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 DLS Control No. 15-258 

Overview and Legal and Fiscal Impact 
 

 This regulation implements the tuition exemption for foster care recipients and 

unaccompanied homeless youth. 

 

 The regulation presents no legal issues of concern. 

 

 There is no fiscal impact on State or local agencies. 

 

 

Regulation of COMAR Affected 
 

Maryland Higher Education Commission: 

Academic Regulations:  Minimum Requirements for In-State Degree-Granting 

Institutions:  COMAR 13B.02.02.23 

 

 

Legal Analysis  
 

Summary of Regulation 
 

 The regulation implements the tuition exemption for foster care recipients and 

unaccompanied homeless youth and is almost identical to the provisions of § 15-106.1 of the 

Education Article that establish and govern the tuition exemption for these individuals.  The only 

substantive difference between the regulation and the statute is that the regulation adds a definition 

of “vocational certificate” that is not found in the statute. 

 

 Under the regulation and the statute, foster care recipients and unaccompanied homeless 

youth are eligible for a tuition and mandatory fee exemption to attend a public institution of higher 

education in Maryland if they (1) are enrolled at the institution on or before the date they reach the 

age of 25 years; (2) are enrolled as a candidate for a vocational certificate, an associate’s degree, 

or a bachelor’s degree; and (3) file for federal and State financial aid by March 1 each year. 

 

 If an exemption-eligible foster care recipient or an unaccompanied homeless youth receives 

a scholarship or grant, the scholarship or grant may not be applied to tuition or mandatory fees.  

The tuition exemption continues until 5 years after initial enrollment as a candidate for an 

associate’s degree or a bachelor’s degree, or until the individual receives a bachelor’s degree, 

whichever occurs first.  
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 A foster care recipient is defined as an individual who resided in an out-of-home placement 

when he or she graduated from high school or successfully completed a general equivalency 

development examination.  Foster care recipients placed into guardianship or adopted from an 

out-of-home placement after their thirteenth birthday are also eligible for the exemption.  Younger 

siblings are also eligible for the exemption if the sibling is also placed into guardianship or adopted 

at the same time by the same family from an out-of-home placement.   

 

 An unaccompanied homeless youth is defined as a child or youth who (1) has had a 

consistent presence in the State for at least one year before enrollment in a public institution of 

higher education that is documented by school, employment, or other records; (2) is not in the 

physical custody of a parent or guardian; and (3) is a homeless child or youth, as defined by the 

McKinney-Vento Homeless Assistance Act.  The McKinney-Vento Act generally defines a 

homeless person as an individual who lacks a fixed, regular, and adequate nighttime residence.  

 

Legal Issues 
 

 The regulation presents no legal issues of concern. 

 

Statutory Authority and Legislative Intent 
 

 The Maryland Higher Education Commission cites §§ 11-105(u) and 15-106.1 of the 

Education Article as statutory authority for the regulations.  Section 11-105(u) authorizes the 

commission to adopt any rule or regulation necessary to carry out its powers and duties.  The 

provisions of § 15-106.1 establish and govern the tuition exemption for foster care recipients and 

unaccompanied homeless youth. 

 

 This authority is correct and complete.  The regulation complies with the legislative intent 

of the law.   

 

Technical Corrections and Special Notes  
 

 In response to a suggestion from the Department of Legislative Services, the commission 

will contact the Division of State Documents to make a stylistic change to section A(1)(a) to reflect 

that an individual must meet the criteria under (i) and must meet the criteria under either (ii) or (iii).   

 

 

Fiscal Analysis  
 

 There is no fiscal impact on State or local agencies. 

 

Agency Estimate of Projected Fiscal Impact 
 

 The commission advises that the regulation implements statute regarding tuition waivers 

for specified foster care recipients and unaccompanied homeless youth.  The commission advises 

that the Department of Human Resources has 20 students currently eligible for a waiver on its 

caseloads and there will be a nominal savings on tuition expenditures and a nominal decrease in 
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tuition revenue for higher education institutions.  The Department of Legislative Services advises 

that the regulation implements current statute and there is no fiscal impact beyond the impacts 

noted in the fiscal and policy notes for the related legislation, most recently Chapter 333 of 2015.  

In general, higher education institutions granting the waivers will receive less tuition revenue while 

still incurring the same costs for enrolling eligible students.  These tuition waivers have been 

modified several times over the years; however, no regulations regarding the tuition waivers have 

been promulgated until now.   

 

Impact on Budget 
 

 There is no impact on the State operating or capital budget. 

 

Agency Estimate of Projected Small Business Impact 
 

 The commission advises that the regulation has minimal or no economic impact on small 

businesses in the State.  The Department of Legislative Services concurs. 

 

 

Contact Information 
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