Senator Brian J. Feldman

2018 Regular Session

District 15, Montgomery County

Senator Brian J. Feldman
Annapolis Address:104 James Senate Office Building
11 Bladen Street
Annapolis, MD 21401

Phone: 410-841-3169 | 301-858-3169 | Toll-free in MD: 1-800-492-7122 ext. 3169
Fax: 410-841-3607 | 301-858-3607
Interim Address:104 James Senate Office Building
11 Bladen Street
Annapolis, MD 21401

Phone: 410-841-3169 | 301-858-3169
Fax: 410-841-3607 | 301-858-3607
Contact:Contact Online or send email to:
Tenure:Appointed to the Senate September 12, 2013. Sworn in September 17, 2013. First elected to the Maryland House of Delegates, 2002. Member of the House 2003-2013.
Current Assignments:2013- Finance Committee
2016- Chair, Health Subcommittee of the Finance Committee
2014- Joint Committee on Cybersecurity, Information Technology and Biotechnology
2015- Senate Chair, Joint Committee on Federal Relations (Member 2014)
2015- Worker's Compensation Benefit and Insurance Oversight Committee
2017- Senate Chair, Maryland Health Insurance Coverage Protection Commission
2018- Women Legislators of Maryland
Party Affiliation:Democrat

July 24, 2018 10:20 A.M.
Past Senate Service
2016-2018Senate Chair, Task Force on Family and Medical Leave
2015-2017Property and Casualty Subcommittee of the Finance Committee
2014Joint Information Technology and Biotechnology Committee
2014-2016Chair, Transportation Subcommittee of the Finance Committee
Past House Service
2003-2013Economic Matters Committee
2003-2013Property and Casualty Insurance Subcommittee of the Economic Matters Committee
2007-2013Chair, Banking, Economic Development, Science, and Technology Subcommittee of the Economic Matters Committee
2011-2013House Committee on Rules and Executive Nominations
2007-2013Chair, Montgomery County House Delegation
2007-2013Joint Committee on Administrative, Executive, and Legislative Review (AELR)
2009-2013House Chair, Joint Information Technology and Biotechnology Committee
2005-2011Joint Committee on Access to Mental Health Services
2007-2010Consumer Protection and Commercial Law Subcommittee of the Economic Matters Committee
2003-2010Business Regulation Subcommittee of the Economic Matters Committee
2007-2009House Chair, Joint Technology Oversight Committee
2003-2006Corporations Workgroup of the Economic Matters Committee
Public Service
2015-Task Force to Study Maternal Mental Health
2015-Maryland Economic Development Commission
2015-Transit Task Force, Montgomery County
2016-Vice-Chair, Communications, Financial Services and Interstate Commerce Committee, National Conference of State Legislatures (Member, 2007-)
2014-Board of Directors, Montgomery Hospice
2014-Board of Directors, Metropolitan Washington Council of Governments
2013-2014Maryland Offshore Wind Business Development Advisory Committee
2011-County Affairs Committee, Montgomery County Delegation
2013-2017Maryland Electric Vehicle Intfrastructure Council
2008Delegate, Democratic Party National Convention
2005-2007Financial Services Committee, National Conference of State Legislatures
2003-2007Transportation Committee, Montgomery County Delegation
2005Task Force on Assistance to Disabled Veterans Establishing Small Businesses
2004Medical Malpractice Insurance Workgroup
2005-Maryland Veterans Caucus
2004-Board of Directors, The Dwelling Place
2003-2013Board of Directors, Jewish Community Center of Greater Washington
2000-2002President, District 15 Democratic Club
American Association of Attorney-CPAs
U.S. Supreme Court Bar
Maryland State Bar
Pennsylvania Bar
District of Columbia Bar
Montgomery County Bar Association
2018Montgomery County Chamber of Commerce Legislator of the Year
2018Legislative Champion, Women Legislators of Maryland
2017Maryland Public Health Association, Michaeline R. Fedder Legislator of the Year Award
2017The Maryland State Medical Society (MedChi) Legislative Award
2016Climate Champion Award, The Chesapeake Climate Action Network
2016Leadership Award, Foundation for Advancing Alcohol Responsibility
2016Max Teichmann Award, Maryland Association of CPAs
2015-2016Outstanding Legislative Leadership Award, The Arc Maryland
2015Maryland Association of Community Services Legislative Champion Award
2014Senate Legislative Leadership Award, Maryland Clean Energy Center
2009Advocate of the Year, Technology Council of Maryland
2008Legislator of the Year, Montgomery County Chamber of Commerce
2008Champion of Small Business Award, National Coalition for Capital
2007Leadership Award, University of Maryland Biotechnology Institute
2007Alumni Service Award, The Johns Hopkins University
2007Outstanding Leadership Award, Apartment and Office Building Association of Metro Washington
2006Charles L. Binstead Industry Achievement Award, Washington, Maryland, Delaware Service Station Dealers and Automotive Repair Association
2005Legislator of the Year, Biotechnology Industry Organization
2005Public Service Award, League of Korean Americans of Maryland
2004Legislator of the Year Award, Semmes, Bowen & Semmes
2004Chair Award, Maryland Association of Certified Public Accountants
1997, 1993, 1991Outstanding Attorney Award, U.S. Department of Justice
Biographical Information
Born, Pittsburgh, Pennsylvania, February 4, 1961
Taylor Allderdice High School
Pennsylvania State University, B.S., Accounting, 1983
University of Pittsburgh School of Law, J.D., 1986
The Johns Hopkins University, M.A., Government, 2000
Attorney and Certified Public Accountant, Price Waterhouse, 1986-88
Trial Attorney, Tax Division, U.S. Department of Justice, 1988-2001
Of Counsel, Kozusko, Harris, Vetter, Wareh LLP, Washington D.C., 2001-2012
Adjunct Professor, The Johns Hopkins University, 2006-
Senior Counsel, Kundra & Associates, PC, 2012-
Married; two children

July 24, 2018 10:20 A.M.