Senator James E. DeGrange, Sr.

2019 Regular Session

District 32, Anne Arundel County

Senator James E. DeGrange, Sr.
Annapolis Address:101 James Senate Office Building
11 Bladen Street
Annapolis, MD 21401

Phone: 410-841-3593 | 301-858-3593 | Toll-free in MD: 1-800-492-7122 ext. 3593
Fax: 410-841-3589 | 301-858-3589
Interim Address:101 James Senate Office Building
11 Bladen Street
Annapolis, MD 21401

Phone: 410-841-3593 | 301-858-3593
Fax: 410-841-3589 | 301-858-3589
Contact:Contact Online or send email to:
Tenure:First elected to the Senate in 1998. Member of the Senate since 1999.
Current Assignments:2003- Budget and Taxation Committee
2003- Chair, Public Safety, Transportation, and Environment Subcommittee of the Budget and Taxation Committee
2007- Chair, Capital Budget Subcommittee of the Budget and Taxation Committee
2015- Vice-Chair, Rules Committee
2015- Executive Nominations Committee
2014- Spending Affordability Committee (Senate Chair 2011-2014)
2016- Senate Chair, Joint Committee on Legislative Ethics
1999- Joint Committee on Protocol
2013- Joint Committee on Gaming Oversight
2004- Maryland Veterans Caucus
Party Affiliation:Democrat

November 5, 2018 7:01 A.M.
Past Senate Service
2016-201721st Century School Facilities Commission
2015-2018Joint Committee on Legislative Technology and Open Government (Chair, 2015- 1018)
2011-2012Standing Committee on Reapportionment and Redistricting
2011-2012Joint Legislative and Executive Commission on Oversight of Public/Private Partnerships
2008-2011Joint Committee on Base Realignment and Closure
2008-2017Legislative Policy Committee
2009-2010Joint Legislative Work Group to Study State, County, and Municipal Fiscal Relationships
2007-2014Vice Chair, Executive Nominations Committee
2007, 2003Joint Committee on the Selection of the State Treasurer
2011-2014Senate Chair, Spending Affordability Committee
2004-2006Special Joint Committee on Pensions
2003-2006Majority Whip
2003-2006Pensions Subcommittee of the Budget and Taxation Committee
1999-2006Joint Subcommittee on Program Open Space and Agricultural Land Preservation
2002-2003Joint Committee on Administrative, Executive, and Legislative Review
2000-2003Joint Technology Oversight Committee
2001-2002Senate Committee on Redistricting
2001-2002Chair, Anne Arundel County Senate Delegation
2000-2002Finance Committee
2001Special Committee on Gaming
1999Health, Education, and Human Resources Subcommittee of the Budget and Taxation Committee
2013Senate Chair, Special Joint Commission on Public Safety & Security in State & Local correctional Facilities
Public Service
2015-Advisory Council on the Impact of Regulations on Small Businesses
2012-2013Communications Tax Reform Commission
2012-Local Development Council, Anne Arundel County
2011-2012Co-Chair, Maryland Commission on Cybersecurity Innovation and Excellence
2009-State Center Executive Committee
2008-Economic Development, Transportation, and Cultural Affairs Committee, Southern Legislative Conference
2008-Statewide Interoperability Executive Committee
2008-Fiscal Affairs and Government Operations Committee, Southern Legislative Conference
2007-Budgets and Revenue Committee, National Conference of State Legislatures
2006-2007Transit Funding Study Steering Committee
2005-2006Joint Commission on the Maryland Port Administration
2003-2006Drug Treatment Court Commission
2005Task Force on Lending Equity within Financial Institutions Providing State Depository Services
2004-2005Task Force on the Exception of Law Enforcement Officers’ Pensions from Taxation
2004-2005Task Force on Missing Vulnerable Adults
2004-Transportation Committee, National Conference of State Legislatures
2004Task Force on Parking for Individuals with Disabilities
2002-2003Task Force to Evaluate the Development and Construction of a Magnetic Levitation (MAGLEV) Transportation System in Maryland Between Baltimore and the District of Columbia
1999-2003Council on Management and Productivity
2000-2001Task Force on Gasoline Zone-Pricing in Maryland
1999-2000Task Force to Ensure Utility Services
1991-1999State Lottery Commission
1994-1998Anne Arundel County Council
2017-Maryland Military installation Caucus
2001-Maryland Legislative Sportsman’s Caucus
1996-2000Anne Arundel Community College Foundation
1995-1998Advisory Board, Salvation Army
1993-Board of Directors, Baltimore-Washington Medical Center Foundation (formerly North Arundel Hospital Foundation Board)
1992-Take Back Our Streets, Inc. (President, 1995- )
1976-1989Youth Baseball Coach, Glen Burnie Boys Baseball and Harundale Youth Sports League
1984-Board of Directors, Glen Burnie Mutual Savings Bank (Secretary-Treasurer, 1990-1995, President 1995- )
1984-Rotary Club of Glen Burnie (Board of Directors, 1987-1989, President, 1992-1993)
1970-Glen Burnie Improvement Association (Board of Directors, 1985-89)
2017Legacy Award, Community Development Network of Maryland
2016Outstanding Service Award, University of Maryland College Park Foundation
2013Maryland PTA Presidential Champion of Education Award
2013Maryland Council for American Private Education (CAPE) Champion of Education Award
2012Significant Public Service Award, Rotary Club of Glen Burnie
2011Alumni Wall of Honor, Glen Burnie High School
2011, 2010, 2008Certificate of Appreciation, Maryland Municipal League
2008-2011Outstanding Legislator of the Year, Maryland Business for Responsive Government
2009Distinguished Legislator Award, Maryland Municipal League
2007Recognition Award, Maryland Association of Counties
2005Outstanding Employer Partner, Maryland Chamber of Commerce
2000Paul Harris Fellow Award, Rotary Club of Glen Burnie
Biographical Information
Born, Baltimore, Maryland, September 24, 1949
Glen Burnie High School, 1968
Anne Arundel Community College
U.S. Army Reserve, 1968-1974
Vice President, DeGrange Lumber Co., Inc., 1968-1995
President, DeGrange Enterprises, Inc., 1996- 2000
Youth Baseball Coach, Glen Burnie Boys Baseball and Harundale Youth Sports League, 1976-1989
Member, Holy Trinity Catholic Church
Married; three children; nine grandchildren

November 5, 2018 7:01 A.M.