About Statutes

This page accesses the Code of Maryland (Statutes) and the Maryland Municipal Charters and Resolutions as compiled and maintained by the Department of Legislative Services.

The Code is arranged by and organized into “Articles” (e.g. Transportation Article), which are further subdivided into “titles”, “subtitles”, “sections”, “subsections”, “paragraphs”, subparagraphs”, etc.

Note that the “official” compilation of the laws (Chapters) enacted at each session of the General Assembly is published by the State as the “Laws of Maryland”, commonly referred to as the “Session Laws”. The Session Laws for each session are compiled chronologically by chapter number and serve as the source law from which the statutes accessed here are derived.

While the “Laws of Maryland” (Session Laws) constitute the official laws of the State, this Code and the annotated versions noted below are accepted as “evidence” of the law in all State courts and by all public offices and officials (See § 10-201 of the Courts & Judicial Proceedings Article). However, in the event of a conflict between the Code and the Session Laws, the Session Laws prevail.

Note: Annotated versions of the Code, published by LexisNexis and West, are available in book and online formats. These Annotated Codes include references to case law, related citations, and explanatory notations.

The Municipal Charters are updated each year by incorporating all charter resolutions received by the Department through May 31 of that year. Individual Municipal Resolutions are published to the General Assembly website as they are received by the Department.



Statute Text

ati325266.tmp
Article - Business Regulation
§19–304.  
(a)    (1)   After the recordation, a person may not:
(i)   use a registered returnable container of another with contents of a nature different from that delivered; or
(ii)   sell, buy, rent, or otherwise traffic in a registered returnable textile of another.
(2)   A person who violates this subsection:
(i)   is guilty of a misdemeanor and on conviction is subject to:
1.   for a first violation, imprisonment not exceeding 1 year or a fine not exceeding $1,000; and
2.   for each subsequent violation, imprisonment not exceeding 3 years or a fine not exceeding $2,500 or both; and
(ii)   shall forfeit to the rightful owner possession of the property involved in the violation.
(b)    (1)   After the recordation, a person may not willfully deface, remove, conceal, or destroy an identifying name, mark, or device attached, impressed, or imprinted on a returnable container or returnable textile of another.
(2)   A person who violates this subsection:
(i)   is guilty of a misdemeanor and on conviction is subject to:
1.   for a first violation, imprisonment not exceeding 1 year or a fine not exceeding $1,000; and
2.   for each subsequent violation, imprisonment not exceeding 3 years or a fine not exceeding $2,500 or both; and
(ii)   shall forfeit to the rightful owner possession of the property involved in the violation.
(c)    (1)   After the recordation, a person may not willfully break, destroy, or otherwise injure a returnable container or returnable textile of another.
(2)   A person who violates this subsection:
(i)   is guilty of a misdemeanor and on conviction is subject to:
1.   for a first violation, imprisonment not exceeding 1 year or a fine not exceeding $1,000; and
2.   for each subsequent violation, imprisonment not exceeding 3 years or a fine not exceeding $2,500 or both; and
(ii)   shall forfeit to the rightful owner possession of the property involved in the violation.
(d)    (1)   After the recordation, a person may not buy, offer for sale, sell, use, give, receive, hire, rent, lend, transport, collect from ash or garbage receptacles, dumps, or premises, keep in stock or store, or dispose of a returnable container or returnable textile of another without an assignment from or the written consent of the registered owner.
(2)   A person who violates this subsection:
(i)   is guilty of a misdemeanor and on conviction is subject to:
1.   for each first violation, imprisonment not exceeding 1 year or a fine not exceeding $1,000; and
2.   for each subsequent violation, imprisonment not exceeding 3 years or a fine not exceeding $2,500 or both; and
(ii)   shall forfeit to the rightful owner possession of the property involved in the violation.
(e)   A person may not adopt and register under this subtitle a returnable container or returnable textiles, or a description, name, mark or device, that:
(1)   has been previously registered by another; or
(2)   is in use by another in good faith.
(f)    (1)   A person who receives a registered returnable container or registered returnable textile may not fail on demand to surrender promptly the container or textile to the person from whom the container or textile was received.
(2)   A person who violates this subsection is guilty of a misdemeanor and on conviction is subject to:
(i)   for each first violation, imprisonment not exceeding 1 year or a fine not exceeding $1,000; and
(ii)   for each subsequent violation, imprisonment not exceeding 3 years or a fine not exceeding $2,500 or both.
(g)    (1)   A person who receives a registered returnable container that has come into immediate contact with a dairy product shall thoroughly clean the inside of the container immediately after emptying the contents.
(2)   A person who violates this subsection is guilty of a misdemeanor and on conviction is subject to a fine of $500.