Hygiene, 201 West Preston Street,
Room 512, Baltimore, MD 21201, or call 410-767-6499; TTY:800-735-2258, or email
to dhmh.regs@maryland.gov, or fax to 410-767-6483. Comments will be accepted
through September 21, 2015. A public hearing has not been scheduled.



Economic Impact Statement Part C
A. Fiscal Year in which regulations will become effective: FY 2016

B. Does the budget for the fiscal year in which regulations become effective contain
funds to implement the regulations?

C. If 'yes', state whether general, special (exact name), or federal funds will be used:

D. If 'no', identify the source(s) of funds necessary for implementation of these
regulations:

E. If these regulations have no economic impact under Part A, indicate reason briefly:

The proposed amendments will not have an economic impact on the Department of
Health and Mental Hygiene, other State agencies, local government, regulated
industries, trade groups or the public-at-large. Even though the proposed regulatory
provisions will extend the CDS renewal period to 3 years, the cost per year for a CDS
registration certificate and the cost per year for change of ownership will remain the
same.

Consequently, the proposed fee modification for CDS registration certificates from $60
per year for a 2 year period ($120) to $60 per year for a 3 year period ($180) and for
change of ownership from $72 per year for a 2 year period ($144) to $72 per year for a
3 year period ($216) will be commensurate with the proposed 3 year renewal period.

F. If these regulations have minimal or no economic impact on small businesses under
Part B, indicate the reason and attach small business worksheet.

See E.
G. Small Business Worksheet:

Attached Document:

Title 10

DEPARTMENT OF HEALTH AND MENTAL
HYGIENE

Subtitle 10 LABORATORIES
10.19.03 Controlled Dangerous Substances



Authority: Criminal Law Article, 85-302, Annotated Code of Maryland
10.19.03.03 (June 22, 2015)

.03 Registration; Registration Certificate.
A.—B. (text unchanged)
C. Fees.
(1) A person required to obtain and maintain a registration certificate as set forth under this chapter shall pay the
appropriate fees as set in this regulation. Fees include the following:
(a) Registration every [2 years] 3 years—[$120] $180;
(b)—(c) (text unchanged)
(2) (text unchanged)
(3) Payment of Prorated Fees.
(a) A registrant applying for a registration certificate shall pay a prorated registration fee when a registration
certificate is issued for less than [24 months] 36 months.
(b) (text unchanged)
(4)—(5) (text unchanged)
D. Issuance. The Secretary may issue a registration certificate that:
(1) Is valid for not more than [2 years] 3 years; and
(2) (text unchanged)
E. (text unchanged)
F. Assignment, Transfer, or Termination.
(1)—(3) (text unchanged)
(4) Change of Ownership.
(a) A registrant who changes ownership of the business or professional practice as stated in 8C(2)(c) of this
regulation, shall:

(i) (text unchanged)

(ii) Submit a registration application to change the current registration and a [$144 2-year] $216 3-year
registration fee at least 30 days before the change in the ownership of the registrant's business or professional practice
occurs; and

(iii) (text unchanged)

(b) (text unchanged)
(5) (text unchanged)
G. (text unchanged)

VAN T. MITCHELL
Secretary of Health and Mental Hygiene





