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 DLS Control No. 16-179 

Overview and Legal and Fiscal Impact 
 

 The regulations implement the Hearing Aid Loan Bank Program (program), which lends 

hearing aids to eligible children who have hearing loss and no immediate access to a hearing aid. 

 

 The regulations present no legal issues of concern. 

 

 There is no fiscal impact on State or local agencies. 

 

 

Regulations of COMAR Affected 
 

State Board of Education: 

Special Instructional Programs:  Hearing Aid Loan Bank:   

COMAR 13A.05.12.01 through .03 

 

 

Legal Analysis  
 

Summary of Regulations 
 

 The regulations implement the program, which lends hearing aids to eligible children.  In 

order to be eligible, a child must be under the age of 18, reside in Maryland, be identified by an 

otolaryngologist or a licensed audiologist as having a hearing loss, and have no immediate access 

to a hearing aid.  To participate in the program, a parent or guardian must apply to the 

Maryland State Department of Education and provide the child’s address, date of birth, a copy of 

the child’s hearing evaluation from a licensed audiologist, a copy of the child’s medical clearance 

for hearing aids from an otolaryngologist, and a statement explaining the need for the hearing aid.  

Unless granted an extension, the period of the loan is for 6 months.  The regulations authorize the 

department to extend the period of the loan for additional 3 month periods after considering the 

parent or guardian’s insurance coverage or medical assistance eligibility, circumstances 

necessitating the loan of a hearing aid, the parent or guardian’s plan for obtaining access to another 

hearing aid, and the number of previous extensions granted. 

 

Legal Issues 
 

 The regulations present no legal issues of concern. 
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Statutory Authority and Legislative Intent 
 

 The department cites §§ 2-205 and 8-605 of the Education Article as statutory authority for 

the regulations.  Section 2-205 requires the State Board of Education to determine the elementary 

and secondary educational policies of the State and to implement provisions of the 

Education Article, including the program.  Title 8, Subtitle 6 of the Education Article establishes 

the program.  This subtitle sets forth the criteria for eligibility in the program, the purpose of the 

program, and the administration of the program.  Section 8-605 requires the State board to adopt 

regulations to implement the program, including regulations that identify the requisite documents 

that prove eligibility for the program and factors that the program must consider when determining 

whether to extend a 6-month loan period for an additional 3-month period. 

 

 This authority is correct and complete.  The regulations comply with the legislative intent 

of the law. 

 

 Technical Corrections and Special Notes 
 

 The Department of Legislative Services contacted the department concerning an apparent 

inconsistency between the regulations and § 8-604(a) of the Education Article.  Section 8-604(a) 

lists the documents that are required for a hearing aid loan, including a prescription from an 

otolaryngologist or a licensed audiologist.  However, regulation .03A states that a copy of a hearing 

evaluation from a licensed audiologist and a copy of a medical clearance for a hearing aid from an 

otolaryngologist are required for a hearing aid loan.  The department responded that this issue was 

taken into consideration when drafting the regulations, and while either an audiologist or an 

otolaryngologist can identify hearing loss for purposes of eligibility, documentation from both is 

required for purposes of being fitted for an appropriate hearing aid.  The Department of Legislative 

Services believes that this is a reasonable interpretation of the enacting statute. 

 

 

Fiscal Analysis  
 

 There is no fiscal impact on State or local agencies. 

 

Agency Estimate of Projected Fiscal Impact 
 

 Chapters 539 and 540 of 2011 (Senate Bill 754/House Bill 1013) established a Hearing Aid 

Loan Bank Program within the Maryland State Department of Education for children younger than 

3 years of age.  Chapter 40 of 2016 (House Bill 596) increased the age of eligibility for a hearing 

aid loan to those younger than age 18.  The Maryland State Department of Education advises that 

the regulations, which implement the Hearing Aid Loan Bank Program, will cost approximately 

$49,400 annually to employ an otolaryngologist and to provide and maintain a pool of hearing 

aids.  However, these costs were contained in the fiscal and policy notes for the legislation in 

2011 and 2016.  As there are no costs in addition to those already identified, the 

Department of Legislative Services finds that there is no fiscal impact on State or 

local governments.   
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Impact on Budget 
 

 There is no impact on the State operating or capital budget. 

 

Agency Estimate of Projected Small Business Impact 
 

 The department advises that the regulations have minimal or no economic impact on small 

businesses in the State.  The Department of Legislative Services concurs. 

 

 

Contact Information 
 

Legal Analysis:  Sara C. Fidler – (410) 946/(301) 970-5350 

Fiscal Analysis:  Scott P. Gates – (410) 946/(301) 970-5510 

 




