

Department of Legislative Services **General Assembly of Maryland Dates of Interest** 2016 Interim

	June						
			1	2	3	4	
5	6	7	8	9	10	11	
12	13	14	15	16	17	18	
19	20	21	22	23	24	25	
26	27	28	29	30			
			· ·				

			July			
					1	2
3	4 H	5	6	7	8	9
10	11	12	13	14	15	16
17	18	19	20	21	22	23
24	25	26	27	28	29	30
31						

	August						
	1	2	3	4	5	6	
7	8	9	10	11	12	13	
14	15	16	17	18	19	20	
21	22	23	24	25	26	27	
28	29	30	31				

	September						
				1	2	3	
4	5 H	6	7	8	9	10	
11	12	13	14	15	16	17	
18	19	20	21	22	23	24	
25	26	27	28	29	30		

	October						
						1	
2	3	4	5	6	7	8	
9	10 H	11	12	13	14	15	
16	17	18	19	20	21	22	
23	24	25	26	27	28	29	
30	31						

	November					
		1	2	3	4	5
6	7	8 H	9	10	11 H	12
13	14	15	16	17	18	19
20	21	22	23	24 H	25 H	26
27	28	29	30			

	December						
				1	2	3	
4	5	6	7	8	9	10	
11	12	13	14	15	16	17	
18	19	20	21	22	23	24	
25	26 H	27	28	29	30	31	

June	1	Other than emergency bills and as otherwise provided, earliest date for 2016 enacted bills to take effect Effective date for bond bills
July	1	Effective date for budgetary, tax, and revenue bills
August	7-10	Eastern Legislative Conference (Quebec City, Quebec)
	8-11	National Conference of State Legislatures (Chicago, Il)
September	1	Deadline for executive agency submission of departmental legislation to Governor
	2	Deadline for executive agency submission of FY 2018 budgets
	10	Report due from the Capital Debt Affordability Committee
October	1	Customary date for 2016 enacted bills to take effect
November	8	General Election
	15	Statutory deadline for members of the General Assembly to request drafting of prefiled bills

December	1	Report due from the Spending Affordability Committee
	2	Statutory deadline for members of the General Assembly to approve drafted bills for prefile introduction Drafted bills not prefiled are prepared for members to introduce on the first day of session Departmental and county Senate bills introduced after the prefiled bill deadline are referred to the Senate Rules Committee (Senate Rule 32)
	29	Compilation of Legislative Committee Reports on Interim

and the General Assembly

TBA Board of Revenue Estimates' forecast of budget revenues for FY 2017 and 2018 (generally mid-December) 11 First day of the 2017 session of the General Assembly

Activities to be submitted to the Legislative Policy Committee

(Monday, April 10, is the last day of the 2017 90-day legislative session)

HOLIDAYS AND OTHER OBSERVANCES

(Wednesday)

e Day*

*State Holiday

January 2017

The Department of Legislative Services does not discriminate on the basis of age, ancestry, color, creed, marital status, national origin, race, religion, gender, gender identity, sexual orientation, or disability in the admission or access to its programs, services, or activities. The Department's Information Officer has been designated to coordinate compliance with the nondiscrimination requirements contained in Section 35.107 of the Department of Justice Regulations. Requests for assistance should be directed to the Information Officer at the telephone numbers shown below.

Library and Information Services Department of Legislative Services, 90 State Circle, Annapolis, MD 21401-1991 Baltimore Area: 410-946-5400/5410 Washington Area: 301-970-5400/5410 Other Maryland Areas: 1-800-492-7122, ext. 5400/5410 TTY: 410-946/301-970-5401

TTY users may also use the Maryland Relay Service E-mail: libr@mlis.state.md.us Home Page: http://mgaleg.maryland.gov



DEPARTMENT OF LEGISLATIVE SERVICES - OFFICE OF POLICY ANALYSI

General Assembly of Maryland				
SENATE	HOUSE OF DELEGATES			
Leadership	Leadership			
President of the Senate	Speaker of the House			
Thomas V. Mike Miller, Jr.	Michael E. Busch			

