Senator Cheryl C. Kagan

2018 Regular Session

District 17, Montgomery County

Senator Cheryl C. Kagan
Annapolis Address:203 James Senate Office Building
11 Bladen St.
Annapolis, MD 21401

Phone: 410-841-3134 | 301-858-3134 | Toll-free in MD: 1-800-492-7122 ext. 3134
Interim Address:203 James Senate Office Building
11 Bladen St.
Annapolis, MD 21401

Phone: 410-841-3134 | 301-858-3134
Contact:Contact Online or send email to:
Tenure:Member of the House of Delegates January 11, 1995 to January 8, 2003, representing District 17, Montgomery County. First elected to the Maryland Senate in 2014. Member of the Senate since 2015.
Current Assignments:2015- Education, Health and Environmental Affairs Committee
2015- Education Subcommittee of the Education, Health, and Environmental Affairs Committee
2015- Health Subcommittee of the Education, Health and Environmental Affairs Committee
2016- Senate Chair, Joint Committee on the Management of Public Funds
2016- Joint Committee on Federal Relations
2016- Joint Subcommittee on Program Open Space and Agricultural Land Preservation
2015- Women Legislators of Maryland
2015- Maryland Veterans Caucus
Party Affiliation:Democrat

June 26, 2018 10:20 A.M.
Past House Service
1999-2003Appropriations Committee
1995-1999Commerce and Government Matters Committee
2001-2003Joint Audit Committee
2001-2003Special Joint Committee on Pensions
Public Service
2018-Commission to Advance Next Generation 911 Across Maryland
2018-Governor's Workforce Development Board
2016-Commission on the Commemoration of the 100th Anniversary of the Passage of the 19th Amendment to the United States Constitution
2015-2016One Maryland Blue Ribbon Commission
1995-2003Maryland State Arts Council
1997-1998Department of Transportation, Board of Advisors
2002-2007The Universities at Shady Grove
2003-2006Charter Review Commission, Montgomery County
Alternative Community Service Commission, City of Rockville
Study Group on Organizational, Commemorative and Personalized License Plate Programs
Congregation Har Shalom, Potomac, Maryland
1981-Americans for Democratic Action, National Board
2003-Arts and Humanities Council of Montgomery County
2009-Montgomery County Democratic Trustees
2006-2008Jewish Federation of Greater Washington
1998-Leader of the Year, Greater Washington Board of Trade (2001)
1977Certificate of Appreciation, Maryland Municipal League (1998)
2003Maryland's Top 100 Women, Daily Record (2005)
2006Woman of Achievement, Montgomery County Business and Professional Women
Biographical Information
Born in Washington, D.C., July 2, 1961
Winston Churchill High School, Potomac, Maryland
Vassar College, A.B. Political Science 1983
The American University (Washington Semester Program), Fall1981
University of Maryland, College Park, graduate study, School of Public Affairs 1991-1995
Maryland House of Delegates (District 17, Montgomery County) 1995-2003
Vice President, Strategic Message Design Group, 1999-2000
Executive Director, Carl M. Freeman Foundation, 2003-2007
Professor, Montgomery College 2008 -

June 26, 2018 10:20 A.M.