Senator James N. Mathias, Jr.

2019 Regular Session

District 38, Somerset, Worcester, and Wicomico Counties

Senator James N. Mathias, Jr.
Annapolis Address:216 James Senate Office Building
11 Bladen Street
Annapolis, MD 21401

Phone: 410-841-3645 | 301-858-3645 | Toll-free in MD: 1-800-492-7122 ext. 3645
Fax: 410-841-3006
Interim Address:11941 Industrial Park Road
Unit 3
Bishopville, MD 21813

Phone: 410-352-3096
Contact:Contact Online or send email to:
Tenure:First elected to the Senate in 2010. Member of the Senate since 2011.
Current Assignments:2011- Finance Committee
2015- Executive Nominations Committee
2015- Senate Chair, Joint Committee on the Chesapeake and Atlantic Coastal Bays Critical Area
2015- Joint Committee on Ending Homelessness
2015- Joint Committee on Administrative, Executive and Legislative Review
2011- Joint Subcommittee on Program Open Space/ Agricultural Land Preservation
2015- Chair, Senate Select Committee No. 10, Eastern Shore
2015- Maryland Veterans Caucus
Party Affiliation:Democrat

November 5, 2018 7:02 A.M.
Past Senate Service
2012-2015Health Subcommittee of the Finance Committee
2013Special Joint Commission on Public Safety and Security in State and Local Correctional Facilities
2015-2017Property and Casualty Subcommittee of the Finance Committee
Past House Service 2006-2011
2007-2011Economic Matters Committee
2007-2011Alcoholic Beverages Workgroup of the Economic Matters Committee
2007-2011Banking, Economic Development, Science and Technology Subcommittee of the Economic Matters Committee
2007-2011Chair, Worcester County Delegation
2006Ways and Means Committee
Public Service
2017-Maryland Commission on Caregiving
2017-Maryland Electric Vehicle Infrastructure Council
2016-Oyster Advisory Comission
2016-2017Workgroup on Rural Health Care Delivery
2016-2017Maryland Clean Energy Center Task Force
2015-Rural Maryland Council
2015-, 2007-2011Maryland Tourism Development Board
2011-Tri-County Council for the Lower Eastern Shore of Maryland (Executive Board 2012 - )
2011-Governor's Commission on Small Business
2009-2011Statewide Interoperability Executive Committee
2008-Lower Eastern Shore Children's Center Advisory Board
2008Coastal Bays Aquaculture Development Workgroup
2007-2008Task Force on the Availability and Affordability of Property Insurance in Coastal Areas
2004-2006Task Force on Traffic Capacity Across the Chesapeake Bay
2002-2006Critical Area Commission for the Chesapeake and Atlantic Coastal Bay
1999-2001Governor's Task Force on Eastern Shore Economic Development
1997-2001Maryland Commission for Celebration
1990-1996City Council, Ocean City, Maryland
1987-1990Board of Zoning Appeals, Ocean City
Past Chair, Worcester County Ambulance Service Committee
2004President, Lower Eastern Shore Mayors Association
2004State Chair, Walk America, March of Dimes
Ocean City Volunteer Fire Company, Engine 703
Ocean City Humane Society Commission
Knights of Columbus
2013Legislative Leadership Award, Maryland Clean Energy Center
2007-2011Certificate of Appreciation, Maryland Municipal League
Biographical Information
Born, Baltimore, Maryland, September 2, 1951
Calvert Hall College High School, Towson
University of Maryland Baltimore County, B.A., Political Science, 1974
Small Business Owner, Ocean City
Mayor, Ocean City, Maryland, 1996-2006
Development Officer, Royal Plus, Inc., 2005-
Member, St. Mary’s Star of the Sea Parish
Widower, Two children

November 5, 2018 7:02 A.M.