President Pro Tem Nathaniel J. McFadden

Majority Leader Catherine E. Pugh

Deputy Majority Leader Katherine Klausmeier

Assistant Deputy Majority Leader Nancy J. King

> **Majority Whips** Lisa A. Gladden Jamie Raskin

Deputy Majority Whips Jim Rosapepe

> **Minority Leader** J.B. Jennings

Minority Whip Stephen S. Hershey, Jr. Speaker Pro Tem Adrienne A. Jones

Deputy Speaker Pro Tem Carolyn J. B. Howard

> **Majority Leader** Anne R. Kaiser

Majority Whip Talmadge Branch

Deputy Majority Leader Dan K. Morhaim

Assistant Majority Leader

Keith E. Haynes **Chief Deputy Majority Whip**

Ben Barnes

Deputy Majority Whips Curt Anderson Bonnie L. Cullison Jim Gilchrist Keith E. Haynes Stephen E. Lafferty Kirill Reznik

Barbara Robinson Kris Valderrama Geraldine Valentino-Smith Michael L. Vaughn Alonzo T. Washington Mary L. Washington

> **Minority Leader** Nicholaus R. Kipke

Minority Whip Kathy Szeliga

Assistant Minority Leader Susan L.M. Aumann

Assistant Minority Whip Neil Parrot

Chief Deputy Minority Whip Herb McMillan

Deputy Minority Whips Wendell R. Beitzel Rick Impallaria Susan K. McComas Charles Otto Teresa E. Reilly Sid Saab

STANDING COMMITTEES

Budget and Taxation

Chair - Edward J. Kasemeyer Vice Chair - Richard S. Madaleno

Education, Health, and Environmental Affairs

Chair - Joan Carter Conway Vice Chair -Paul G. Pinsky

Finance

Chair - Thomas M. Middleton Vice Chair - John C. Astle

Judicial Proceedings

Chair - Robert A. Zirkin Vice Chair – Vacancy

Executive Nominations

Chair – Jamie Raskin Vice Chair - Delores G. Kelly

Rules

Chair - Katherine Klausmeier Vice Chair - James E. DeGrange, Sr.

STANDING COMMITTEES

Appropriations Chair - Maggie McIntosh

Vice Chair - Tawanna P. Gaines

Economic Matters

Chair - Dereck E. Davis Vice Chair - Sally Jameson

Environment and Transportation

Chair – Kumar P. Barve Vice Chair - Dana M. Stein

Health and Government Operations

Chair - Peter A. Hammen Vice Chair - Shane E. Pendergrass

Judiciary

Chair – Joseph F. Vallario, Jr. Vice Chair - Kathleen M. Dumais

Ways and Means

Chair – Sheila E. Hixson Vice Chair – Frank S. Turner

Rules and Executive Nominations

Chair - Anne Healey Vice Chair - Jay Walker

STATUTORY COMMITTEES

Legislative Policy Committee

Senate Co-Chair – Thomas V. Mike Miller, Jr. House Co-Chair – Michael E. Busch

Administrative, Executive, and Legislative Review

Senate Chair - Roger P. Manno House Chair - Samuel I. Rosenberg

Audit

Senate Chair - Guy Guzzone House Chair - C. William Frick

Behavioral Health and Opioid Use Disorders Senate Chair – Katherine Klausmeier

House Chair - Peter A. Hammen

Chesapeake / Atlantic Coastal Bays Critical Area Senate Chair – James N. Mathias, Jr.

House Chair - Dana M. Stein

Children, Youth, and Families

Senate Chair - Nancy J. King House Chair - Geraldine Valentino-Smith

Cybersecurity, Information Technology, and Biotechnology

Senate Chair – Jim Rosapepe House Chair – C. William Frick

Ending Homelessness

Senate Chair - Richard S. Madaleno, Jr. House Chair - Mary L. Washington

Fair Practices and State Personnel Oversight

Senate Chair - Anthony C. Muse House Chair - Adrienne A. Jones

Federal Relations

Senate Chair - Brian J. Feldman House Chair - Alfred C. Carr

Gaming Oversight Senate Chair – Nancy J. King House Chair – Eric G. Luedtke

Legislative Ethics

Senate Chair - Jamie Raskin House Chair - Marvin E. Holmes, Jr.

Legislative Technology and Open Government

Senate Chair –James E. DeGrange, Jr. House Chair – Luke Clippinger

Management of Public Funds

Senate Chair - Jim Rosapepe House Chair - Ana Sol Gutiérrez

Spending Affordability Senate Chair – Roger P. Manno House Chair –Ben Barnes

Unemployment Insurance Oversight

Senate Chair – Thomas M. Middleton House Chair – Cheryl D. Glenn

Workers' Compensation Benefit and Insurance Oversight

Senate Chair – Katherine Klausmeier House Chair - Kriselda Valderrama

04/20/2016